Image

Easter

19 Apr

Jesus Christ-devil-Vashti Quiroz-Vega-blogging

 

 

Easter

Easter, the Christian Holiday that celebrates Jesus Christ’s resurrection is held the first Sunday after the Blood Moon this year (which was actually on Palm Sunday). I find this fascinating for some reason. Easter is celebrated after a 40 day period called Lent in which observers practice fasting, repentance, moderation and spiritual discipline. During Lent Christians are supposed to emulate the actions of Jesus Christ and reflect on his life, death and resurrection.

easter-sunday-vashti q

So where do the cute little chicks and bunnies come in? Why do kids hunt for eggs? Like in almost every Christian religious holiday there’s a commercial aspect that stems from pagan religions– in this case, the celebration of Spring. You can read about this association here.

 

 

easter-Vashti Q-bunny-holiday

 

 

 

Here are some touching quotes about Easter:  (WARNING: Some of these will make you cry)

 

 

 

A man who was completely innocent, offered himself as a sacrifice for the good of others, including his enemies, and became the ransom of the world. It was a perfect act.” ~ Mahatma Gandhi

Mahatma Gandhi-Vashti Quiroz-Vega-Easter

 

 

Easter is very important to me, it’s a second chance.” ~ Reba McEntire

reba-mcentire

 

 

 

Earth’s saddest day and gladdest day were just three days apart!” ~ Susan Coolidge

Susan Coolidge-Easter-Vashti Q-Vega

If man had his way, the plan of redemption would be an endless and bloody conflict. In reality, salvation was bought not by Jesus’ fist, but by His nail-pierced hands; not by muscle but by love; not by vengeance but by forgiveness; not by force but by sacrifice. Jesus Christ our Lord surrendered in order that He might win; He destroyed His enemies by dying for them and conquered death by allowing death to conquer Him.” ~ A. W. Tozer

Easter-quotes-goodreads-Vashti Q

I wish everyone a happy, safe and fun weekend! Happy Easter!

EasterBlessinggifcropped easter-empty-tomb-jesus-resurrection-300x219

19 Responses to “Easter”

  1. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin April 19, 2014 at 4:23 pm #

    Have a peaceful and Happy Easter Vashti … May you’re heart be inspired. xx

    Like

  2. Stacey Gannett April 19, 2014 at 7:39 pm #

    Great post, Vashti! I still believe that there are Pagan undertones, as with many of the Christian holidays. LOL! But that is just me. 🙂 I love the Ghandi quote, by the way. Though my favorite of his, lately, has been “I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ”. I know some great and true ones, but I also know many not so great and true ones. And while I am no where near a perfect Christian, I still try to treat others with love and kindness. Anyway, wishing you an amazing and blessed Easter! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 19, 2014 at 9:56 pm #

      Hello Stacey! Thank you! The Gandhi’s quote is one of my favorites too. You’re so right some people who claim to be Christians have very few Christian qualities. Treat others as you would like others to treat you. The golden rule! Have a wonderful Easter Sunday my friend! 😀

      Like

  3. He is risen .Halleluiah.Jm.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Michelle Stanley April 20, 2014 at 8:30 pm #

    I enjoyed reading this wonderful post Vashti. The quotes are great and so is the cuddly bunny image. Have a blessed week.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 21, 2014 at 9:04 am #

      Hello Michelle! Thank you. I’m glad you enjoyed the cute bunny and quotes. I commend you for doing the A-Z challenge. That’s a lot of work and you did it in a very creative way. Great job! I’ve been peeking in and out since I’ve been so busy with my edits, but I’ll go back and comment on my favorites later. 😉

      Like

  5. JESS44903 April 21, 2014 at 10:16 pm #

    This is such a great post!

    Thanks for joining the Link Up this week!

    Like

  6. Manhattan Image and Style April 22, 2014 at 12:25 pm #

    I hope you had a wonderful Easter sweetie!

    Diana
    http://www.ManhattanImageandStyle.com
    New Blog Post: [Personal Growth] .How To Succeed At Work.
    Previews Blog Post: [Outfit Idea] .Rocking Neon.

    Like

  7. Alana Munro - The Author Who Supports April 23, 2014 at 10:12 am #

    Lovely, informative post as always mate. 🙂 Hope you had a lovely Easter time. x

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 25, 2014 at 8:45 pm #

      Hi Alana! Thank you. I did have a good one. I hope you and your family did too. 😀 xx

      Like

  8. DearCreatives (@DearCreatives) April 24, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

    Hope you had a happy Easter

    Like

  9. Doreen Sargente May 2, 2014 at 8:57 pm #

    Just wanted to stop by and say hello Vashti! I guess you know we are doing the hop just once a month now, so I didn’t want to let three weeks go by without a visit.

    This post was excellent, and gave us food for thought. I like the first picture. I think it’s very representative of the human race, constantly battling between good and evil.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 3, 2014 at 9:45 pm #

      Hello Doreen! Thank you for stopping by and I’m sorry for the late response. I love hearing from you and I’m planning on taking a much needed break from my edits soon to catch up on some of my favorite blogs (yours being one of them of course). I hope you’re having a great weekend! ❤

      Like

  10. philipfontana April 8, 2015 at 3:35 pm #

    Vashti!!! Thank you for the “Like” to my post on excuseusforliving.com You Easter post is fantastic! It brings to mind the sarcastic quote, “If you were accused of being a Christian, would the charges be dropped for lack of evidence?” Great website…. I’ll look around! Phil

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 8, 2015 at 4:05 pm #

      Hi Phil! I’m glad you enjoyed it. Ha, ha! Love the quote! Thank you, make yourself at home. 😉 Nice to see you.

      Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

