Shadow of the Drill by Rhani D’Chae

29 Jul

Hello, everyone! Welcome!

 

Today, I’m happy to feature on my blog the wonderful and extremely talented author, Rhani D’Chae. Rhani is a fellow member of Rave Reviews Book Club and I recently read her book, Shadow of the Drill: Born of Circumstance, Bred for Revenge and really enjoyed it. I’m sharing my review of it as well as a little information about Rhani D’Chae.

rave reviews book club-rrbc-rhani d'chae-author-indie author-book_blogger

A little about Rhani:

Rhani D’Chae is a visually disabled writer who was born and raised in Tacoma, WA. Because of her failing eyesight, she no longer reads as much as she used to, but she does enjoy falling into the worlds created by other Indie authors as often as her vision will allow. Shadow of the Drill is her first published novel and is the first in a series that revolves around an unrepentant enforcer and the violent life that he leads.

She enjoys chatting with readers and fellow writers via Social Media sites and loves getting comments and other input from those who have read her work. She is on Facebook and Twitter. Also, if you have the time, please stop by her blog: rhanidchae.wordpress.com.

Ms. D’Chae is currently working on Winter of the Drill and hopes to have it completed soon.

Check out Rhani’s blog to see what she’s up to. She shares a bit about her upcoming novel Winter of the Drill here.

Rhani D'Chae-thriller-author-shadow of the drill-indie

Blurb:

A Gritty and Violent Thriller.

A brutal experience transforms an unproven young tough into a ruthless killing machine.
For fifteen years he waited, building his body into an unstoppable weapon so that vengeance would be had through the strength of his will and the power of his hands.

On the bloodstained streets of a northwestern city, the enforcer known as the Drill stalks his prey. Judge, Jury, and Executioner; he seeks out those who target the weak, condemning them to the kind of justice that has made him a legend.

Here’s my review (Goodreads & Amazon):

Shadow of the Drill by Rhani D’Chae is a suspense/thriller aimed at an adult audience. This kind of thriller is different from what I’m used to reading, but I found it just as enjoyable.

The characters are well developed and I enjoyed the friendship between Decker and Rudy. Although it was difficult for me to relate to their lifestyle I could relate to their love for one another and their need for revenge. A couple of scenes dragged a bit, one character’s function in the story was not clear to me, and I caught a few typos, but these issues did not interfere with my enjoyment of the story. For the most part, it is a well-written, thrilling, and entertaining book.

As a teen, Decker witnesses the brutal rape of a girl named Maria, the person he loves above all else. He tries to save her while risking his own life, but the three men assaulting her are out of his league and overpower him easily.

Although Maria survives, the violent attack leaves her in a comatose state and unable to function normally. Decker visits her regularly at the hospital, but he is guilt-ridden and seething and swears to take revenge on the men who did this to her.

This experience triggers a change in Decker. He builds his body, gains muscle mass, and learns to fight, ensuring that he will never be helpless again. He becomes the Drill, a fearsome and vicious enforcer who will stop at nothing to get vengeance on the men who ruined Maria’s life—and his. Will Decker get his revenge? Or will this maddening thirst for retaliation consume him and ruin his chances of a happy life with a good woman?

This gritty story is about love, friendship, and revenge. I recommend this book to fans of revenge thrillers, crime drama, and violent/dark fiction.

Rhani D'Chae-indie-author-thriller-Decker-shadow of the drill-book_blogger-RRBC

Visit Rhani D’Chae’s Amazon Author Page and check out all her books.

 

 

Thank you for stopping by today. Have a great week!

 

 

 

29 Responses to “Shadow of the Drill by Rhani D’Chae”

  1. Priscilla Bettis July 29, 2019 at 10:50 am #

    Both Rhani as a person and Shadow of the Drill as a thriller sound wonderful. Thanks for posting your review.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q July 29, 2019 at 1:00 pm #

      It’s my pleasure, Priscilla. I think I’ll be posting my reviews more often. It’s another way to help promote indie authors. Thank you for the visit and comment! 😀

      Like

  2. robertawrites235681907 July 29, 2019 at 10:58 am #

    This books sounds emotion and exciting, Vashti. A lovely review.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q July 29, 2019 at 1:01 pm #

      Thank you, Robbie. It’s a fascinating book by a great author. 😀

      Like

  3. D.L. Finn, Author July 29, 2019 at 11:10 am #

    Great review and post! I was drawn in by the Drill, too. I look forward to Winter of the Drill:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q July 29, 2019 at 12:58 pm #

      Me too! Thanks for stopping by, Denise! 😀

      Like

  4. Jacquie Biggar July 29, 2019 at 1:03 pm #

    This sounds awesome! Wonderful review, Vashti, congrats to the author!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q July 29, 2019 at 1:07 pm #

      Thank you, Jacquie! I’m happy you like the way the book reads. Have a great week! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. coldhandboyack July 29, 2019 at 2:26 pm #

    I read this one and enjoyed it. For what it’s worth, add my testimonial to the list.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bette A. Stevens July 29, 2019 at 3:26 pm #

    Great review and intro of Rhani, Vashti! Sharing…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jill Weatherholt July 29, 2019 at 3:54 pm #

    Great review, Vashti! Will I need to sleep with one eye 👁 open? 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q July 30, 2019 at 5:13 pm #

      Ha, ha! It’s hard for me to say because I tend to read a lot of thrillers and dark fiction, so they don’t bother me. If you’re not used to reading dark fiction you may not want to read this one right before bedtime. 😉

      Like

      • Jill Weatherholt July 30, 2019 at 5:17 pm #

        During my college years, I could handle all of it. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve turned into a big chicken! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q July 30, 2019 at 7:26 pm #

      This isn’t a horror, it’s more like a crime drama/revenge thriller. There’s a lot of violence but nothing creepy. I don’t know if that helps. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. balroop2013 July 29, 2019 at 10:39 pm #

    Wonderful review Vashti, thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. karenringalls July 30, 2019 at 5:29 am #

    An excellent review of Shadow of the Drill, which was one of my favorite books by Rhani.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q July 30, 2019 at 5:15 pm #

      Thank you, Karen! I’m sure Rhani will be happy to read that. 😀

      Like

  10. yvettemcalleiro July 30, 2019 at 8:52 am #

    I’ve read other works by Rhani and can attest to her ability to draw the reader in! She’s awesome! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q July 30, 2019 at 5:20 pm #

      She is awesome, Yvette! I was engrossed in the story. Thanks for stopping by and for your comment. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Natalie Ducey July 30, 2019 at 9:41 am #

    A fabulous post for Rhani, Vashti! Thanks for sharing the love! XO

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Jan Sikes July 30, 2019 at 12:25 pm #

    Great review! I LOVED “Shadow of the Drill!!” It’s one of my #RRBC favorites for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q July 30, 2019 at 5:22 pm #

      That’s wonderful, Jan! Rhani is going to LOVE your comment that’s for sure. Thank you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  13. dgkaye July 31, 2019 at 1:04 am #

    Thanks for the introduction to Rhani and her intriguing book. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.