Haiku Friday – Home & Leaves

30 Sep

Hello! Welcome to ‘Haiku Friday’!

 

Home and Leaves are this week’s prompt words chosen by Ronovan Hester of Ronovan Writes.

Ron hosts a challenge that anyone could participate in called Ronovan Writes Weekly Haiku Poetry Prompt Challenge every Monday, and you have until Sunday to create a post featuring your haiku poem. He is an author and poet and also does author interviews and much more on his blog. Be sure to check it out. Read Ron’s Haiku Prompt Challenge Guidelines for more information.

The Writer Next Door-Haiku-Friday-Poetry-statue-cemetery

Early one morning

Red foliage knocked on my door

Welcome to autumn

haiku friday-Poetry-The Writer Next Door-Haiku

Home is in his arms

It is where I long to live

My love lives in sleep

Renounced was I for the grave

Love lives beyond the tomb

the writer next door-haiku_friday-Poetry-grave_statues

Happy Friday!

41 Responses to “Haiku Friday – Home & Leaves”

  1. olganm September 30, 2016 at 1:59 pm #

    I love the first image, and the second one tells a story of its own. Thanks, Vashti. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 1, 2016 at 12:45 pm #

      This may be weird but I have a thing for cemetery statues. Some are so beautiful and stirring. 🙂

      Like

  2. Annette Rochelle Aben September 30, 2016 at 2:05 pm #

    Wow.. taking us through many emotions here.. as varied and colorful as the season of autumn itself… brava!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 1, 2016 at 12:48 pm #

      Aw, that’s so sweet. Thank you. I was a little scatter-brained this week. Ha, ha. I’m happy you liked it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. stacilys September 30, 2016 at 2:10 pm #

    Ahhhhhh, autumn and love. As for me, I can’t wait to get to Canada in November and have myself a pumpkin spice latte. Hahaha.
    Hope you are well Vashti. Please have a lovely weekend.
    🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 1, 2016 at 12:50 pm #

      Pumpkin spice latte sounds scrumptious. 😛 All is well here, thank you. I hope it’s the same for you. You have a wonderful weekend too. ❤ xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • stacilys October 5, 2016 at 1:29 pm #

        Thanks Vashti. I hope you’re having a nice week so far.
        🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 5, 2016 at 2:21 pm #

        Well, we’re preparing for a possible hurricane impact here in south Florida. Where I live there’s a Hurricane Warning, so hustling to get things done.

        Liked by 1 person

      • stacilys October 5, 2016 at 2:23 pm #

        Ohhhhh nooooo. Is it coming up from Haiti? I know there was one that caused some serious devastation there.

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 5, 2016 at 2:54 pm #

        It’s over the bahamas now. We’re bracing for impact on Thursday. We’ll be okay. We’re preparing.

        Liked by 1 person

      • stacilys October 7, 2016 at 2:57 pm #

        Ohhhhhh my. I know it caused a lot of disaster in Haiti. I hope you are well and safe now. Please do let us all know here on the blogosphere once things have simmered down a bit.
        🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Al Lane September 30, 2016 at 3:51 pm #

    “My love lives in sleep”… ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Silver Threading September 30, 2016 at 10:31 pm #

    Beautiful! Well done, Vashti! 💖

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Marje @ Kyrosmagica October 2, 2016 at 3:37 am #

    Very striking cemetary statues seem to have inspired your haiku Vashti. 🙂

    Like

  7. KathrinS October 2, 2016 at 7:13 am #

    I liked both of them a lot, but the first was my favorite! Thanks for sharing, ‘Haiku Friday’ sounds like a very fund idea.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 2, 2016 at 9:45 pm #

      Thank you Kathrin! I’m happy you enjoyed it. You can participate if you like. Give it a try. 🙂

      Like

      • KathrinS October 8, 2016 at 5:09 am #

        I’m afraid I’m more of a storywriter than a poet! But thanks for the offer, and I might have a go at it next week.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 12, 2016 at 5:10 pm #

        I thought the same thing about myself. I still think I’m more of a storyteller/writer than I am a poet. It’s still a fun thing to do. Go for it. 😉

        Like

      • KathrinS October 14, 2016 at 2:49 am #

        Thanks! You’re right, writing poetry is entertaining – I could try it again sometime, just for fun.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. aranislandgirl October 3, 2016 at 7:07 pm #

    Your image of autumn (red foliage) knocking at the door is brilliant Vashti, and beautiful. Was it carrying a suitcase of wool sweaters, courduroy skirts, and suede boots?! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 4, 2016 at 6:06 pm #

      Ah, ha, ha! No no suitcase––unfortunately. Thank you very much, Melissa. 🙂

      Like

  9. dgkaye October 3, 2016 at 9:34 pm #

    Beautiful and seasonal Vashti. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Denis1950 October 7, 2016 at 1:47 am #

    A wonderful haiku and very interesting images to accompany the poem Vashti

    Liked by 1 person

  11. jaye22 October 8, 2016 at 2:17 pm #

    Hi Vashti, it must take you ages your photos and graphics are beautiful and each one seem to depict a story of their own, lovely Vashti x X X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 11, 2016 at 4:57 pm #

      It’s wonderful when someone appreciates the work you put into what you do. Thank you so much for saying so. You’re lovely, my friend. ❤ xx

      Liked by 1 person

  12. JESS44903 October 8, 2016 at 4:53 pm #

    So seasonal…love it! 🙂

    Thanks for joining Cooking and Crafting with J & J!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Janice October 11, 2016 at 9:32 am #

    Two distinctive poems Vashti…red leaves knocking at the door :)) The flowing stone carvings are beautiful and your poem, poignant.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 11, 2016 at 5:18 pm #

      A friend recently lost her husband (the love of her life). I was thinking of her when I wrote the second poem. I’m sure I didn’t even reach the surface of her pain and I wasn’t trying to (impossible) but those statues really touched me. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Offrs May 30, 2017 at 7:09 pm #

    Good taking us through much more emotions here.. as varied and colorful as the season of autumn itself.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q May 30, 2017 at 7:54 pm #

      Thank you. I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

      Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.