Writer’s Quote Wednesday

1 Jul

Hi everyone! I’m posting this very late today and I have Comcast to thank for that. Since I moved to my new house I’ve had nothing but problems with Comcast and my WiFi connection. It works one day and then it’s out two, three, or four days. I’m getting really frustrated with this situation. Well, my internet is finally working––lets see how long this will last. Okay, I’m done venting.

Writer’s Quote Wednesday | Silver Threading

Writer's Quote Wednesday

Horror Quote

“You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.'”

Do you enjoy reading horror novels? What are some of your favorite horror writers/novels?

19 Responses to “Writer’s Quote Wednesday”

  1. davidprosser July 1, 2015 at 11:53 pm #

    Sounds like you’re living through your own horror Vashti. I hope you manage to get it sorted soon before your post build too much.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega July 2, 2015 at 2:00 pm #

      Hi David! Thank you. The quantity of backed-up emails alone are things horror stories are made of! Ha, ha! I guess I’ll manage. It’s great hearing from you! ❤ Hugs & Kisses ❤

      Like

  2. Hugh's Views and News July 2, 2015 at 3:18 am #

    Sorry to hear about the internet and wifi connection problems Vashti. I’ve been going through a similar problem recently and it is still not sorted out!!

    Hope the move went well and best wishes and happiness in your new home.
    xx

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega July 2, 2015 at 1:56 pm #

      Hi Hugh! Isn’t it frustrating? I’m sorry you’re going through the same thing. I wouldn’t wish this on my worse enemy. I hope you get the issues sorted out quickly.
      The house is still full of boxes, but I’m very happy to be in my own home despite the mess. Little by little we’ll make this house our home, and I look forward to every step. Thank you very much for the kind wishes. ❤ xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. olganm July 2, 2015 at 11:19 am #

    I hope things get sorted. I know it’s not a matter of space but it feels like the highways, the more and bigger they build them, the more traffic there is. I love horror stories and movies, although strangely enough I haven’t read quite that many. I’ve read quite a few of Stephen King’s stories and I’ve read a couple by his son Joe Hill. At the moment I’m reading a very interesting vampire story by a writer from Perú (in Spanish) ‘Blaine’ but I guess some of the stories with a paranormal turn aren’t always traditional horror. (I’ve read some of Anne Rice and Charlaine Harris’s stories too).

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega July 2, 2015 at 1:51 pm #

      Me too Olga! At one point I just wanted to stop blogging altogether! Trying to get things sorted out with this company has got to be one of the most frustrating experiences ever.
      I grew up reading Stephen King novels. I also loved Anne Rice (devoured her Vampire Chronicles). Now, I love horror stories with psychological, thriller elements. I think you’d be able to come up with a fantastic horror novel. 🙂

      Like

  4. ratnibbles July 3, 2015 at 6:56 pm #

    Good to know you’re settling down.. I have read few stories of Stephen King and R.L. Stine. But i refer thriller more than horror novels.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega July 3, 2015 at 7:16 pm #

      Thank you Meera! If you love thrillers check out Dan Brown. I love him too. 😉

      Like

  5. Silver Threading July 6, 2015 at 1:30 pm #

    I understand your problems Vashti. We have Brighthouse, who I understand has been bought out by Comcast!! Yikes. We are in the county and not in Pensacola proper so it is always fun. I loved your quote this week. Are these illustrations from your book? I bet Eleanor said this in regards to WWII. Thank you for sharing. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega July 6, 2015 at 1:52 pm #

      Hi Colleen! In my last house I had virtually no problems with Comcast. I kept hearing other people complain about them and kept asking myself, what are they talking about? After moving to my new house I’ve had nothing but problems with them. And trying to communicate with them through their 800 number is what nightmares are made of. Hopefully, you’ll get lucky and have the experience I had in my last home.
      I’m glad you enjoyed the quote. I’m sure she was referring to the war but the quote can be applied to any instant of facing your fears, which is what my book, The Basement is about. The illustration is part of The Basement fan art. It is the artist, George Miltiadis’ interpretation of one of my characters (Natasha) in the basement. I love it! You can see more fan art and the book’s illustrations on my Gallery Page. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Silver Threading July 6, 2015 at 3:09 pm #

        Vashti, the illustrations are fabulous. I have had the same problems with Brighthouse Cable. It is everywhere I fear! Best of luck to you and I hope the problems get resolved quickly. ❤

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega July 6, 2015 at 3:34 pm #

        Thank you very much! So far it’s working okay but I’m in constant fear that it’ll stop working again, since it’s happened 3 times already. Anyway, have a great day and stay positive. I’ll try to do the same. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Silver Threading July 7, 2015 at 11:51 am #

        Thinking of you, Vashti! 3

        Liked by 1 person

  6. doreenhousehoneys July 6, 2015 at 9:17 pm #

    Comcast is known for their horrible service, but I suppose that’s not news to you! If you can switch, you should.

    I like horror stories, but most definitely NOT horror movies!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega July 7, 2015 at 10:22 am #

      Hi Doreen! Unfortunately Comcast has the market cornered in my area. The funny thing is that I had no problems with them in my previous home and I lived there 14 years! We had only minor issues that occurred infrequently and were quickly resolved. But in my new house it’s been one issue after the other.
      Really? I guess you don’t enjoy seeing the horror? Although, when I read I horror novel, what I see in my mind’s eye is usually more horrific than what is portrayed in the movies. I have a wild imagination. 😉

      Like

  7. Dean July 7, 2015 at 8:50 am #

    Great quotes!
    Do I read horror, no. Since becoming a mama, I’ve become such wuss with scary stuff.
    There was a time where I loved horror movies. I still read my Poe, though. 🙂 Not horror, but not ordinary- simply extraordinary 🙂
    XOXO

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega July 7, 2015 at 10:42 am #

      Hi! There are different types of horror. I don’t enjoy horror that is simply about torturing people and grossing you out––I can’t stand that (Saw, Hostel, Human Centipede). Yuk! Call me a horror snob! I love movies with good, intricate plots and intriguing characters Like Maniac starring Elijah Wood, Black Death, Rosemary’s Baby, Oculus, Kill List . . . I also love horror/SciFi like the classic Alien, and Event Horizon, The Thing, The Fly, Mimic . . . These movies are smart and very entertaining. 😉 xx

      Like

  8. JESS44903 July 7, 2015 at 12:03 pm #

    I love this quote! 🙂

    Thanks for joining Cooking and Crafting with J & J!

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Writer’s Quote Wednesday Weekly Wrap-Up from 7/1/15 | Silver Threading - July 7, 2015

    […] The Writer Next Door […]

    Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

