And the Oscar goes to . . .

15 Jan

Academy+Motion+Picture+Arts+Sciences+Oscar+jiwaTe-khOEx

 

Hi everyone! If you’re a movie buff like I am then you’re excited about the announcement of the nominees for the 87th Academy Awards. Well, guess what? I will provide you with the full list of nominees right here on my blog. Isn’t that awesome! Now you can go out and see a couple of the nominated movies before the big day. Before I show you the list I must tell you that although there are some great surprises there are also some bitter disappointments. Check out some of the headlines:

 

2015 Oscar Nominations: ‘Selma’ snubbed; ‘Birdman’ and ‘The Grand Budapest Hotel’ lead with nine. ~Washington Post

 

The Internet Is Very, Very Angry The Lego Movie Missed Out On An Oscar Nod ~People Magazine

 

Everything is awful: Lego Movie snubbed by the Oscars ~The Telegraph

 

Oscar 2015 Nominations: Only White Actors Received Academy Award Nods and the Internet Is Outraged ~Us Weekly

 

Oscars 2015: Academy President Commits ‘Dick Poop’ Gaffe ~LA Times (This one just added for laughs)

 

The 87th Academy Awards will be broadcast live from Hollywood on February 22nd, 2015 at 7:00 p.m. ET

Ellen-DeGeneres-Vashti-Quiroz-Vega-selfie-Oscars

I have to admit I’m a bit disappointed that Ellen DeGeneres will not be hosting this year’s Oscars. I will keep an open mind and try to enjoy Neil Patrick Harris.

NeilPatrickHarris

Neil Patrick Harris

 

Click here to see the 2015 Oscars Snubs and Surprises: Jennifer Aniston, Angelina Jolie, Selma and more . . .

JENNIFER-ANISTON-surprise surprise

Jennifer Aniston

b_angelina-jolie-on-a-sofa

Angelina Jolie

David Oyelowo

David Oyelowo

Clint-Eastwood-vashti-quiroz-vega

Clint Eastwood

 

Are you hosting an Oscar Party? Here’s a great link from Better Homes and Gardens that will give your Oscar Night Party red carpet appeal.  You can also click on the pictures for more party ideas. 😀

oscars-party-idea-5

Oscars Party

Cinema-Oscar-Party

Alright, it is time for the 87th Academy Award nominees . . . drum roll please . . .

BEST PICTURE

American Sniper
Birdman (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Boyhood
The Grand Budapest Hotel
The Imitation Game
Selma
The Theory of Everything
Whiplash

 

BEST DIRECTOR

Alejandro González Iñárritu, Birdman (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Richard Linklater, Boyhood
Bennett Miller, Foxcatcher
Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel
Morten Tyldum, The Imitation Game

 

BEST ACTOR

Steve Carell, Foxcatcher
Bradley Cooper, American Sniper
Benedict Cumberbatch, The Imitation Game
Michael Keaton, Birdman (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

 

BEST ACTRESS

Marion Cotillard, Two Days, One Night
Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything
Julianne Moore, Still Alice
Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
Reese Witherspoon, Wild

 

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR

Robert Duvall, The Judge
Ethan Hawke, Boyhood
Edward Norton, Birdman (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher
J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

 

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS

Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
Laura Dern, Wild
Keira Knightley, The Imitation Game
Emma Stone, Birdman (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Meryl Streep, Into the Woods

 

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY

American Sniper, Jason Hall
The Imitation Game, Graham Moore
Inherent Vice, Paul Thomas Anderson
The Theory of Everything, Anthony McCarten
Whiplash, Damien Chazelle

 

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY

Birdman (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. and Armando Bo
Boyhood, Richard Linklater
Foxcatcher, E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman
The Grand Budapest Hotel, Screenplay by Wes Anderson; Story by Wes Anderson & Hugo Guiness
Nightcrawler, Dan Gilroy

 

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY

Birdman (The Unexpected Virute of Ignorance), Emmanuel Lubezki
The Grand Budapest Hotel, Robert D. Yeoman
Ida, (Ryszard Lenczweski and Lukasz Zal
Mr. Turner, Dick Pope
Unbroken, Roger Deakins

 

BEST COSTUME DESIGN

The Grand Budapest Hotel, Milena Canonero
Inherent Vice, Mark Bridges
Into the Woods, Colleen Atwood
Mr. Turner, Jacqueline Durran
Maleficent, Anna B. Sheppard

 

BEST FILM EDITING

American Sniper, Joel Cox and Gary Roach
Boyhood, Sandra Adair
The Grand Budapest Hotel, Barney Pilling
The Imitation Game, William Goldenberg
Whiplash, Tom Cross

 

BEST MAKEUP AND HAIRSTYLING

Foxcatcher
The Grand Budapest Hotel
Guardians of the Galaxy

 

BEST MUSIC (ORIGINAL SCORE

The Grand Budapest Hotel (Alexandre Desplat)
The Imitation Game (Alexandre Desplat)
Interstellar (Hans Zimmer)
Mr. Turner (Gary Yershon)
The Theory of Everything (Jóhann Jóhannsson)

 

BEST MUSIC (ORIGINAL SONG)

“Lost Stars” from Begin Again
“I’m Not Gonna Miss You” from Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me
“Everything is Awesome” from The Lego Movie
“Glory” from Selma
“Grateful” from Beyond the Lights

 

BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN

The Grand Budapest Hotel (Adam Stockhausen; Anna Pinnock)
The Imitation Game (Maria Djurkovic; Tatiana Macdonald)
Interstellar (Nathan Crowley; Gary Fettis, Paul Healy)
Into the Woods (Dennis Gassner; Anna Pinnock)
Mr. Turner (Suzie Davies; Charlotte Watts)

