Haiku Friday – Charge & Lovers

15 May

RonovanWrites Weekly Haiku Poetry Prompt Challenge

 

Welcome to Haiku Friday! I hope everyone is having a great day so far. Today’s prompt words are a little spicy, so I’m just going to go with it.Β I’m wondering what Ron’s mood was like when he thought of these prompt words. If you’d like to participate in Ronovan’s haiku prompt challenge click on the link above. It’s a lot of fun and you get to read many other great haiku on his review post on Sunday. My haiku has no title this week. I’ll let Ron give it a name. πŸ˜‰

β™₯

lovers-love-haiku-poetry

♦

Charge your batteries

The lovers that take all night

Are doing it right

(Check out the musical sound of my haiku––thanks Ysobel)

♦

sex-love-lovers-poems

♦

Can you have a healthy marriage without sexual intimacy? Do you think ‘making love’ is the most meaningful way for a couple to express love to one another? Do you enjoy sex? Or is it just a ‘bad’ word to you?

37 Responses to “Haiku Friday – Charge & Lovers”

  1. Elizabeth May 15, 2015 at 1:05 pm #

    Hi Vashti, hot haiku, photos and questions! I’d love if my hubby expressed his love cooking and washing the dishes, this way I would really feel loved. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 15, 2015 at 3:31 pm #

      Hi Elizabeth! I bet if your husband helped you on a daily basis with your chores, cooking, cleaning . . . there’d be a lot more ‘love making’. πŸ˜‰ That’s what some men don’t understand. Care and consideration are sweetly rewarded. ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ronovan May 15, 2015 at 1:07 pm #

    I think people would have to first determine what the definition of sexual intimacy for them is. But I believe the most important thing is not sex or even necessarily words but actions in a relationship. You can say anything. You can have sex with anyone, but there is more to a relationship than that. An example is a man sitting in his recliner every night watching TV while his partner sits on the couch. Why not sit on the couch with the partner, close, even. dare I say with legs touching, and show you want to be near them. The bed and car due to size should not be the only places you find yourself being close to who you love. Also there are the other things, holding hands is a big one. And by that I mean responsive holding hands, not dead fish hands. Men don’t hold hands well. We think our hand is simply a place for the other person to rest their hand.

    Okay, I rambled a bit. I’ll stop now.

    Oh, as far as the word sex goes? I like to refer to the desire to really want someone in that passionate way, and I use this as a slight joke but mean it in some ways, I call it needing Monkey Sex. In other words, wild, crazy, loud, and all over the room sex.

    Okay, now I’m done. My off switch is completely broken right now.

    Liked by 4 people

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 15, 2015 at 3:41 pm #

      Ah, ha, ha, ha! Those last two paragraphs killed me (with laughter). You began so serious! Anyway, everything you said made perfect sense to me. I think deep down every person wants the kind of love you described. The desire to be with someone for the sake of being with that person. It’s wonderful to sit on the sofa with someone you love and watch a movie, game, fight together or walk at the mall, park, street holding hands (like we mean it––no dead fish hands). I find any task or chore fun when done with someone I love. I think that’s what true love is. And once in a while you can throw in a little ‘Monkey Sex’! Ha, ha, ha! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 3 people

  3. Caleb May 15, 2015 at 2:26 pm #

    Imma give commentin’ here a try. πŸ˜€

    Of course I liked it, there isn’t really anything you do I don’t like. I also like where your mind went with the prompt words. πŸ˜‰

    On to questions!
    1. Vulcans can, humans in the vast majority can’t.

    2. I believe ‘making love’ is strong expression that each person in the relationship can share. Considerable differences lie between ‘making love’ and having sex.

    3. I feel the word ‘enjoy’ would be a gross understatement in my feeling towards this activity.

    4. Sex is a word. I can think of much more embarrassing and funny things to say in public.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 15, 2015 at 3:13 pm #

      Hi Caleb! I’m glad you gave commenting here a try. πŸ˜‰ I agree with #1 right off the bat. I also agree that there’s a big difference between ‘making love’ and ‘having sex’. #3 cracked me up––I hear you. I can also think of a plethora of words that are far dirtier and more embarrassing than the word ‘sex’. As usual, you make a lot of sense and we’re totally on the same wavelength. Thanks for the sweet words. πŸ˜€ xx

      Like

  4. Serins May 15, 2015 at 3:02 pm #

    I see this Haiku commentary getting into full blown 5 pages or something. Quite a lot of questions you ask there. And awesome Haiku by they way. I agree with all night long love making. But there is a difference between sex and love making. Safe to say I don’t think “sex” is a bad word. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 15, 2015 at 3:55 pm #

      Thank you Serins! Ha, ha! Lets see, it could go both ways. I always ask too many questions. I have a very curious nature and I believe I can learn about my readers from the answers I get. Yes, ‘sex’ and ‘love making’ can signify different things although the process is the same. πŸ˜‰ I’m glad the word doesn’t scare you. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Silver Threading May 15, 2015 at 3:04 pm #

    I love all the energy that your haiku has Vashti. ❀ Sex is meaningful to every relationship, but it is not all there is by any means. As you get older, some of those urges change. I think the companionship and love grow deeper. I don't know. That is just us, but it works for us! LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 15, 2015 at 3:50 pm #

      Hi Colleen! I understand. There should always be a connection and a spark between two people in a relationship, I think. Simply holding hands, putting your head on your love’s shoulder, caressing your partner’s face, passing your hand over her/his hair is a show of love and intimacy that never has to end even if the ‘Monkey Sex’ does (Ronovan’s famous words). I totally get it.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Silver Threading May 15, 2015 at 5:53 pm #

        True. But, sometimes monkey sex a’la Ronovan is all that works… At least that is what he says. What a fun post! You literally nailed it Vashti! LOL! πŸ’–

        Liked by 1 person

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 15, 2015 at 7:09 pm #

        Ha, ha! Thank you Colleen! ❀ xx

        Liked by 1 person

  6. olganm May 15, 2015 at 3:36 pm #

    Your haiku put a smile on my face. With regards to the questions… I’ll keep smiling.

