Image

Honoring Veterans’ Day

11 Nov

Honoring Veterans' Day

I would like to thank all the men and women in the armed forces past and present. I believe there’s a special place in Heaven for all those who sacrificed themselves to make better the lives of others. I would like to also give gratitude to the soldiers’ families. I have featured this poem before, but it seemed suitable for today. Enjoy.

Veterans' Day

Remember the day I borrowed your brand new car and dented it?
I thought you’d kill me, but you didn’t.

And remember the time I dragged you to the beach, and you said it would rain, and it did?
I thought you’d say, “I told you so.” But you didn’t.

Do you remember the time I flirted with all the guys to make you jealous, and you were?
I thought you’d leave, but you didn’t.

Do you recall the time I spilled strawberry pie all over your car rug?
I thought you’d hit me, but you didn’t.

And remember the time I forgot to tell you the dance was formal and you showed up in jeans?
I thought you’d drop me, but you didn’t.

Yes, there were lots of things you didn’t do.
But you put up with me, and loved me, and protected me.

There are lots of things I wanted to make up to you
when you returned from Iraq.

But you didn’t.

~Anonymous

Operation thank you

Thank you to all our veterans and their families for your service, dedication, courage and sacrifice!

Please check out this poem written by an American soldier.

14 Responses to “Honoring Veterans’ Day”

  1. Jason B. Ladd November 11, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

    You might enjoy this poem about families and absence, “While He’s Away: A Poem About Being Gone.” http://wp.me/p3BzWN-lB

    Like

  2. .MIS. Manhattan Image & Style November 11, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

    Beautiful!

    Diana
    http://www.ManhattanImageandStyle.com
    New Blog Post: 7 Ways to Spice Up Your Look

    Like

  3. Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 12, 2013 at 12:08 am #

    I’m glad you enjoyed it Diana. 🙂

    Like

  4. Ann Pike November 12, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    My Husband and I are Veterans. Thank you for your post. I’m visiting you from the Magnificent Mondays link-up. Have a great week!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 12, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

      Hello Ann,

      It was my pleasure posting this. You guys deserve all the thanks in the world. You have a great week too. 😀

      Like

  5. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin November 13, 2013 at 3:00 am #

    Great Post Vashti … in Australia we have a minute of silence on the 11the November in remembrance. Our lives would not be what it is without their sacrifice.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 13, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

      Hi Yolanda. Thank you. I didn’t know that about Australia. That’s nice to know. Thanks for the information. I love that I’m always learning something new with you. 🙂 You’re right, our lives would not be the same.

      Like

  6. Everyday Power November 13, 2013 at 5:42 am #

    Great Post!

    Like

  7. Ben Roach November 13, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    Beautifully put Vashti 🙂 That’s a lovely poem too 🙂

    Like

  8. Meg, Happy Kids, Inc (@happykidsinc) November 14, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

    Vashti,

    Just another thank you for linking up on my Bloglovin’ Blog Hop this week (and every week!). Somehow, I was not following you via Bloglovin’, but I am now.

    Take care,
    Meg
    Happy Kids, Inc

    Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

