Image

A Thankful Heart

22 Nov

A Thankful Heart

Hello and welcome! Yay! It’s Friday! Thank you for visiting my blog. Today I have compiled a mix of quotes and poems with related topics and recipes. I know, it may seem a little strange, random and mismatched, but it’s well thought out. My friends would say it’s a Vashti-ism. Maybe it is, but I hope you enjoy it. ;D

 

 

Thanksgiving comes to us out of the prehistoric dimness, universal to all ages and all faiths. At whatever straws we must grasp, there is always a time for gratitude and new beginnings.

~ J. Robert Moskin

You can get this yummy Cheese Straws recipe at smitten kitchen

Cheese Straws

 

 

Ah! On Thanksgiving day…
When the care-wearied man seeks his mother once more,
And the worn matron smiles where the girl smiled before.
What moistens the lips and what brightens the eye?
What calls back the past, like the rich pumpkin pie?

~ John Greenleaf Whittier

Old Fashioned Pumpkin Pie

Get the recipe at Simply Recipes by Elise Bauer

Pumpkin pie_Vashti Quiroz-Vega's Blog

 

 

Let us remember that, as much has been given us, much will be expected from us, and that true homage comes from the heart as well as from the lips, and shows itself in deeds.

~ Theodore Roosevelt

30 countries worldwide have taken part in Good Deeds Day. Here’s the story and mission of the global annual eventGood Deeds Day

 

 

Forever on Thanksgiving Day
The heart will find the pathway home.

~ Wilbur D. Nesbit

Feed the Homeless in Your Community During the Holidays . . . and Throughout the Year

Feed the Homeless

 

 

Grace isn’t a little prayer you chant before receiving a meal. It’s a way to live.

~ Jacqueline Winspear

If there’s someone that lives gracefully that would be Kim from The Kim Challenge

Visit her blog for a Tres Leches Cake recipe. You will thank me later.

tres-leches-cake

 

 

A thankful heart is not only the greatest virtue, but the parent of all the other virtues.

~ Cicero

Gratitude

 

 

To speak gratitude is courteous and pleasant, to enact gratitude is generous and noble, but to live gratitude is to touch Heaven.

~ Johannes A. Gaertner

Today is my little pomeranian’s birthday! He is 16 years old! I am so grateful to have had another year with my little buddy. Happy Birthday Rascal!

Rascal Quiroz-Vega

Rascal Quiroz-Vega

 

 

Thanksgiving, man. Not a good day to be my pants.

~ Kevin James

I just thought this was hilarious (and in some cases true), and I love this guy.

Kevin James

Kevin James

26 Responses to “A Thankful Heart”

  1. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin November 22, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

    Love this post .. it is a great Vashti-ism xx

    Like

  2. Doreen Sargente November 23, 2013 at 3:20 am #

    Awwwww…I didn’t know you had a pooch! So sweet :).

    Have a great weekend!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 23, 2013 at 4:17 am #

      Hi Doreen! I actually have two pooches. Ha,ha! Rascal is a pomeranian and we’re not sure what breed Cocoa is (rescue dog), but they’re both my furry babies. You have a great weekend too! 😀

      Like

  3. Sunni Morris November 23, 2013 at 4:00 am #

    Happy Birthday to Rascal and Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.

    Sunni

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 23, 2013 at 4:19 am #

      Thank you so much Sunni! I’ll let Rascal know 😉 A great Thanksgiving to you and your family too! xx

      Like

  4. Sunni Morris November 23, 2013 at 4:01 am #

    Sorry for the type-o and double posting Vashti

    Like

  5. joanneviola November 23, 2013 at 11:39 am #

    Nice post! That cream soda cake looks amazing. I am definitely going to try it! Happy Thanksgiving! I visited from Blog Lovin” this morning 🙂

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 23, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

      Hello Joanne! Thank you for visiting. The Tres Leches cake is really delicious. Yes, you should definitely try it and let me know how you like it. 😀

      Like

  6. Ben Roach November 24, 2013 at 3:21 pm #

    That looks great, even though I’ve just eaten LOL hope you have a great Thanksgiving 🙂

    Like

  7. A Long November 26, 2013 at 4:59 am #

    Thanks Vashti! Love John Greenleaf Whittier!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 28, 2013 at 4:19 am #

      Hi AJ! I love his pumpkin poem it’s so adorable. He is good! I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Thanks for stopping by and have a marvelous Thanksgiving Day! 😀

      Like

  8. Stacey Gannett (This Momma's Ramblings) November 26, 2013 at 9:19 am #

    These are amazing, and wonderful to start this holiday week! Thank you so much for your wonderful support and linking up for Meandering Mondays each week! Have a great week!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 28, 2013 at 4:15 am #

      Hi Stacey! Thank you! I’m glad you liked the post. You’re so welcome Meandering Mondays is a lot of fun. Have a great Thanksgiving!

      Like

  9. Leah November 27, 2013 at 2:11 am #

    These are great! Thanks Vashti! I wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for the Sunshine Award. Come by and check it out http://www.leahinspired.com/2013/11/sunshine-award.html

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 28, 2013 at 4:12 am #

      Hello Leah! Thank you so much! I will check out your link. Have a great Thanksgiving Day! 😀

      Like

  10. peternoahthomas November 28, 2013 at 7:02 am #

    Perfect reading for Thanksgiving, and all year long as well. Thanks!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 28, 2013 at 7:19 am #

      Hello Peter! I’m glad you think so. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving Day! 🙂

      Like

  11. sweetyshinde November 28, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

    I love the look of ur blog- very colorful and cheerful. And YES, I completely agree with the ‘better with written than spoken word’ . I am exactly the same.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 28, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

      Hello! Thank you very much. Yes, I’ve been the same since I was a kid. Have a happy Thanksgiving day! 🙂

      Like

  12. Leslie November 29, 2013 at 2:14 am #

    Yum, everything looks amazing! Happy Thanksgiving! I’m stopping by from the Bloglovin blog hop where I am now following you. I hope you & your family have had a great Thanksgiving!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 30, 2013 at 7:29 am #

      Hello Leslie! I’m so glad you enjoyed the post. Thank you very much! I hope you and your family have also had a great Thanksgiving. Thanks for the follow! Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

      Like

  13. Kenneth Goh November 30, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

    Vasthi, thanks for joining the blog hop. It is me again. Love the style you write your blog and wish you a happy thanksgiving.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 30, 2013 at 4:39 pm #

      Hello Kenneth! Thank you very much. It was my pleasure joining you guys at the Blog Hop. I had a nice Thanksgiving. I hope you did too. 😀

      Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

