Image

Involve All The Senses

5 Dec

Involve All The Senses

Hello! Welcome to my blog! I love having visitors. Those of you that visit my blog often know that I enjoy stimulating the different senses of my audience by adding art, photography, gifs and music to my various blog posts. If I could figure out a way to add smells I would (although that may not be a good idea in some cases, but for my recipe posts it would be great). Ha,ha!

I’ve been asked by several blogging friends to create an instructional post explaining how I put music on my blog. Today I’m attempting to do that. Please remember I’m no computer expert. I’m simply going to try to explain how I do it in the simplest way possible. Also keep in mind that I have a WordPress blog so it may be different if you have a dissimilar host

Sunni - FaerieMound Books

Sunni – FaerieMound Books

Lorraine Reguly - Lorraine Reguly's Life

Lorraine Reguly – Lorraine Reguly’s Life

Firstly, I found this YouTube video you should definitely check it out. Tom Leblanc gives easy to follow instructions on how to put music on your blog using codes.

I have found most of my music at the Vimeo Music Store . On this site you can find royalty free music for your blog. There is free music available on this site, but you can also buy certain soundtracks.

Okay, here we go (hold on to your butts)…

How To Embed Music Into A Post

After you’ve visited Vimeo and saved your music to your downloads folder go to your post.

Place your bar where you would like the music to be added (where the player will show up on your post). Then click on add media at the top left side of the post window.

Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 11.56.47 AM

Add Media button Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 1.56.33 PM

Clicking on Add Media will take you here. Click on upload files.

Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 11.57.04 AM

Once you click upload files this window will appear. Click on Select Files in the middle.

Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 11.57.12 AM

That will take you to your downloads folder. Choose the media (in this case music) that you would like to upload and click on it to highlight it.

Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 12.04.14 PM

Once highlighted(see the title in blue) you can click on Choose.

Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 12.04.25 PM

You will see your media uploading. How long it takes depends on the size of your file.

Uploading Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 12.51.14 PM

Once you see that your media (music file) has uploaded.

Uploaded Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 1.04.59 PM

Click Insert Into Post (blue button located at the lower right corner).

Click insert into post Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 1.04.59 PM

Once you’ve clicked to insert your music you will see a URL code on your post. You will not see the image of your player until you publish your post.

Media inserted Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 12.01.02 PM

Most likely this is what your player will look like after you’ve published your post (It may look different if your Mp3 player is not the same as mine).

Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 1.50.37 PM

Well, there you have it! I hope I was helpful. If you have any questions go ahead and leave them in the comment section.

21 Responses to “Involve All The Senses”

  1. Shawna December 6, 2013 at 1:54 pm #

    This is such great information. Thank you for sharing it on our Four Seasons Blog Hop. Pinning now

    Liked by 1 person

  2. JESS44903 December 9, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    This is a great tutorial. 🙂

    Thanks for joining the Link Up this week!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 9, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

      It was my pleasure linking up with you. Thank you for stopping by and for your comment. 😀

      Like

  3. Brittnei Washington December 10, 2013 at 11:46 pm #

    I love how you incorporated the pictures to show people what the steps looks like. That usually comes in handy when someone visual is following along. Thank you for sharing with us at Countdown in Style! Don’t forget to stop by Friday to see if you are featured! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 11, 2013 at 3:07 am #

      Hi Brittnei! I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I was trying to make the instructions as easy as possible. You’re very welcome and I will be there on Friday. 😀

      Like

  4. Lorraine Marie Reguly December 11, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

    This came just in time for Christmas! Thanks, Vashti. I’m sure I’ll have success now! 🙂

    Sending you *hugs* for this!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    You rock!

    Yes, I’m overjoyed. It doesn’t take much to make me happy. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 11, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

      Ha,ha! I’m so glad this made you happy Lorraine. I was happy to do it. I can’t wait to check out one of your musical posts. 😀 xx

      Like

      • Lorraine Marie Reguly December 11, 2013 at 11:33 pm #

        Trying to have one done for Friday, for my Christmas giveaway! 🙂

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 11, 2013 at 11:39 pm #

        Oh great! I’ll be checking it out! 😉

        Like

  5. Jenny December 11, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

    This is great info! Thank you for sharing this with us at the HomeAcre Hop. We’d love to have you back again tomorrow!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 11, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

      Hi Jenny! I hope the post was of some help. I was happy to link up with you guys! 😀

      Like

  6. Lorraine Marie Reguly December 11, 2013 at 11:45 pm #

    Did you have to buy more space? I don’t see a way to install a plugin, either. Hmm.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 12, 2013 at 12:29 am #

      You don’t need to install a plugin. When you get ready to create a new post you add the music file with the Add Media button. Follow the instructions on the post it will guide you step by step.

      Like

      • Lorraine Marie Reguly December 12, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

        WordPress must have changed the rules because now it says that I cannot upload media files unless I have purchased the space upgrade. I know they have been making changes, lately, and I think one of the changes was this one. Sigh. Oh well, I guess I’m not having music unless I embed it from YouTube. 😦 Thanks for doing this, though!

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 12, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

        Hi Lorraine, music files do occupy a great deal of memory. So unless you have enough storage space it may not allow you to upload the file. You can try uploading a smaller file and see if that would work. Otherwise you may have to purchase a space upgrade.

        Like

      • Lorraine Marie Reguly December 12, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

        Thanks, Vashti. I’ll likely have to get a space upgrade soon anyway. Do you recall how many posts you published before you had to get one? I’m curious.

        Thank you for being so helpful, btw. 🙂

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 12, 2013 at 6:19 pm #

        You’re welcome Lorraine. No problem. I don’t really remember, maybe 20-22. It depends on what each post contains also. So for some people it may be more and others less.

        Like

  7. April (@100LBC) December 31, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

    Thanks for giving us a tutorial. Thanks for sharing and linking up with Countdown in Style!

    ~~April~~
    100lbCountdown.com

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 1, 2014 at 3:11 pm #

      Hello April! I’m glad the post was useful for you. It’s my pleasure linking up with you guys. 😀

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Writing Process + Donna's New #Paranormal #books - Laying It Out There - September 9, 2014

    […] a helpful person (much like myself!), since she took the time to write a post just for me about how to insert an mp3 into a blog post. (I don’t know everything!) She’s also going to be featuring me on her blog […]

    Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

