The Search for the Last Flower – (Part 6)

30 Oct

The Search for the Last Flower, part 6 is now posted. I hope everyone is enjoying the series up to this point. I have to warn those who are seeing this post for the first time. This is a Horror/Sci-fi about zombies. If you’re a fan of the show The Walking Dead, or if you enjoy movies like World War Z, 28 Days Later, Resident Evil, Dawn of the Dead, or Night of the Living Dead, you are definitely a fan of horror and zombies. But if the scariest movie you’ve ever seen is Beetlejuice––brace yourself. 😉

Don’t forget to read the previous installments if you haven’t done so already.   PART1 PART2 PART3 PART4 PART5

fire_low_search for the last flower_Vashti Quiroz-Vega_blog

 

 

A strong set of hands hoisted Caleb off the ground. He opened his eyes and shrieked when he saw, through his smoky glasses, what held him. He fainted.

 

Dr. Smith sucked his teeth and rolled his eyes behind the mask he wore. Even wearing the fire retardant suit, the heat was intense. He smacked Caleb a couple of times, but he was out cold.

 

“I should have known if I wanted something done right, I’d have to do it myself.” He took Caleb’s glasses off and tossed them aside, so that he could place an extra mask on his face. He dressed Caleb in a fire suit, put him back on the ground, and picked up the metal box. He looked at the flower; it was already showing signs of withering from the intense heat.

 

Dr. Smith picked the flower. Even in the smoked-filled air, it emanated a calming, lovely fragrance. Dr. Smith thought he heard the tiniest whimper when he severed the stem, but quickly dismissed the thought. He placed the bloom in the box and sealed it. He looked at Caleb still lying on the ground. He grabbed him by the shoulders and shook him. “Caleb, wake up! We have to get going!”

 

Finally Caleb began to shift around. When he opened his eyes he cried out again, waving his hands in front of him.

 

Dr. Smith slapped him on the head. “It’s me, you idiot! We have to go now!” Dr. Smith grabbed Caleb by the arm, yanked him to his feet, and they rushed through the flames.

 

“My glasses!” Caleb yelled.

 

“You can buy a dozen new pairs when we get back home,” Dr. Smith grumbled.

 

When they reached the other side of the firewall, they both collapsed on the ground, flames still clinging to their fire suits. The rest of the team rushed over and snuffed the fire out.

 

Caleb wiggled out of the fire suit and tore the mask off his face. He inhaled deeply and coughed a few times. Panting, he saw that the tribesmen were still there and were surrounding a bonfire they had started. He got to his feet and walked toward them.

 

“Where are you going, Caleb?” Dr. Smith huffed while removing his fire suit.

 

“I’m going to give my condolences.”

 

Dr. Smith sucked his teeth and rolled his eyes. “Well, hurry! We’re leaving soon.”

 

Caleb approached the elder and placed a hand on his shoulder, but before he was able to pronounce a word, the elder turned and yelled at him to leave. Caleb apologized and tried to offer his condolences, but the elder kept pushing him away, telling him to go at once.

 

Caleb looked into the fire the tribesmen surrounded. The young man, whom Dr. Smith had shot dead, lay in the middle of the fire pit, face up. His eyes were wide open and were a vivid yellow, even in the fire. The boy growled, wore an enraged expression, and struggled to leave the fire even as the skin on his body charred and melted.

 

Several strong tribesmen held him down in the fire with large tree branches while tears streamed from their eyes. When the elder noticed that Caleb was still there, he became very agitated and shouted a command to two of his men. The men grabbed Caleb by the arms and dragged him away. Caleb didn’t struggle. His face was pale, his teeth clattered, and his entire body trembled.

 

When the tribesmen approached Dr. Smith and the others, the armed men pointed their guns at them. Without flinching, the tribesmen let Caleb plop to the ground and returned to their burning ceremony.

 

Dr. Smith ran to his son and looked into his wide eyes. “Caleb––Caleb, what’s the matter. What happened?”

 

Caleb shifted his eyes slowly toward him. “Let’s leave this place,” he said in a low, hoarse voice. “Let’s leave now.”

 

Dr. Smith helped him up, and they walked away. His men trailed after them. Caleb stared forward, sightless, his mind unable to wrap around what he had seen in the fire.

 

Copyright © 2014 by Vashti Quiroz-Vega. All rights reserved.

 

the_walking_dead___zombie__hannah____wood_burning_by_brandojones-d5l4108

Wood Burning Artist – BrandoJones (Brandon) on deviantART

 

Thank you for stopping by and reading today! I am very grateful to my readers and as a way to say “thanks” I will be having a Giveaway at the end of this series. I will announce the prizes on . . . wait for it . . . Halloween, of course! All you have to do to qualify to be a winner is to read my series, The Search for the Last Flower, and leave feedback in the comment section. 😀

 

 

search for the last flower_vashtiquiroz-vega_blogfreezer box_the search for the last flower_vashtiquiroz-vegaShangri-LaFireZombie-thesearchforthelastfire-vashtiquiroz-vega-blog

26 Responses to “The Search for the Last Flower – (Part 6)”

  1. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin October 30, 2014 at 2:03 am #

    What had he seen … I wonder. Nice work

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 30, 2014 at 11:17 am #

      Hi Yolanda!
      ‘Caleb looked into the fire the tribesmen surrounded. The young man, whom Dr. Smith had shot dead, lay in the middle of the fire pit, face up. His eyes were wide open and were a vivid yellow, even in the fire. The boy growled, wore an enraged expression, and struggled to leave the fire even as the skin on his body charred and melted.’
      🙂
      Thank you!

