Haiku Friday – Happy Holidays

19 Dec

Hello and happy holidays to everyone! Welcome to Haiku Friday. Today I’m posting some Christmas horror haiku. I’m actually in bed with the flu right now. It’s the fourth day so I’m feeling better. The last three days were bad. Maybe next year I’ll get the flu shot––maybe. Anyway, enjoy!

 

sallizard

Vampire Santa Claus

by Vashti Quiroz-Vega

Ö

Blood drips from white beard

burrows deep into the soil

Until next Christmas

Ö

killer-christmas-tree

Attack of the Christmas Trees

by Vashti Quiroz-Vega

Ö

Verdant crown

Pine needles like sharp quills fly

Grotesque man-tree trimmed in lights

Ö

 

 

happy-holidays-006

18 Responses to “Haiku Friday – Happy Holidays”

  1. Sunni Morris December 19, 2014 at 10:59 am #

    Vashti,

    Sorry you have the flu. I wouldn’t get a flu shot – EVER – but that’s just me. I never get the flu either (knock on wood) but I do a lot of hand washing and wipe cart handles, etc before using them at the stores. Just be smart and you shouldn’t get it. Stay away from sick people if you can and don’t shake hands with them.

    I heard on the news that they even admitted this year’s flu shot was ineffective against the flu that is going around. I think it’s that way every year because they never know what will be going around in advance. They use the previous year to make vaccines. I would never get any kind of shot on a volunteer basis. You never know what harmful stuff is in those things.

    I’m glad you’re feeling better.

    Merry Christmas,
    Sunni

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 21, 2014 at 11:03 am #

      Hi Sunni! I’ve been working in the medical field for years and this is only the 2nd time I’ve had the flu which my boss thinks is a small miracle in and of itself. Yes, I do a lot of hand washing and disinfecting too but none of that works if someone coughs in your face. :/ I don’t know where the good manners have gone.

      I’ve never been a fan of the flu shot either. Twelve years ago the head nurse at work asked me if I wanted the flu shot and I refused it. A week later I got the flu and everyone at work kept telling me ‘I told you so’ especially the head nurse. I contracted the flu then the same as I did this time. I was helping an older woman onto the examining table and she coughed right in my face. I tell you, I could almost feel the flu virus enter my body. I was livid. I had never had the flu in my life and I didn’t feel that I should put those organisms into my body and then that happens. Well, I refused it the following year again and I was almost lynched. But I never got it again until now.

      Thank you so much sweetie! ❤

      Have a Merry Christmas!

      Like

  2. olganm December 20, 2014 at 7:00 am #

    I hope you are feeling better Vashti. Trust you to bring horror into Christmas! Mind you, I thoroughly enjoyed both!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 21, 2014 at 11:14 am #

      Hello Olga! I am feeling better today. Thank you. ❤ Ha, ha! I can't help myself. I'm glad you enjoyed them though. 😀

      Like

  3. Hugh's Views and News December 20, 2014 at 8:24 am #

    Wishing you a very speedy recovery, Vashti.

    I love your Christmas horror haikus, especially the Christmas tree one. That would make a great short story.

    Take care and Merry Christmas to you. xx

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 21, 2014 at 11:22 am #

      Hello Hugh! Thank you! I’m feeling much better. I’m so glad you like the haiku. ‘Attack of the Christmas trees’ is my favorite too. Have an awesome Christmas holiday with your loved ones. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hugh's Views and News December 21, 2014 at 11:42 am #

        Hi Vashti, so pleased to hear you are feeling much better.

        I hope you don’t mind me asking but I have a charity Christmas Tree topper challenge on my blog where I am hoping to raise £250 for charity by twelfth night. It’s open to all bloggers and for every ping back or comment with a photo of what’s on top of the author’s christmas tree my post gets, I am donating £1 to charity. I have added the link to my challenge below.

        http://hughsviewsandnews.com/2014/12/19/tell-me-whats-on-top-of-your-christmas-tree-and-help-me-raise-250-for-charity/

        I’d love it if you would participate and help me achieve that target by 6th January.

        Thank you so much.
        Merry Christmas
        Hugh
        xx

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 21, 2014 at 12:23 pm #

        Hi Hugh! I did see your post. I’m going to take a photo of what’s on top of my mom’s tree because I don’t have a tree this year. We just bought a house and we’re doing some work to it before we move in. So I won’t be Christmas decorating this year. 😦 I know it’s a bummer that I won’t be setting out all my Christmas stuff, but I’m just happy to have finally gotten a house. But I would like to participate. So, if it’s okay, I can use my mom’s topper. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Hugh's Views and News December 21, 2014 at 12:32 pm #

        Perfect, Vashti. Why not include a photo of your mom and you by the Christmas tree on your post as well? Thank you so much for joining in on my challenge. The more the merrier. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 21, 2014 at 12:37 pm #

        Hmmm. Maybe I will. 😉 It’s a great challenge and a brilliant idea. Thank you for thinking it up. 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  4. mihrank December 21, 2014 at 6:20 pm #

    May the peace and blessings
    of Christmas be yours;
    And may the coming year
    be filled with happiness.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 22, 2014 at 2:38 pm #

      Thank you so much, Mihran! Very happy holidays to you and your loved ones. All the best! ❤ Loved the music. 😀

      Like

  5. Happy Lifeaholic December 24, 2014 at 1:01 am #

    So sorry to hear you have the flu. Hope you feel better soon! ❤

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 26, 2014 at 12:08 pm #

      Thank you so much. I’m feeling much better. I hope you’re having a fantastic holiday season. ❤ xx

      Liked by 1 person

  6. JESS44903 December 24, 2014 at 11:25 am #

    This is so neat! 🙂 I love your Haikus!

    Thanks for joining the Link Up this week!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 26, 2014 at 12:15 pm #

      Yay! Thank you, Jess! I’m happy you liked it. 😀 Have a great New Year’s Eve and New Year! 🙂 xx

      Like

  7. Mrs. AOK December 28, 2014 at 7:48 am #

    Sorry you had the flu! The flu sucks, my daughter is finally over hers. I hope you had a lovely holiday.
    Vampire Santa, yikes! Now, that’s a scary thought 😉
    XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 30, 2014 at 2:44 pm #

      Thank you. I’m much better. It’s been a long time since I’ve had the flu. It’s awful, I’m sorry your daughter had to go through it. I’m glad she’s all better. Have a wonderful New Year’s Eve and New Year! Wishing you all the best. 😀 xx

      Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

