Image

Wedlock

9 Apr

Wedlock

Hi everyone! My name is Vashti and I’m an author. My first novel The Basement is a suspense/thriller aimed at pre-teens and teens, although, many adults have read and enjoyed the book. I’ve provided a short excerpt from the book today for your enjoyment (at least I hope you enjoy it). Please let me know what you think in the comment area. Thank you!

 

 

(Short excerpt from my novel The Basement)

Beaming, she stood over the bed, gesturing for him to get up. Her smile competed with the sun shining through their fifth floor apartment window, bathing her curves with resplendent golden light.

She is so beautiful, he thought. He craved to pull her back down onto the bed and simply devour her. Instead, he watched as she giggled and disappeared into the bathroom to get ready for the day. He followed her lead and got out of bed. Wearing a big grin, he began to dress.

They were acting like honeymooners. All marriages had their good years and bad years, and they were in a good year.

 
~Excerpt from The Basement

Illustration – Queen’s Kiss by Lancerey (Click on image for more info..

Click to purchase The Basement at amazon paperback and eBook (Kindle)

Click to purchase
The Basement at amazon
paperback and eBook (Kindle)

24 Responses to “Wedlock”

  1. raymond alexander kukkee April 10, 2013 at 4:31 pm #

    Visiting! “:) Your blog looks great!

    Like

  2. Dysfunction Juncetio (@DysfunctionJun1) April 11, 2013 at 1:19 am #

    Hey there Vashti!
    Thanks so much for joining us at the Linkin with my ladies hop! Can wait to read more of your blog. Hope you are finding some good reads and that you can join us again next week!
    Katie~ Host of the hop
    Dysfunction Junction

    Like

  3. Ida Chiavaro Reflex Reactions April 12, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

    Funny I just read another blog about how hard it is to write about a kiss, this excerpt proves you don’t need kissing to do sexy – Thanks for your lovely comment on my knowledge post today

    Like

  4. Jessica April 13, 2013 at 2:20 am #

    Hi Vashti,

    Wow! This is an awesome blog! You definitely can monetize it (per your post). Are you on wattpad by chance to?

    Jessica
    The Wondering Brain

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-VegaV April 13, 2013 at 4:57 am #

      Hi Jessica! Thank you very much! I do have a wattpad account, but I’m not really doing anything with it right now.

      Like

  5. Judy April 13, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

    Hi Vashti,

    Love this excerpt from The Basement. Very sexy.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 13, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

      I’m so glad you enjoyed it Judy! I post about issues I touch upon in my book, The Basement, and excerpts from the book as well. Thank you for stopping by and for the comment. 😀

      Like

  6. Sharon April 15, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

    Great excerpt, Vashti…really sexy to read. Thanks for sharing it. I really love the image too. 🙂

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 15, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

      I’m so glad you enjoyed it Sharon. Thank you so much for visiting my blog and commenting. I really appreciate it.

      Like

  7. Shakti Ghosal April 17, 2013 at 9:33 am #

    What could be the secret of always having good years in a marriage?

    Shakti

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 17, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

      Hello Shakti! I guess no one really knows for sure. The one thing I’ve notice that people who have been married a long time, and look happy share, is a common respect for one another. I also believe maintaining a little mystery, as hard as that may be, is important.

      Like

  8. Jasveena April 18, 2013 at 11:37 am #

    Hey, your blog seems extremely interesting!!! Thanks for the follow and your book’s cover is good!! I know it’s odd to say this or to compliment on the book itself rather than the cover. But, the cover makes one wanting to read

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 18, 2013 at 10:24 pm #

      Hi Jasveena! I’m so glad you find my blog interesting! It’s ok to be captivated by the book cover because that’s its function. So thank you for that too! 😀

      Like

  9. spookymrsgreen April 21, 2013 at 9:56 am #

    Returning the author love via WLC Blog follows! I really like this excerpt, it makes a nice change from drama and disaster, and gives me a lovely, warm feeling after reading it.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 21, 2013 at 9:26 pm #

      I’m so happy to hear (read) this! Thank you for visiting my blog and for your sweet comment. 😀

      Like

  10. Jan Moran (@janmoran) April 27, 2013 at 7:37 am #

    Great post ! I found your great blog through the WLC Blog Follows on the World Literary Cafe. Great to connect. Come say hello at www,janmoranwrites.com!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 27, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

      Hi Jan! Thank you for connecting. Of course I will pay you a visit. It will be my pleasure. 😀

      Like

  11. glitterglueandpaint November 4, 2013 at 1:27 am #

    Great excerpt, Vashti! Thanks for sharing at Throwback Thursday.

    Like

  12. quick homemade acne January 15, 2014 at 11:26 am #

    Wonderful blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely overwhelmed ..

    Any tips? Cheers!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 15, 2014 at 9:16 pm #

      Hello! My best advise to you is to read and write a lot. Start a blog. Definitely start with a free platform (like wordpress). That’s how I started. Like you, I was also lost (I still get lost sometimes) at first, but you get the hang of it after a while. I’m still learning as I go. I’m glad you enjoyed my blog. Good luck and happy writing! 😀

      Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