      Like

      • Darlene Nemeth (@DarleneBNemeth) October 30, 2014 at 12:16 pm #

        Yes but Caleb shrieked when he saw what held him then fainted. What? Did the mask freak him out?

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 30, 2014 at 2:55 pm #

        Remember that he wears glasses. He was half out of it and his glasses were fogged up with smoke. So what he actually saw was a weird alien-like figure coming at him. He didn’t realize it was his father in a complete fire suit. Did I clear that up for you?

        Like

      • Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin October 30, 2014 at 6:22 pm #

        Nice description 🙂

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 31, 2014 at 12:54 am #

        Thank you. 😉

        Like

  2. Hugh's Views and News October 30, 2014 at 12:49 pm #

    I just loved this whole story so much, Vashti. It could almost be part of a movie containing five short stories in all, a little like The Twilight Zone movie. Well done, you certainly kept me wanting more all the way from beginning to end.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 30, 2014 at 2:59 pm #

      Hi Hugh! It’s not over yet. There are still a couple more episodes left. Thank you for the compliment. I’m glad you’re enjoying the story.

      Like

      • Hugh's Views and News October 31, 2014 at 5:04 am #

        Oh that’s great news, Vashti. More cliff hangers to come then. You write horror so very professional. All the detail you write makes reading it as if it’s happening right there in front of you. I’ll have to try my hand at a horror short story sometime.

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 31, 2014 at 11:18 am #

        Hi Hugh! Thank you very much. I loved reading horror even as a kid. Horror, fantasy, and mythology were my favorite books to read. So it’s no wonder that those are the genres I love to write. Go for it! I’d love to read a horror written by you. 😉

        Like

      • Hugh's Views and News October 31, 2014 at 11:50 am #

        I’ll certainly give it a go, Vashti. I haven’t read your book, The Basement, yet but I intend doing so once I finish the current book I am reading 🙂

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 31, 2014 at 3:21 pm #

        You are too kind, Hugh. Thank you very much! 😀 xx

        Like

      • Hugh's Views and News October 31, 2014 at 5:06 pm #

        Well Halloween dinner is over here now, Vashti, and everybody loved the story and wants to know what happens next, so I’ve got to keep them informed, but have also given them your blog address. Hope you are having a great Halloween, and love to Scribbles.

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 31, 2014 at 5:28 pm #

        I’m so glad you had a nice Halloween dinner and that your guests liked my story so far. Thank you very much for spreading the word. My day has been good so far, thank you. Scribbles says ‘Hi!’ to you and Toby! 😉

        Like

  3. mihrank October 30, 2014 at 1:24 pm #

    That’s a great topic and story with such strong details that makes the presentation interesting. I wonder where I saw this, just like a movie when A world war had been destroyed the entire civilization. Everybody is wondering around lost, neglecting each other. Until one day a young girl finds the last flower on earth…

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 30, 2014 at 3:06 pm #

      Hi Mihran! Thank you. That sounds like an interesting story. My story is about scientists discovering a flower in the amazon basin that has rejuvenating properties. They grab the last one to try to make an anti-aging elixir. They use the components of this flower to create a synthetic version of the flower’s properties, and all hell breaks loose. You’ll see what I mean in the last few episodes. 🙂

      Like

  4. olganm October 30, 2014 at 3:41 pm #

    Vashti, I did get the fact that the dead guy…well, let’s say wasn’t quite as dead as expected….I’m intrigued by the flower….Well, I’m intrigued!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 30, 2014 at 4:23 pm #

      Yes, the kid in the fire was dead. He became a zombie after Dr. Smith shot him and the flower has something to do with that. It will keep you young but if you die . . . 😉

      Like

  5. Miki English October 30, 2014 at 6:09 pm #

    Looking forward to reading more!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 30, 2014 at 6:14 pm #

      Thank you Miki! I’m glad you’re enjoying the series. I appreciate you taking the time to read it. 😀

      Like

  6. Vanessa Curtidor October 31, 2014 at 12:10 am #

    NOOOoo… Part 6 was too short lol I have read all the parts too fast and now the waiting game starts… I love the story so far I will see if I can get Luigi to read it but he doesn’t like scary stuff but I got him to watch The walking dead with me so maybe he wont mind lol Love you!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 31, 2014 at 1:07 am #

      Ha,ha! 😀 Thank you so much for reading. I’m happy you’re enjoying the series. Don’t worry Part 7 will be posted shortly. I’m sending big hugs and kisses all the way to Japan for you and Luigi! ❤

      Like

  7. Vanessa Curtidor October 31, 2014 at 12:12 am #

    Oh I thought I should mention that the link above for part 4 actually takes you back here to part 6.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 31, 2014 at 1:08 am #

      Oops! Thanks for letting me know. I’ll fix it. That’s what happens when you do things at 3:00am. 😦

      Like

  8. GiGi Eats Celebrities October 31, 2014 at 12:18 am #

    Perfect series for this time of year! 😉 It will certainly keep me thinking and hopefully NOT keep me up at night, but if I do happen to have a weird dream, I will blame you LOL! Happy Halloween!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 31, 2014 at 12:53 am #

      Ha,ha! Hopefully you won’t have nightmares but if you do I hope it inspires you to cook something weird and great. He, he. Happy Halloween! 😀

      Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

