Image

Writing Process Blog Hop

9 Mar

Hello everyone! I was invited to participate in a tagging Blog Hop by the lovely and engaging Amanda Stanley. Her blog, Amanda Stanley: Fulfilling The Dream Of Becoming A Writer, is a compilation of stories, interesting articles and guest posts, author spotlights and interviews. Like me, she loves photography and sometimes shares her photographs with her readers. I recommend you check out Amanda’s blog, for you will be pleasantly surprised.

 

 

There are a few simple rules:

1/ I must answer the four questions below.

2/ I must link back to the person who invited me to this Blog Hop.

3/ I must name four writers who will continue this Blog Hop and notify them.

 

 

 

Questions:

 

1) What are you working on?

I’m working on several projects at the moment. I’m editing the first installment of my Fantasy Angels Series, Lilith. I’m writing the second installment, Dracul. I’m working on sketches for a children’s picture book.

 

 

2) How does your work differ from others in the genre?

I believe writers develop their own unique style over time. I enjoy weaving in a bit of romance and/or humor to lighten my horror or dark fantasy stories. I love adding suspense and thriller elements to everything I write.

 

 

3) Why do you write what you write?

I grew up reading novels by Stephen King. I love to read horror (but not all types), suspense, thriller and fantasy. So basically, I write what I love to read.

 

 

4) How does your writing process work?

I’m a pantster when it comes to short stories. I get an idea in my head, and I run with it until it arrives at whatever end. When it comes to novels, I’m somewhere in between. I don’t believe you can write a 120,000-140,000 word novel by the seat of your pants. A well-written novel–one that’s exciting and thrilling with a great plot and well-developed characters–takes time, plotting, organization and good editing. I like to ponder my idea for a while. I always have my iPhone handy in case an idea for the story pops into my head while I’m driving, in the bathroom or at work. I’ve been known to rush off in the middle of things to record something that occurred to me, inspired by something I just saw or heard (my friends and family are used to it, and they forgive me). I do some light mapping and write a loose outline to organize my thoughts, but the process still flows organically and many times, the story goes off the map. I enjoy sketching my characters, animals and worlds I’ve created.

 

 

Look for the Blog Hop to continue next week at these sites: ( I know I was only suppose to pick four writers, but these six came to mind immediately and I couldn’t choose between them.)

 

Writing My Novel–No Working Title Yet

Teagan Kearney has a wonderful blog. She shares writing advice and also writes about her writing journey. I’ve often been inspired and enlightened by her uplifting posts. She ends each post with an update of her writing process and a haiku (I so look forward to these–they’re really good).

Teagan Kearney

Jumping From Cliffs:  One Man’s Adventures In Writerland

What can I say about Jon Simmonds, other than he’s brilliant? His blog posts are fun to read and also quite informative and helpful especially to aspiring writers.

Jon Simmonds

 

 

 

 

From A Clogged Mind

Robert Price is a talented writer and poet. He writes fascinating short stories and passionate poems.

Robert Price

 

 

 

Life, Love and Other Catastrophes

Yolanda Marin is one of the sweetest and kindest people I have had the privilege to befriend online. She is an amazing poet. The poems and articles on her blog are very beautiful and about as real as you can get.

 

 

 

KCross Writing

I love Katie Cross! She is dulcet, quirky and talented. I enjoy reading her blog posts because they’re always fun.

Katie Cross - Author Interview - Vashti Quiroz-Vega's Blog

 

 

 

Cicampbellblog

Christine Campbell is a delightful person and talented author. It is truly a joy to visit her inspiring blog.

Christine Campbell

Christine’s new release Flying Free is available in paperback and as an eBook.

24 Responses to “Writing Process Blog Hop”

  1. Katie Cross March 9, 2014 at 7:42 pm #

    I have to confess: I totally had to look up the word “dulcet” 🙂

    I didn’t know that you liked to sketch! Are you going to post some pictures for us to see? I’d love, love to take a look at them. I used to sketch all the time myself. I did a lot of oil painting as well. I’ve thought about going back and doing oil painting for fun just to see if having another creative expression helps my writing. Does that make sense? Have you seen any change, or noticed any difference in, your writing when you sketch and write? I’m really curious about this, actually.

