Image

Happy Mothers’ Day!

11 May

Mother's Day

Being a mother is an attitude, not biological relation.” ~ Robert A. Heinlein

 

 

Hello and welcome! I want to wish all the wonderful moms out there a happy mothers’ day! I hope you all have a fantastic day pampered by your loved ones (you deserve it). ❤

 

 

*For a very special treat click here to visit Life, love and Other Catastrophes to read a gorgeous poem written by my friend and talented poet Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin. You are guaranteed to love it. ❤

 

 

(A short excerpt from my novel The Basement)

 

 

Robbie’s mom smiled and warmly hugged him. She was about to tell him to wash up for dinner when she realized something was wrong.
Robbie’s eyes betrayed recent tears.
“What happened Robbie?” she asked. She saw the answer to her question almost immediately.
Robbie’s knees were scraped and bloody.
Robbie’s mom quickly cleaned and patched up his wounded knees. All the while she sang to him and gazed at him with her serene blue eyes glittering with love. She reminded Robbie of a cherub.
She healed his wounded heart with her melody. Her song was comforting and her words heavenly. It did not matter to Robbie she was not a good singer.
~The Basement

 

 

 

Mom and Me

Best friends mom and me

Picking flowers and climbing trees.

A shoulder to cry on secrets to share

Warm hearts and hands that really care.

~Unknown Author

First Mothers’ Day

New mom.

New fun.

So blessed.

This one.

Long nights.

Short days.

Go back?

No way.

~Unknown Author

22 Responses to “Happy Mothers’ Day!”

  1. teagankearney May 11, 2014 at 4:25 pm #

    Lovely post, Vashti. In the Uk we celebrate Mother’s Day earlier than in the States. For us, this year it fell on March 30th. Nevertheless, celebrating mothers’ unconditional love, regardless of the date, is wonderful! And you’re right, Yolanda’s poem is a special treat.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 12, 2014 at 12:18 pm #

      Hi Teag! Thank you! I guess if you really think about it Mother’s Day should be everyday. At least my mom would say so. 😉 Ha,ha! I had a lovely weekend with my mom and other moms in the family. We got together at my brother’s house and we had a lot of fun together. 😀 Yolanda makes writing poems look so easy because she’s constantly posting one great poem after another (Like you and your Haiku). I find poetry writing so difficult. I don’t know how you guys do it. 🙂

      Like

  2. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin May 11, 2014 at 6:17 pm #

    Great post Vashti and thank you for the mention my dear friend. I hope you had a lovely Mothers Day basking your mother’s love. xx

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 12, 2014 at 12:09 pm #

      Hi Yolanda! Oh, it was my pleasure mentioning you. I loved your poem. I got together with my mom, sister Cleo and sis-in-law Celina this weekend. I read the poem to them. They loved it. I had a great weekend and I read about the vacation you took with your mom and brothers. That was lovely and it sounds like you guys had a blast together. I’m very glad. 😀 xx

      Like

      • Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin May 12, 2014 at 8:44 pm #

        Thank you for all your support Vashti. I am so glad your mother and sis in law enjoyed it. Mum loved it and got a little emotional xx

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 13, 2014 at 1:02 pm #

        You’re very welcome Yolanda. It’s very easy to do because you’re truly talented. Awww! Of course your mom got emotional. It must have been amazing to be with all of her kids at once. 🙂

        Like

  3. Ashwin May 12, 2014 at 12:09 am #

    Lovely post, Vashti.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 12, 2014 at 12:06 pm #

      Hi Ashwin! Thank you! I’m almost done with my editing, and then I can go back to enjoying the blogs I love. I miss it. 🙂

      Like

  4. Ajaytao2010 May 12, 2014 at 11:47 am #

    Please visit my new blog, hope you like it 🙂

    http://ajaytaobotanicalblog.wordpress.com/

    thank you so much dear 🙂

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 12, 2014 at 12:03 pm #

      Hello! I have visited your blog and it’s lovely! I love the photography of the flowers, stunning. I enjoyed it. 🙂

      Like

      • Ajaytao2010 May 12, 2014 at 12:06 pm #

        Oh dear thank you so much dear 🙂

        you love support and encouragement helps me 🙂

        Like

  5. Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 12, 2014 at 12:45 pm #

    I’m glad. 😉 I appreciate your support too. 😀

    Like

  6. JESS44903 May 12, 2014 at 1:29 pm #

    This is such a great post! 🙂

    Thanks for joining the Link Up this week!

    Like

  7. Brittnei Washington May 12, 2014 at 10:35 pm #

    Moms are awesome. We actually don’t celebrate Mother’s Day in my family. We just focus on honoring parents everyday 🙂 This was a nice tribute to mothers, Vashti! Thanks so much for sharing with us at Countdown in Style!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 13, 2014 at 12:56 pm #

      Hi Brittnei! That’s actually brilliant! Mothers should be celebrated every day of the year.

      Like

  8. Stacey Gannett May 13, 2014 at 12:17 pm #

    Such a beautiful post and a lovely poem! Mother’s day took on a whole new meaning for me, when I had kids. I was thrilled to be able to spend it will all of my kids, including the two that have just sort of become part of the family. Wishing you an amazing week, my friend!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 13, 2014 at 12:55 pm #

      Hi Stacey! Thank you! I’m so glad you enjoyed your Mother’s Day weekend. You have a great week too! 😀

      Like

  9. Rea May 13, 2014 at 6:22 pm #

    Moms and daughters can be real best friends. It’s a nice feeling. Happy mother’s day to you. Dropping by from Countdown in Style 🙂

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 14, 2014 at 6:24 pm #

      Hello Rea! You’re so right and it does feel good. Thank you for dropping by. 😀

      Like

  10. April (@100LBC) May 17, 2014 at 4:36 pm #

    I would love to have this relationship with my daughters. I have not have that relationship with my own mother. Your friend is a beautiful writer. Thanks for sharing her with us at Countdown in Style.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 19, 2014 at 1:34 pm #

      Hello April, I’m sorry to hear you didn’t have the relationship you wanted with your mother. Unfortunately, you are not alone there. Growing up I had a much closer relationship with my grandmother and aunt Milly then I did with my mom. Nowadays my mom and me get along much better and we’ve gotten very close, but it wasn’t always so. If you desire that type of relationship with your daughters then you’ll have it because they’ll sense that and want it too. Yolanda is an awesome writer and poet and a great source of inspiration. Thank you! 😀

      Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