 

BEST SOUND EDITING

American Sniper
Birdman (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies
Interstellar
Unbroken

 

BEST SOUND MIXING

American Sniper
Birdman (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Interstellar
Unbroken
Whiplash

 

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS

Captain America: The Winter Soldier
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
Guardians of the Galaxy
Interstellar
X-Men: Days of Future Past

 

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE FILM

Big Hero 6
The Boxtrolls
How to Train Your Dragon 2
Song of the Sea
The Tale of Princess Kaguya

 

BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM

Wild Tales (Damián Szifrón; Argentina)
Tangerines (Zaza Urushadze; Estonia)
Timbuktu (Abderrahmane Sissako; Mauritania)
Ida (Pawel Pawlikowski; Poland)
Leviathan (Andrey Zvyagintsev; Russia)

 

BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE FILM

CITIZENFOUR
Finding Vivian Maier
Last Days in Vietnam
The Salt of the Earth
Virunga

 

BEST DOCUMENTARY (SHORT SUBJECT)

Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1
Joanna
Our Curse
The Reaper
White Earth

 

BEST SHORT FILM (ANIMATED)

The Bigger Picture
The Dam Keeper
Feast
Me and My Moulton
A Single Life

 

BEST SHORT FILM (LIVE ACTION)

Aya
Boogaloo and Graham
Butter Lamp
Parvaneh
The Phone Call

 

Are you hosting or attending an Oscar Night Party? Have you seen any of the nominated movies? How do you feel about the movies and people that were snubbed by the Oscars?

22 Responses to “And the Oscar goes to . . .”

  1. coldhandboyack January 15, 2015 at 5:14 pm #

    Sounds like you’re all ready. I’ll just come to your party. I wonder if that high school tux still fits?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 15, 2015 at 5:26 pm #

      Ha, ha! I’m afraid I’m not quite ready but I will be in time for Oscar night and you are more than welcome. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. cindy knoke January 15, 2015 at 5:25 pm #

    I loved The Gran Budapest Hotel! I hope it wins~

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 15, 2015 at 5:28 pm #

      Hi Cindy! I haven’t seen that one. I was on the fence about seeing it but now I’ll definitely go watch it. 😀

      Like

  3. olganm January 15, 2015 at 6:26 pm #

    I’m with Cindy, I also loved The Great Budapest Hotel although I also liked Boyhood. I haven’t watched some of the others though…

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 16, 2015 at 2:34 pm #

      Hi Olga! I’m really behind on my movie watching this year. The Grand Budapest Hotel is 1st on my list since so many are recommending it. I’ve been curious about Boyhood too. Selma and Nightcrawler look good too. So many good movies and not enough time! 😀 xx

      Like

  4. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin January 15, 2015 at 7:39 pm #

    Fun post Vashti

    Like

  5. john flanagan January 15, 2015 at 8:56 pm #

    Thank You so much for sharing all of this, it gave me a chance to catch up;
    ‘The Grand Budapest Hotel’ is my favourite film in a long while

    Best Wishes

    john

    Like

  6. davidprosser January 16, 2015 at 12:22 am #

    Very informative but fun Vashti. Unfortunately the snub link just brought up a blank page but hey, I’ll get the answers on the night.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 16, 2015 at 2:29 pm #

      Hi David! Thank you. Oops! I’ll have to check the link and fix that. Thanks for notifying me. ❤ Huge Hugs Returned ❤

      Like

  7. thesophislife January 17, 2015 at 3:26 am #

    so every year I look forward to Oscar season. I start seeing movies in advance with Oscar buzz. I have attended Oscar parties and last year hosted my own and had an Oscar Giveaway on my blog. This year for me was very lackluster in terms of movies. And then the nominations came out and I was shocked at the lack of diversity. So much so I don’t plan to watch it. I will see some of the movies that have sparked my interest such as Selma and American Sniper. But I am sure Neil Patrick Harris will be great! I have loved the Tony Awards with him as the host.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 17, 2015 at 9:52 am #

      Hello! I agree that the nominations were a bit disappointing this year. I was very surprised and disappointed with some of the academy’s decisions. Hopefully we’ll get some clarification in the near future about why they made certain choices. I have yet to see some of these movies so I’ll be better able to comment afterward. I’m sorry you’re disappointed but I understand why you would be.

      Like

  8. JESS44903 January 19, 2015 at 5:27 pm #

    I love to watch the Oscars too! 🙂

    Thanks for joining the Link Up this week!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 19, 2015 at 6:13 pm #

      Hi Jess! It’s so much fun and a great excuse to get together with friends and family. 🙂

      Like

  9. the cape on the corner January 20, 2015 at 9:15 am #

    i love the oscars/movies in general, and would love to host an oscar party one day. this weekend i watched american sniper with a friend, and boyhood. glad i have at least seen a few this year.
    have a good one!
    b

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 22, 2015 at 1:22 pm #

      Hi! Thanks for coming by. Did you enjoy American Sniper? It’s been nominated a great deal. 🙂

      Like

  10. Lia February 5, 2015 at 1:16 pm #

    Thank you! I love watching the Oscars. Off to watch all of the Best Picture nominees. Visiting from Katherine’s Corner link up;-)

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega February 5, 2015 at 1:30 pm #

      Hi Lia! Good for you! I haven’t been able to watch all the movies I’d like to see before the Oscars yet. So I better get moving! Thanks for visiting. Let me know which movie is your favorite. 😀

      Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

