Image

Happy Thanksgiving Day!

28 Nov

Happy Thanksgiving Day!

Hello! Thank you for visiting and following my blog. Thank you for the encouragement and support. I appreciate all of you very much. I enjoy reading and responding to your comments. I also want to wish all of you a happy and peaceful Thanksgiving Day! For those of you that do not celebrate Thanksgiving I want to wish you a happy, peaceful day as well.

Today I’m going to share a cute Thanksgiving poem and another tradition we have here in the USA on Thanksgiving Day: The Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade!

 

 

A Naughty Little Pumpkin’s Fate

A queer little pumpkin, a jolly fat fellow,

Stood close to his mother so rotund and yellow.

“What a stupid old place! How I long to aspire,”

Cried he, “I was destined for something much higher.”

*

“My son,” said his mother, “pray do be content,

There’s great satisfaction in life that’s well spent!”

But he shrugged up his shoulders, this pumpkin, ‘t is true,

And acted just like some bad children will do.

*

With a shout and a whoop, in the garden they ran,

Tom and Ned, for they’d thought of the loveliest plan

To astonish their friends from the city, you see,

With fine Jack-o’-lantern–“Ah, this one suits me!”

*

Ned seized the bad pumpkin, and dug out his brains,

Till he felt so light-headed and brimful of pains;

Then two eyes, a long nose, and a mouth big and wide,

They cut in a minute, and laid him aside

*

Until night, when they hung him upon a stout limb,

With a candle inside; how his poor head did swim,

As they twisted him this way, then twirled him round that,

Till at last, with a crash, he fell on the ground flat,

*

A wreck of the once jolly, fat little fellow,

Who stood by his mother so rotund and yellow.

Just then a lean cow, who was passing that way,

Ate him up to finish Her “Thanksgiving Day.”

~ Author Unknown

The Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade

macys-thanksgiving-day-parade-nyc

Thanksgiving Day

macys_thanksgiving_day_parade_float

thanksgiving-day-parade

Snoopy_and_Woodstock_Macys_Parade_balloon_model

86th+Annual+Macy+Thanksgiving+Day+Parade

The 86th annual Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade.

New York Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade

Parade Float Jett.JPEG-09065

Macy's Legendary Thanksgiving Day Parade Winds Through New York City

Characters in the Macy's parade

Macys-thanksgiving-Day-Parade-Mickey

santa-goofy

And the grand finale…Santa Claus!

santa_claus_in_macys_parade_karl_myers-macysinc

Santa Claus rides on his sleigh down Central Park West during the 86th Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade in New York

20 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving Day!”

  1. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin November 28, 2013 at 7:34 pm #

    Wow, I hope you had a good one … The parade looks like fun. We may have to start celebrating thanksgiving here lol we have taken on Halloween 🙂

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 28, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

      Hi Yolanda! I’m sure australians have plenty to be thankful for you guys can start your own thanksgiving day. Ha,ha! Yes, the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade is a lot of fun. I used to love going as a kid (I grew up in NY). Have a great weekend my friend. xx 😀

      Like

  2. Teagan Kearney November 28, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

    Thanks, Vashti, for all your good wishes. Hope you have a great day – that sure looks like one great parade!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 30, 2013 at 6:08 am #

      Hi Teagan! You’re welcome and thank you. I had a nice time. Yes, the Macy’s parade is awesome. 🙂

      Like

  3. Ben Roach November 28, 2013 at 11:57 pm #

    Happy Thanksgiving Vashti 🙂 I hope you and your family had an excellent day 🙂

    Like

  4. Suzanne Steele November 29, 2013 at 12:13 am #

    Happy Thanksgiving, my friend…

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 30, 2013 at 6:15 am #

      Thank you Suzanne! I hope you enjoyed your day too. Have a wonderful weekend. xx

      Like

  5. peternoahthomas November 29, 2013 at 3:25 am #

    Your post is better than watching a real parade! Thanks. I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 30, 2013 at 6:14 am #

      Awww! You’re so sweet Peter. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I had a good time. I hope you had a great day too. 😀

      Like

  6. Katie Cross November 29, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

    Wow, looks like an awesome parade year! I don’t have cable so I missed it, but thanks for posting the pictures. It was fun to see what floats they had out!

    Like

  7. fairytaleepidemic November 29, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

    Hope you had a gorgeous Thanksgiving Vasthi. ♥

    Like

  8. Doreen Sargente December 3, 2013 at 3:11 am #

    I didn’t realize you grew up in NY Vashti! Who knows, maybe we crossed paths at the parade one year. Six degrees of separation…

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 3, 2013 at 4:30 am #

      Ha,ha,ha! Maybe we did Doreen. You know it’s a small world. I hope you had a fantastic Thanksgiving. 😀

      Like

  9. Debbie Tom December 4, 2013 at 4:55 pm #

    Hi there Vashti,
    I loved seeing all the pics from the parade. We missed watching it this year. It’s always so exciting and each year new things are added that make me say “how did they do that”. Such great imaginations.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 4, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

      Hello Debbie! I’m so glad you enjoyed the post. The Macy’s Thanksgiving parade is always fun. I’m happy to share some of it with you. Have a great day! 😀

      Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

