Image

Man Without A Name

24 Sep

Man Without A Name

A very warm welcome to my blog. I hope everyone is having a great week so far. Today I’m featuring the interesting, talented and mysterious poet: Kay Leez. I read her poem Man Without A Name on Google+ and it touched me deeply. Her words haunted me for days. I decided I had to share it.

In her words…

I write only as a means of self-expression – my inspirations coming from both personal and empathetic sources – with the hope that my words resonate and evoke emotions, or become the voice of those who are silent.

I am a Forensic Psychiatric Nurse going for my Masters degree in Psychiatric Nursing, and I also graduated with degrees in English and Biochemistry.

Kay Leez

Man Without A Name

A busy train station, Monday morning rush
Straphangers’ party, hot sweaty crush

I note with hesitation, the lone empty car
Excitement yet dread, I push the doors apart

Glorious sweet warmth, blast at my skin
But the fetid smell envelops me, soon as I step in

Oblivious to the world, asleep on the bench
Tattered and filthy, he exudes the stench

I grimace in disgust, pinching my nose
Swears on my lips, dusting my clothes

My mood turns blue, I take the furthest seat
Impatience begins to rise; I don’t try to be discrete

He’s wakened by the conductor, told he must leave
I sigh with gratitude, exhale with relief

He looks my way, I turn from embarrassment
I try to maintain distance, my look yet arrogant

But there’s something in his face, that catches my eye
The blank stare of defeat, as one ready to die

Don’t know what possesses me, but I follow him out the door
An inexplicable feeling, I don’t care to explore

His gait is unsteady, I am afraid he may fall
Instinctively from behind, I reach out then recall

He wanders along the platform, as though in a daze
From time to time he turns back, and catches my gaze

He probably wonders like I do, why I follow him
Words cannot explain; I am propelled by a whim

Suddenly he collapses, crumples to the ground
I rush forward and grab him; he falls without sound

I cradle him in my lap; he reaches for my face
Not sure what to expect, I stay my place

A gentle soft touch, for such a worn hand
Barely grazing my cheek; a move unplanned

The look in his eyes, brings me to tears
The look of wide wonder, that someone does care

The light of life gradually, begins to fade away
Fear surges over, as I start to pray

His body grows heavy; I hold him on my lap
A blank stare takes over; I know it’s not a nap

My heart is broken, by a stranger I just met
I hold him even closer, as he takes his last breath

Deep sobs rack my body, with disgrace and shame
How could I have been so heartless, to this man without a name?

by Kay Leez
_______________________
12/2/04
Copyright © 2013 Kay Leez (Whispers). All Rights Reserved.

Read more of Kay Leez’ work here:
http://whispersofthedove.blogspot.com

Homeless man

homeless-man

Vashti Quiroz-Vega's Blog

Homeless man-Vashti Quiroz-Vega

“I think we all have empathy. We may not have enough courage to display it.”

~Maya Angelou

28 Responses to “Man Without A Name”

  1. yobial3 September 24, 2013 at 8:06 pm #

    Touching and emotive work. The tears are still falling.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 24, 2013 at 11:01 pm #

      I had the same reaction when I read this poem. I still can’t make it to the end of the poem dry-eyed.

      Like

  2. Teagan Kearney September 24, 2013 at 9:30 pm #

    A very evocative and moving poem. Thanks for sharing Kay Leez’s work, Vashti.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 24, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

      Isn’t it Teagan? It really touched me. You’re welcome it was my pleasure to share it. 🙂

      Like

  3. Kim @ 2justByou September 25, 2013 at 2:48 am #

    I really love this poem, and I’m so glad you shared it. I also like poems that rhyme. I haven’t read a rhyming poem (that’s not for kids) in a long time. It’s such a moving piece – evoke emotion, check!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 25, 2013 at 4:07 am #

      I’m so glad you enjoyed it Kim. Yes, the poem does produce strong emotions. I enjoy rhyming poems too. 🙂

      Like

  4. Alana Munro - The Author Who Supports September 26, 2013 at 2:49 am #

    Incredibly sad. So glad you shared this work Vashti. It’s important to remember that we are all people. x

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 26, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