    At any rate, love this blog hop! You have the best responses, as always.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega March 10, 2014 at 1:38 am #

      Hi Katie! Dulcet is one of my beautiful words. I love to sketch. I’ve been sketching since I was a kid. In my blog post Superhero I have an illustration of me and my family as superheroes. My drawing goes hand in hand with my writing. It certainly does help me with my writing process. 😀 Thank you very much!

      Like

  2. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin March 9, 2014 at 8:09 pm #

    Thank you for including amongst these other talented bloggers. I enjoyed reading you replies. 🙂

    Like

  3. jumpingfromcliffs March 10, 2014 at 4:56 am #

    Wow. “Brilliant”? I’m honoured 😀 Thanks for including me Vashti. I really enjoyed reading your answers and getting to know you a little better. And I’m very much looking forward to checking out the other bloggers you highlighted. Right, off to compose my answers now…

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega March 10, 2014 at 10:41 pm #

      Hi Jon! Yes, brilliant with a capital B. I love your posts. The fact that your posts always teach me something and make me laugh simultaneously impresses the heck out of me. Keep up the good work! 😉

      Like

  4. rcprice March 10, 2014 at 9:06 am #

    Thanks again Vashti for including me. I’ve got some work to do. 🙂

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega March 10, 2014 at 12:00 pm #

      Hi Robert! I enjoy your poetry and stories, and I am looking forward to reading more. So get to work. 😉 Ha,ha!

      Like

  5. Harliqueen March 10, 2014 at 9:10 am #

    Great answers 😀

    Like

  6. JESS44903 March 11, 2014 at 1:38 pm #

    What a neat post! 🙂

    Thanks for joining the Link Up this week!

    Like

  7. teagankearney March 11, 2014 at 2:05 pm #

    Hi Vashti! Thank you so much for including me in this blog hop. I love your answers – they show how committed a writer you are. Looking forward to reading about everyone’s journey.

    Like

  8. Brittnei Washington March 11, 2014 at 8:51 pm #

    Your writing process reminds me of what I do with blogging at times. This is a very different hop. It was nice to get a peak into what you are like as a writer. I’ve read your work as you know but it was nice to see you write about where your inspiration comes from and what your likes and dislikes are. Thanks for sharing this with us at Countdown in Style! Don’t forget to stop by Friday to see if you are featured! xo

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega March 11, 2014 at 9:34 pm #

      Hello Brittnei, it’s always so nice to hear from you. Thank you very much for your interest. As always, it’s a great pleasure to share with you guys. 😀

      Like

  9. Doreen Sargente March 11, 2014 at 9:09 pm #

    Such a great list Vashti, and I wanted to thank you for mentioning me in your original list. You’re so sweet!!

    It’s great to see how you get your inspiration and I have a confession to make…I didn’t know what dulcet meant either lol. Learn something new everyday 😉

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega March 11, 2014 at 9:39 pm #

      Hi Doreen! Ha,ha! Dulcet is one of my favorite words. It’s one of those words that once you learn the meaning you never forget it (at least for me). It means sweet. You know I love visiting your blog so it was only natural. 😉

      Like

  10. Angel March 12, 2014 at 11:46 am #

    This is awesome. Great list you have. You are such a talented writer. I always enjoy your stories. Thanks for sharing your beautiful imagination with us at Wake Up Wednesday Linky Party.
    Angel

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega March 12, 2014 at 1:41 pm #

      Hello Angel! Thank you very much and it’s always my pleasure to link up with you guys. Thank you for reading my stories. I’m so happy you enjoy them. 😀

      Like

  11. April (@100LBC) March 13, 2014 at 2:57 pm #

    I would love to write a novel. I’ve been working on an idea for a while. I get held up in the details though, before I get into the real of the story. I’ll get there though!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega March 13, 2014 at 11:21 pm #

      Hi April! That’s so cool! I didn’t know you had an interest in writing. Write the story as it flows in your head. Add the details later. Read a lot because it will give you the tools you need to write. Go for it! 😀

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Writing Process Blog Hop | Andrew Toynbee's very own Blog - March 21, 2014

    […] I spent a little time tracing the lineage of this particular hop back through Jon, his nominator Vashti Q Vega, her nominator Amanda Staley and so on back through Karen at mytrainofthoughtson, Jessica P West, […]

    Like

  2. The Writing Process Blog Hop - April 8, 2014

    […] Vashti Quiroz-Vega […]

    Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

