The Search for the Last Flower – (Part 9)

2 Nov

 Hello! I hope everyone had a great weekend. This is part 9 of my horror series, The Search for the Last Flower.  Enjoy!

White_blood_cell_zombie_infection_the search for the last flower_story

 

“Your body has had some sort of reaction to the anti-aging elixir.”

 

Dr. Smith shook his head. “No––it can’t be.”

 

“Certain molecules from the synthetic solution have bonded to your white blood cells, reducing their ability to engulf and destroy bacteria.” Caleb’s voice was brittle.

 

“So my immune system is shutting down.” Dr. Smith pounded on his head with both fists. “Soon my body will be invaded by all sorts of bacteria, microbes, parasites . . . I’m already suffering the symptoms of bacterial, viral, and fungal infections.”

 

Caleb covered his eyes with his hands. He shook and convulsed in anguish. “This is my fault! I should have done more tests. I should––”

 

“Stop!” Dr. Smith groaned and went into a coughing fit. “You know you’re not to blame. I, and I alone, decided to take the elixir before the proper tests were done. The question is, what are you going to do to resolve this problem?”

 

“As soon as I saw the results of your blood tests, I made some phone calls. The anti-aging elixir is in the process of being recalled, and a notice will be sent out by the CDC to pharmacies and all patients in their database. I’ve already posted a notice on our website and social media accounts.” Caleb’s pulse was racing. “There’s also a television commercial that will run every half hour, asking everyone who had bought or used the elixir to go to designated areas in their state established by the CDC to get labs and tissue samples done. I think we can contain this, but––” Caleb broke down again. “There isn’t much we can do for those already showing symptoms of microorganism invasion.” He took his glasses off, cleaned the foggy lenses with his t-shirt, and put them back on.

 

“So I only have a few hours left. It won’t be much longer before the organisms completely dismantle my body and take it away until all that’s left is my skeleton.” Dr. Smith closed his eyes briefly and shook his head in disbelief. “I don’t want to wait for that to happen, but before I go, I want to feel the warmth of a woman’s body next to mine.”

 

Caleb’s face contorted in shock and revulsion. Microbes must have ravaged his father’s mind.

 

“Call somebody for me,” he pleaded. “It must be done quickly. I don’t know how much longer I will be lucid.”

 

“I don’t think you’re in your right mind any longer.” Anguish was etched on Caleb’s face.

 

Dr. Smith frowned. “You will not give a dying man his last wish?”

 

Caleb bit his lower lip.

 

“You don’t think I’m suffering enough? Dr. Smith cough and his lips became red with blood. “Bring me a woman while I can still see her!”

 

His large blue irises were now an opaque purplish hue with yellowing of the outer rims. The whites of his eyes were bright red due to the engorged blood vessels within. A cloudy film covered the eyes. His face was a purplish color with black dead patches marred by tears in the skin, which was shiny due to the oozing of infectious fluid, which mingled with the blood seeping from his mouth, nose, tear ducts, and ears.

 

Caleb stared at him, his stomach churned, and he retched again and again. He tried to contain his feelings of disgust. This was the only father he’d ever known. He vomited a little in his mouth and swallowing it back down only made him more nauseous. He ran to the toilet, put the seat up, fell to his knees and vomited his last meal.

 

He got to his feet feeling lightheaded, grabbed a wad of toilet paper and wiped his mouth. He walked back into his father’s bedroom. “I can call a dozen women, but what makes you think any woman would stay after taking one look at you?”

 

“If you pay them enough, they’ll stay,” he said, each word a gasp.

 

Caleb narrowed his eyes. “You are infectious. You could make the woman sick.”

 

“I simply want to feel her close to me. Please grant me this final wish.” He went into another coughing fit.

 

Caleb winced and jumped back.

 

“In my iPhone, in the Notes app, under friends, you will find a list of women. Call any woman on the list and tell her to come now.” His croaky voice sounded creepier by the minute. His face had become as black as the iPhone he pointed to on his night table.