      I think you just nailed it Alana. Many times we walk by and ignore people like this, as if they were less than human. We don’t realize this could be anyone of us. xx

      Like

      • Alana Munro - The Author Who Supports September 27, 2013 at 12:57 am #

        Absolutely. Any of us could slip through the gaps. We are all vulnerable to this shocking reality whereby we have no one to rely on anymore and no where to go. xx

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 27, 2013 at 3:17 pm #

        Sad, but true. 😦 xx

        Like

  5. AnnMarie September 26, 2013 at 12:08 pm #

    It would be so easy to look the other way, which I usually do. This shows the compassion we are all capable of and called to show. Wonderful poem!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 26, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

      I totally agree AnnMarie. When I read this poem for the first time it moved me to tears and it made me realize how desensitized we’ve become as a society. I believe we need to learn to empathize again.

      Like

  6. Katie Cross September 27, 2013 at 7:08 pm #

    Oh my goodness! I love the word usage in here, very different from normal poetry, but then that’s probably a good thing. She’s very talented. Thanks for sharing the love, Vashti!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 27, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

      Hi Katie! Yes, Kay is super talented. You’re welcome. I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

      Like

  7. rea September 28, 2013 at 3:21 am #

    how beautiful is this poem..moving…i like it…thanks for sharing…

    thanks for stopping by to join the fun friday blog hop vashti!
    have a good weekend!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 28, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

      I’m glad you enjoyed the poem Rea! 🙂 It was a pleasure joining the Friday Blog Hop. Thank you for hosting. Have a great weekend too! 😀

      Like

  8. Brenda September 30, 2013 at 4:05 am #

    The poem was deeply moving, but the pictures break my heart. You are brave to confront this head on. I once was having lunch with a friend and a homeless man sat down nearby, and my friend said hello to him and offered him the rest of her lunch — rice, beans, chicken — and he took it so gratefully and matter-of-factly. She knew what to do. We can all learn from each other.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 30, 2013 at 4:31 am #

      Hi Brenda. When I read this poem I felt I had to share it. It really touched me. Yes, I try to find images that compliment the feeling brought on by the poem or stories I feature. It creates double the impact. The image of the man holding the sign that read “I just want my childhood back” broke my heart, and I was shocked by the computer programmer offering his services for food. This is really happening in the United States! I love what your friend did. Thank you for sharing that.

      Like

      • Brenda September 30, 2013 at 10:35 am #

        The mass closing of group homes has forced many people onto the streets who might be unable to take care of themselves in our world. As a society, we have to ask ourselves if that is really okay. Is it okay to shut our doors on those who really need our help.

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 30, 2013 at 1:45 pm #

        Very eloquently put Brenda. It is definitely not okay to turn our backs on these people. We need to do something about it.

        Like

  9. Rosey September 30, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

    OH my gosh, that’s some pretty powerful writing. I’m supposing no one who read it got through it w/o tears. Thank you for sharing it.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 30, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

      I know I didn’t Rosey. By the end I was sobbing like a baby. You’re welcome.

      Like

  10. JESS44903 September 30, 2013 at 6:12 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this!

    Thanks again for joining the Link Up this week!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 30, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

      You’re welcome Plucky! Thanks for stopping by. I’ll see you next week on the Link Up! 😀

      Like

  11. Doreen Sargente October 1, 2013 at 2:39 am #

    A touching, thought-provoking poem Vashti! There but for the grace of God…

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 1, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

      Hello Doreen. Yes, it really touched me when I read it. I hope you’re having a great week. 🙂

      Like

  12. Heather May (@frugalfitfamily) October 3, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    I almost couldn’t make it through! I try to teach my children compassion and felt every ounce of your emotion. You really made it come across the computer screen and it was like i was there, Thank you so much for linking up to the Friday Follow Along and making me feel blessed and humbled.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 3, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

      Hello Heather, the poem was written by Kay Leez. I came across it on Google+, and like you I almost couldn’t get through it. I sobbed like a baby. It really touched me so I asked her if I could share it on my blog. Of course she said yes. I have the link to her blog on the post if you’d like to check out more of her work. 🙂 I commend you for teaching your kids compassion and empathy because we’re a society that is seriously lacking these traits.

      Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

