Brave New Bullying: Goodreads Gangs, Amazon Attacks—What Are Writers to Do?

13 Jan

Is there no end to bullying? Please read the above article by Kristen Lamb and let me know what you think.

Stop cyber bullying

Kristen Lamb's Blog

Today is a tad of a touchy subject, but in this New year, I want everyone to have a the greatest gift any of us can have…peace. Bullies, in my opinion, are among the lowest known existing lifeforms. I wouldn’t want to insult cockroaches and fleas by drawing a comparison.

Kristen’s History With Bullies

I grew up most of my life being bullied. I switched schools at least once a year and there was always a new gaggle of Mean Girls to make my daily life a veritable hell. I think this is why I grew to love books. I skipped school so much (to seek sanctuary at the public library), that I’m fairly certain I’m the reason for the current Texas truancy laws.

I couldn’t get out of bed. I became ill at the thought of even walking through the front doors of my school. I was poor and…

View original post 2,086 more words

5 Responses to “Brave New Bullying: Goodreads Gangs, Amazon Attacks—What Are Writers to Do?”

  1. Stacey Gannett (This Momma's Ramblings) January 13, 2014 at 10:02 pm #

    I find bullies to be such sad creatures! My heart truly breaks for those who have or had to deal with such people. No one should ever have to! While I had to deal with them minimally as a child, my two youngest have had to suffer through them, so often. Lil man has outgrown most of it, since he is so much bigger than most of them, now. But lil miss still suffers, and it breaks my heart watching my sweet lil punkin, who has a heart of gold, cry with a broken heart. All she wants to have are friends, and she has none but her family. I will protect her with my life and slay all of her dragons. Thank you so much for sharing this story, Vashti!

    Like

  2. Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 13, 2014 at 10:21 pm #

    Hello Stacey. My heart is broken for your little girl. No child should be made to suffer like that. I’m so sorry. It makes me so sad and angry too. I believe the key is for parents to teach their kids that bullying is wrong. It starts at home.

    Like

  3. Alana Munro - The Author Who Supports January 15, 2014 at 6:45 am #

    This is such an important issue. Thanks for sharing Vashti. It is difficult to manage as these cyber bullies are cowards. I am always amazed at how rude and angry some people can be online. Just reading some of the comments at You Tube clips. Geez. What’s all the aggression and meanness about! I bet they wouldn’t behave so badly to the persons face! We need to find a way to make these people accountable for their cruel words. xx

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 15, 2014 at 9:19 pm #

      I agree Alana. I think part of the problem is that these people can hide their identities and so are not made accountable for their verbal abuse.

      Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

