Dead Words

22 Apr

I loved this poem by a mysterious, talented poet named Barrira. The poetry is raw and honest and if you feel nothing after reading one of this brilliant poet’s poems, well, you may want to check if your blood is red.

dead words_Vashti Quiroz-Vega's Blog_Poetry

Dead Words

by barrira

So much of what we want
Goes unsaid between empty
Spaces making the distance
Longer than it needs to be
All the “I love yous’” swallowed
Too scared of rejection we let
The aching hollowness to grow
Inside our chest locking the words
We shut off the inner voice harshly
Our hearts burdened under weight
We choke and stumble around
Never an “I’m sorry” letting our
Pride win over relationships we
Keep losing people slowly till one
Day the road mirrors a graveyard
“Thank yous” squashed under feet
We drive people away without
Realizing we are digging our holes
Only to wake up one day and be
Alone and numb from the inside
With regrets and what-ifs that tear
Us up by the burdens we carry
Till we pick a pen and bleed our
Hearts away letting the dead words
Out filling the voids and aches never
Heard before to let the world glimpse
The burdens of the silenced words
Hoping someone out there will act
Differently and live fully unlike us

Vashti Quiroz-Vega's Blog_Poetry_dead words_barrira

Random News

Today April 22nd, 2015 is EARTH DAY! It is also International Mother Earth Day and National Jelly Bean Day. So hug a tree, talk to your plants, and eat a handful of jelly beans! 😛

10 Responses to “Dead Words”

  1. 1stpeaksteve April 22, 2015 at 4:10 pm #

    I like how the sentences “end” mid-sentence. It is also true in regards to how simple things are buried by fear and how that tends to fuel regrets and bury us. Funny how we humans are…

    As for Earth Day…no big changes. Just continuing my overzealous ways of recycling as much as I can and picking up trash in my neighborhood when I come home late at night. If you can not feel a sense of pride about where you live…you probably can not have a large sense of pride in yourself.

    Enjoy our jelly beans!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 24, 2015 at 11:10 am #

      Hi Steve! You’re absolutely right. I love that you’re doing so much for the environment. I wish more people took pride in their neighborhoods and country in general. I agree with what you said about self-pride. As far as the jelly beans, I don’t have a big sweet-tooth but I do enjoy the tartly ones. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • 1stpeaksteve April 24, 2015 at 1:24 pm #

        I do not have a big sweet tooth either, but if I am forced to then I just have to accept it!

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 24, 2015 at 2:11 pm #

        Ha, ha! I always go for the tart. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin April 22, 2015 at 4:47 pm #

    Amazing poetry. Thank you for sharing Vashti 😊

    Like

  3. jaye22 April 22, 2015 at 5:21 pm #

    Wow!!! Vashti. Strong words and yet I felt every word!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 24, 2015 at 11:11 am #

      Hi Jennifer! I felt the same way! That’s why I wanted to share it. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. 🙂 xx

      Like

  4. olganm April 22, 2015 at 5:23 pm #

    Thanks so much Vashti.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega April 24, 2015 at 11:12 am #

      Hello Olga! You’re welcome. I’d love to do a spotlight on you. Would you like that? 🙂

      Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

