Image

Teacher Appreciation Week – Teachers Matter!

6 May

National Teacher Day-Vashti Quiroz-Vega

 

 

This week is Teacher’s Appreciation Week. There are several teachers in my family, so I wanted to dedicate a post to them and all the fabulous teachers out there. Unfortunately not all teachers are good, but the ones that are good—the ones that were meant to be teachers—can improve the lives of the children they instruct.

 

Growing up, I had more good teachers than bad—thank God. As a kid I was at times hyper, easily distracted and sensitive. If learning the material being taught came easily for me, I would get bored and then the talking and drawing would start. If I didn’t understand the material, I would bombard the teacher with questions. Once in a while, I had a smart mouth. I’m ashamed to say that I actually became frustrated once with a teacher and told her that I was a smart kid, so if I didn’t understand the material, it was because she wasn’t teaching it right. Yikes! Mostly I was a good student, but I definitely had my moments of being a clown and a smartass, and I know I tested the patience of many good teachers.

 

So in light of all of this, I would like to thank all the good teachers out there (you know who you are) for your dedication, your patience and tolerance, for taking the time to listen and to care. You are rock stars!

 

Personally, I want to thank Mrs. Florinda, for teaching me to love music. Mr. Jacobs, for teaching me to stand up for myself and for what I believe in. Mr. Suliveras, for putting up with my silly crush and for being so patient when I knocked on your classroom door to snap surprise pictures of you when you opened the door (paparazzi style). You turned learning into an adventure. Miss Frank, thank you for teaching me that being quirky (and sometimes a little weird) is okay, for noticing and wanting to make the most of my huge imagination, for teaching me the love of art (and nicknaming me Cookie). Mrs. Brannon, the fascinating accounts of your journeys have made me passionate for travel. So much of my Bucket List is composed of places I’d love to visit and have an adventure in someday. Mr. Ballough, thank you for making me love biology and chemistry with your cool way of teaching. You are part of the reason I went into the medical field. Thank you, Mr. Cicio, for teaching me to be a team player (and the butterfly stroke); also that competition is healthy. And last, but not least, Miss Alario, thanks to you I love to read. Thank you so much for being the first to notice my talent for storytelling and for encouraging me to write. Without the influence, patience, enthusiasm, love and instruction from these incredible human beings, I would not be the person I am today and I am extremely grateful to all of them.

 

Mrs. Notice, we didn’t always get along. Our personalities clashed, but I know you were a good person and you were trying your best. I’m sorry for giving you such a hard time.

 

I would like to mention some of the wonderful teachers in my life now:

Cleopatra Trevilcock

Mirtha Quiroz

Sadie Vega Velasquez

Melissa Perez

Bridget Lynn Betchel

 

Thank you for choosing to do one of the most difficult jobs in the world (in my opinion). You have a huge responsibility because you help mold the minds of our children, which are our future. Phew! That’s a huge job! You are great at it, going out of your way for your classes, jumping through hoops and bending over backwards to ensure your kids have fun as they learn, and even dishing out your own money to be sure your classes have all they need. Thank you for all you do.

 Teachers-Vashti Quiroz-Vega's Blog

A teacher is a compass that activates

the magnets of curiosity, knowledge,

and wisdom in the pupils.”

~Ever Garrison

 

Every child deserves a champion – an

adult who will never give up on them,

who understands the power of connection and insists

that they become the best that they can possibly be.”

~Rita Pierson

 

teachers-national teacher day-Vashti Quiroz-Vega

248470-year-6-teacher-emidio-boto

Public-School-Teachers-JM2

Was there a teacher in your life that influenced you in a powerful way? Who was your favorite teacher, and why?

 

25 Responses to “Teacher Appreciation Week – Teachers Matter!”

  1. Carrie Page May 6, 2014 at 1:04 pm #

    Teachers shape our children, feed their minds, act as role models, and often as disciplinarians too. They deserve much more appreciation and recognition than they get! My son’s school is doing a full teacher appreciation week with a circus theme. We’re writing his teachers circus themed poems to say thank you. 🙂

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 6, 2014 at 1:44 pm #

      You’re absolutely right Carrie. What a cool idea and the circus themed poem idea is adorable! 😀

      Like

  2. JESS44903 May 6, 2014 at 1:23 pm #

    What a neat post!

    Thanks for joining the Link Up this week!

    Like

  3. Kim @ 2justByou May 6, 2014 at 1:56 pm #

    I love this post, Vashti! Teachers can be so amazing. They can change the direction of their students’ lives, sometimes not even knowing it. I think it’s awesome that you shared this with us, along with some amazing quotes. =0)

    Like

    • Kim @ 2justByou May 6, 2014 at 2:01 pm #

      I forgot to answer your question too.
      One of my favorite teachers was my 8th grade homeroom teacher, because he made learning fun even when it wasn’t. He told personal stories and made them relevant, teaching us as his students that what you learn in school actually does apply in real life.

      Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 6, 2014 at 9:56 pm #

        Those are the best teachers, Kim. The ones that can mix learning with fun and can help students see the value in what they are learning.

        Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 6, 2014 at 9:54 pm #

      Hi Kim! I’m happy you enjoyed it. Having several teachers in my family I know how much time, energy and even their own money a lot of teachers invest in their students. Teachers matter. 😉

      Like

  4. Teagan Kearney May 6, 2014 at 3:33 pm #

    Yes, a wonderful post, Vashti. Our teachers need more respect and status in society, and they should be paid better for the work they do because investing in teachers is investing in the future. Teaching is a vocation, not a job. I love that you’ve remembered your teachers. I had an English teacher in my grammar school, Mrs. Walsh, and she believed in me, and in my writing. Unfortunately I know I let her down – I was a teenager focussed on teenage interests – but I always remember that feeling I had in her class of my efforts being being valued – and that memory stays with me till today. Thanks for helping me remember her.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 6, 2014 at 10:00 pm #

      Awww! Teag, you’re so sweet. I’m sure Mrs. Walsh didn’t think for a minute that you let her down. I’m glad you remembered her. Right before posting this I read it one last time and I got so emotional. I was lucky to have a lot of teachers that left imprints in my heart.

      Like

  5. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin May 6, 2014 at 9:51 pm #

    Great post Vashti. My daughter is a teacher and many people don’t appreciate what a difficult task it is to educate the future generations.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 6, 2014 at 10:04 pm #

      Oh congratulate your daughter for me! It’s sad that basketball players and football players make so much money, and then teachers who shape the minds of future generations have to take money out of their own pockets for the things they need for their class. Teachers are definitely underpaid and under-appreciated. It’s very sad. 😦

      Like

  6. Harliqueen May 7, 2014 at 6:21 am #

    I can’t even imagine being a teacher today, you hear so many awful stories. I hold complete admiration for what they do! 🙂

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 7, 2014 at 10:29 am #

      You’re right. Teaching is tougher nowadays. What with kids being so angry and carrying weapons, bullying, teachers getting beat-up and killed, and parents relying on teachers to raise their kids while they work on their careers it sucks to be teacher, but there are still those awesome people in our midst that do it anyway. :/

      Like

  7. sweetyshinde May 8, 2014 at 5:49 pm #

    so sweet ,Vashti! Your teachers would love to read the post. Did you post it on Facebook for their sake? appreciation would go a long way in brightening up their retirement days.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 9, 2014 at 11:41 am #

      Hi Sweety! Yes! When I publish a post here it automatically posts on Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Google+, Goodreads and LinkedIn! I’m hoping some of them were able to read it. I grew up in New York City and I live in Florida, but I know the internet is everywhere. Thank you for reading! ❤

      Like

  8. .MIS. Manhattan Image & Style May 9, 2014 at 3:56 pm #

    Oh, we have so much to thank our teachers! They help shape our lives! Great post sweetie!

    Diana
    http://www.ManhattanImageandStyle.com
    New Blog Post: [Beauty & Style] .5 Ways To Instantly Improve Your Look.
    Previews Blog Post: [Outfit Idea] .A Colorful Scarf.

    Like

  9. Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 9, 2014 at 6:06 pm #

    Hi Diana! Thank you. I hope you’re having a great Friday. 🙂

    Like

  10. Brittnei Washington May 12, 2014 at 10:33 pm #

    As much as I enjoyed school and many of my teachers, you would think I would have wanted to be a teacher. I am to my son, but maybe that isn’t the same or is it? LOL. I’m also teaching Spanish to a girl I know just because she really wants to learn. They can have such an impact on us. I was so in tune with that that we decided to homeschool our kids. 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing this dedication with us at Countdown in Style!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 13, 2014 at 1:00 pm #

      You are most definitely a teacher, Brittnei! I imagine homeschooling is much more difficult then teaching at a school because you alone have to keep your kids focused and paying attention to you. That can’t be easy. That’s so cool that you’re teaching Spanish to that girl. That’s very cool of you.I’m sure you’re making an impact on her. You’re awesome. It’s always my pleasure to link up at ‘Countdown in Style! 😀

      Like

  11. April (@100LBC) May 17, 2014 at 4:34 pm #

    Beautiful! I thought I had a smart mouth, but I’ve never told the teacher he wasn’t doing it right. Yikes! I’m so glad that you had some awesome teachers. I’ve had a lot of great teachers, but I’ve realized that a lot of them weren’t in school. I have emailed them this week because of TA and heard great things back. Thanks for sharing with Countdown in Style. Have you shared this post with them?

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 19, 2014 at 1:29 pm #

      Hello April! Thank you! Ha,ha! Yes, when I think of those moments I cringe. :/ Mrs. Florinda passed away a few years ago. I saw Mr. Suliveras a couple of years ago. I’ve seen Mr. Ciccio a couple times after high school. He was still strong and fit. I grew up in NYC and now I live in Florida so I’ve lost touch with most of them, unfortunately. You brought up a great point. Not all teachers are in school. You’re so right! I can think of quite a few people that have taught me great things throughout my life. It’s always a pleasure linking up with you guys. I just hope that somehow I communicated to these wonderful people how much I liked them and how influential they were in my life. 😀

      Like

  12. Suzanne Lucas May 25, 2014 at 2:11 pm #

    I come from a family of teachers – my parents, my aunts and uncles, and many of my cousins made it their life’s work to teach and educate others. After seeing what they went through, I admire their dedication and commitment to helping students succeed. I know I wouldn’t do it half as well as they do and did, and I applaud them. Thanks for the reminder of just how important teachers are in our world.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 26, 2014 at 10:59 am #

      Hello Suzanne! A family of teachers is a lovely family indeed. You’re very welcome. It was a pleasure. Thank you for stopping by. 😀

      Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