    Like

  7. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin May 16, 2015 at 12:50 am #

    Ha ha … With the right person sex can be Te most intimate experience and soul changing. X

    Like

  8. BWSBL May 16, 2015 at 3:40 pm #

    I always look forward to your haiku, Vashti. Not only are the haiku always fab, but your visuals and questions are always a fun addition. Plus, it seems you and I think along the same lines.

    As for the Q&A, there is definitely not a healthy marriage without sexual intimacy…those relationships are called friendships. And not all intimacy needs to be ravaged sex romps…although, those are very nice! πŸ™‚ I love sex (albeit not with my husband) lol but I am a very sensual being and sometimes it’s less about the act itself and more about how you feel about what ever you are doing to/with the person that has your heart. Sometimes it’s more of a turn on knowing how good you’re making your lover feel. πŸ˜‰

    Aside from sex, true expressions of love can include so many things, of course any closeness, touching, holding, snuggling, etc. but also finishing each other’s sentences, saying one word and the other knows exactly what you’re talking about, even just staring into each other’s eyes. When you are truly in love, it all works.

    BTW…great haiku!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 18, 2015 at 6:45 pm #

      Awww! Thank you do much for the kind and encouraging words. πŸ˜€ xx
      I agree that a healthy marriage should include sexual intimacy. I’m also with you in that a couple could express love in many different ways. Did I read correctly? You wrote that you love sex, but not with your husband? There’s a juicy story there . . .

      Liked by 1 person

      • BWSBL May 18, 2015 at 7:33 pm #

        Listen, I’m nothing if not honest. Lol

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Hugh's Views and News May 17, 2015 at 7:58 am #

    Very saucy, Vashti, but a wonderful response to the words given by Ron. Well done. Oh, that’s all I’m saying on the subject πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. marjma2014 May 17, 2015 at 11:28 am #

    Very saucy haiku Vashti. I think that there is nothing like a bit of sauciness to spice up a marriage! It’s a great way to make up after an argument!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 18, 2015 at 6:49 pm #

      Thank you! Oh yes, a marriage should be spiced up at least once a week. πŸ˜‰ At least that’s my opinion. Ha, ha! Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Lily Lau May 18, 2015 at 4:25 pm #

    I think it’s essential, Vashti! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  12. JESS44903 May 19, 2015 at 10:58 am #

    You’re so talented…amazes me each week!

    Thanks for joining the Link Up this week!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 19, 2015 at 12:14 pm #

      Thank you so much for your support every week, Jess! I appreciate you. ❀ xx

      Like

  13. doreenhousehoneys May 19, 2015 at 10:03 pm #

    I can’t help but think of the song ‘what’s love got to do with it?’. Love is love and sex is sex, although in a completely healthy marriage sex should be an important component, I don’t know if I’d go as far to say without it it’s really a friendship. I think of marriages where it’s physically not possible for the couple to have sex, but there’s nonetheless a deep affection that exists. The crazy ‘monkey sex’ that was mentioned is wonderful, fun and something everyone should experience, but it can’t and won’t last forever. If you’re lucky, it’s replaced by a timeless, endless love that is grounded by a deep level of understanding and acceptance.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 20, 2015 at 2:44 pm #

      As usual, your words are wise and insightful, Doreen. I think the older one gets the least importance sex has in a relationship. I also believe that love goes through many stages throughout a couple’s life before it’s at the point where sex no longer plays a key role. πŸ™‚ xx

      Like

  14. Mrs. AOK May 20, 2015 at 11:38 am #

    Spicy indeed! I love it.
    Intimacy is important and much appreciated. πŸ™‚
    XOXO

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 20, 2015 at 2:39 pm #

      Thank you! You mentioned something important––it is appreciated. πŸ˜€ xx

      Like

  15. Sarah Brentyn May 20, 2015 at 6:00 pm #

    Yes, well. I saw that prompt and thought much the same. Great job with this. My mind was going somewhere darker so I left this one alone. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  16. Sunni Morris May 24, 2015 at 12:52 am #

    Vashti,

    This is one of your better haiku’s. Well done. I had to laugh at some of the answers and I’m in agreement with some of them. I think I’ll leave it at that, as my husband and I are quite weary of each other after forty years and take things one day at a time. To be young again would be wonderful sometimes.

    Sunni
    http://sunni-survivinglife.blogspot.com/

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 26, 2015 at 3:14 pm #

      Thank you very much, Sunni. πŸ˜€ There’s an old Spanish saying, ‘Sometimes habit is more powerful than love.’ Meaning that sometimes you’re so used to someone that if gone what would pain you most would be the lack of having him around more than the love you’d be missing. Or something like that. The translation is difficult. It doesn’t mean that older couples don’t love each other, but they have grown so accustomed to each other that being separated would be the worst thing of all.

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. RonovanWrites Weekly #Haiku #Poetry Prompt Challenge 44 Review | ronovanwrites - May 17, 2015

    […] Quiroz-Vega: Babyt Take Your Time. I got to choose the title this week. As I read the Haiku and then thought, a song lyric came to […]

    Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