 

Caleb inched by him to pick up the phone. His father no longer smelled human. He smelled like a dumpster filled with dead flowers. Caleb cringed––his thoughts lit his face on fire and caused it to turn bright pink with embarassment. He picked up the phone and looked through it. He found the list of women––his father’s friends. Who would he subject to this horror?

 

“Mary Anderson, Patricia Jones, Elizabeth García, Barbara Thomas . . .” Caleb read under his breath. “I don’t know who to call.”

 

“Hurry!” Dr. Smith began to wheeze. Caleb touched a woman’s name, Lolita Jackson, and the phone dialed her number. When a dulcet voice answered, he almost dropped the phone.

 

“Dr. Smith?” she asked. “Is that you?”

 

“No––” He cleared his throat. “This is his son, Caleb.”

 

“Oh! He has spoken often of you. How can I be of service to you?”

 

“Me? No––no, not me. My father needs you.” His lips quivered. “Can you come over right away?”

 

“Yes, of course. Anything for Dr. Smith.”

 

Ten minutes later Lolita was knocking on Dr. Smith’s door. Caleb opened the door to find a petite blonde with large celery green eyes that looked like they had seen a lifetime, but could only have seen a fraction.

 

“Hello, my name is Lolita. You must be Caleb.”

 

“Yes, it’s nice to meet you.” Caleb swallowed hardt and pushed the rim of his glasses up the bridge of his nose. “Are you old enough to be doing this?”

 

Lolita laughed. “I get that a lot. Yes, I’m twenty-three years old and totally legal. Where’s your dad?”

 

“Um, before you go to him, I have to warn you––he’s a bit under the weather, and his appearance is a bit, um, ah––he doesn’t look like himself.”

 

Lolita giggled. “Who does he look like, then?” She waved her hand dismissingly and went to Dr. Smith’s bedroom.

 

Copyright © 2014 by Vashti Quiroz-Vega. All rights reserved.

The search for the Last Flower_Vashti Quiroz-Vega's Blog

Thank you for reading! 

20 Responses to “The Search for the Last Flower – (Part 9)”

  1. Darlene Nemeth (@DarleneBNemeth) November 2, 2014 at 11:50 pm #

    I got your email for part 9 six minutes ago. I sped through it reread it now I’m here. LOL

    I was just getting into a roll when you stopped me dead in my tracks. Now I have to wait a whole day to read the next part. I think I am having an anxiety attack thinking about the long wait.

    I guess I’ll have to go and watch the new episode of The Walking Dead to get my mind off your story.

    I’ll be back tomorrow to read the next part. See you then Vashti.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 3, 2014 at 11:45 am #

      Awww, I’m sorry Darlene. Ha,ha! It’s great that you’re enjoying the series. Thank you for reading and your comments always put a smile on my face. 😀

      Like

  2. cindy knoke November 3, 2014 at 12:30 am #

    Soooo well written! Bravo~

    Like

  3. davidprosser November 3, 2014 at 12:45 am #

    No less fascinating than the previous parts Vashti. Very enjoyable. xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 3, 2014 at 11:50 am #

      Thank you so much, David. I’m happy you’re enjoying the story. *Huge Hugs returned* 😉

      Like

  4. mihrank November 3, 2014 at 12:55 am #

    This is fascinating and impressive – is this series of one story?

    Like

  5. olganm November 3, 2014 at 6:47 am #

    This girl is going to get a nasty surprise…Fabulous Vashti!

    Like

  6. Hugh's Views and News November 3, 2014 at 12:13 pm #

    Oh I feel so sorry for Lolita and can’t image what is going to happen to her. I just wonder if she’s going to come out of that room alive or how she is going to react when she sees Dr.Smith. Tenterhooks yet again, Vashti.

    Like

  7. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin November 5, 2014 at 9:38 pm #

    When faced with death we reach out and yearn for the touch of another human being. Well done Vashti xx

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sunni Morris October 28, 2016 at 7:13 pm #

    Oh my! I think you’ve outdone yourself with this story. Poor Lolita! I can’t wait to read the rest. This is a great horrifying read for Halloween.

    Liked by 1 person

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

