FINDING MY VOICE: Jasinda Wilder

14 Apr

Great Blog Series: ‘Finding My Voice’ featuring bestselling author Jasinda Wilder

AusRomToday

Jasinda WIlder Jasinda WIlder (pic from http://www.jasindawilder.com)

Today, I welcome New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author Jasinda Wilder to kick off the first in my new blog series, Finding My Voice.

Finding one’s voice as author depends on many things – the genre that you write, the era and location your novel is set, the expectations of your readers, and how you the writer can bring these things together to create an interesting, cohesive and compelling story. Each Friday, your favourite authors will join the Creative Conversation to discuss how they found and developed their voice, what obstacles and challenges they’ve faced along the way, and why they craft their stories the way they do.

To start us off on this exciting journey, it’s over to Jasinda Wilder:

The Heart of Writing
Jasinda Wilder

What sets apart decent writers from great storytellers? Voice. Style. This isn’t something…

View original post 524 more words

8 Responses to “FINDING MY VOICE: Jasinda Wilder”

  1. Teagan Kearney April 14, 2014 at 4:49 pm #

    Vashti, this is great practical advice from Jasinder Wilder. Love the idea behind the series – I’m a fan already.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 14, 2014 at 8:53 pm #

      Hi Teagan! Yes, it’s a great idea for a blog series. I think we can learn a lot here. I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

      Like

      • Teagan Kearney April 15, 2014 at 4:33 am #

        The great thing about writing is that that the ongoing processes of learning and improving are done by practicing the activity itself – literally hands on – and we’re lucky we get to do something we enjoy so much! 🙂

        Like

  2. Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 19, 2014 at 4:16 pm #

    I completely agree Teag. I have noticed a great improvement in my writing since I wrote my first novel. I also recommend writing short stories. Writing shorts have really helped me hone my skills for character development. 😉

    Like

  3. Teagan Kearney April 19, 2014 at 5:00 pm #

    I found writing short stories helped me focus on the details of the event – and they’re great training for novel writing ‘cos each chapter is like a mini-short story. But I’m really enjoying the longer build up and having time to explore and expand every aspect in novel writing. 🙂

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 19, 2014 at 7:45 pm #

      Absolutely! Novel writing is my #1 love! Ha,ha! Short stories are fun and I love to experiment with different genres when I write them. You’re right, it’s ideal to start and finish each chapter with a bang! I would love to throw a pajama party and invite you, Yolanda, Alana, Michelle and a bunch of other writers. We can spend the night talking about writing stories. Fun! Ha,ha! 😉

      Like

      • Teagan Kearney April 22, 2014 at 5:07 am #

        That sounds like a brilliant idea! We can munch cookies, drink whatever, share inspirations and motivations while we party the night away- writers’ style!

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 22, 2014 at 12:35 pm #

        Oh yeah! Ha,ha! If only… :/ Well, never say never. 🙂

        Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

