Writer’s Quote Wednesday – It’s All In The Journey

2 Sep

happy-writer

Colleen Chesebro is a writer, poet, and book reviewer. She hosts an inspiring event every Wednesday on her blog, Silver Threading, called Writer’s Quote Wednesday. Anyone can participate by choosing a quote by a favorite writer and posting it on your blog. Check out her weekly wrap-up and be inspired by all the quotes.

Sometimes we want something so badly that we don’t enjoy the journey toward realizing our goals. We should enjoy every step we take toward our future. Otherwise, what we accomplish won’t taste as sweet.

“It’s so strange how life works: You want something and you wait and wait and feel like it’s taking forever to come. Then it happens and it’s over and all you want to do is curl back up in that moment before things changed.”

~ Lauren Oliver

31 Responses to “Writer’s Quote Wednesday – It’s All In The Journey”

  1. Dave Goodlove September 2, 2015 at 11:19 am #

    So true, Vashti!! I’ll actually be starting a new novel this month about “the journey.”

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 2, 2015 at 4:46 pm #

      Hi Dave! Oh wow! What a happy coincidence! It’s always exciting when you start a new novel, almost as exciting as when you finish one. Congratulations my friend and happy writing! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Silver Threading September 2, 2015 at 11:35 am #

    Vashti! I love this quote so much! It is truly about the journey, isn’t it. Along the way, I have to keep reminding myself that I am grateful for even getting this far! What a lovely, lovely quote. ❤

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 2, 2015 at 4:49 pm #

      Hello Colleen! I’m so happy you liked this quote. I was reading through different quotes and when I came across this one I said, this is it! Loved it too. 😀 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Janice September 2, 2015 at 12:56 pm #

    I relate to your quote and also want to thank you for presenting the challenge so well. Challenge responses often come up in my reader and sometimes it’s not so clear what’s going on.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 2, 2015 at 5:04 pm #

      Hello Janice! Oh, I’m so glad I was able to make the challenge clear. Thanks for letting me know that I did that because I do try. I’m happy you liked the quote too. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. stacilys September 2, 2015 at 3:23 pm #

    Wonderful quote Vashti. I totally agree with this quote. There is definitely joy in the journey, and it’s up to us to live in it. I once wrote a post about living in the now, and not licking the wounds of the past, nor always looking forward to the ‘next big thing’ in the future.
    Wonderful.
    🙂

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 2, 2015 at 5:17 pm #

      Thank you Staci! I want to relish every moment and then if I reach my goal it’s icing on the cake but if I don’t I still enjoyed the journey. Send me the link to your post. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • stacilys September 3, 2015 at 1:44 pm #

        Great Vashti. Me too.
        The link is here:
        https://stacilys.wordpress.com/2014/02/05/now-is-all-weve-got/
        Please note that I wrote this a year and a half ago and it’s not the greatest writing. Eek. 🙂

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 3, 2015 at 4:52 pm #

        I know what you mean. It’s amazing how writers continue to learn, grow and get better (at least those of us that write and read often). I’m constantly revising my short stories. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • stacilys September 4, 2015 at 11:58 am #

        There’s a reason why there’s that saying, “practice makes perfect.” It’s totally true.
        🙂

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 4, 2015 at 1:17 pm #

        It is totally true! I’m proof of that. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin September 2, 2015 at 4:06 pm #

    So very true Vashti, the anticipation and planning is sometimes more exhilarating and the it all comes to fruitition it can sometimes not be exactly what we build it up to be. Still it is always good when goals are achieved 👍🏻

    Like

  6. teagan geneviene September 2, 2015 at 8:06 pm #

    Great quote Vashti. … And so very true. Hugs!

    Like

  7. Sunni Morris September 2, 2015 at 11:18 pm #

    Great quote and so true.

    Like

  8. Prakash Hegade September 3, 2015 at 2:51 pm #

    How true of that. May be that’s why people say happiness is in the beginning and middle. Not at the end.. 🙂

    Like

  9. Tona September 3, 2015 at 7:24 pm #

    I agree I just finished my first book. Its currently on amazon and everything and I feel that I should have taking time to enjoy the journey just a little bit more. I still feel great about the accomplishment but I should have savored more of the moments in between.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 4, 2015 at 12:04 pm #

      Congratulations Tona! Writing and publishing a book is a HUGE accomplishment. Well, now you know for the next time. Meanwhile, have fun with the book reading/signings that come next. What’s the name and genre of your book?

      Like

      • Tona September 7, 2015 at 8:35 pm #

        Thank you so much Vashti. The genre of my book is religious.The name of my book is called Seek Him First and it is a 31 day Devotional with Journal. I will make sure I enjoy every moment.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 8, 2015 at 4:26 pm #

        Sounds like a great project. I wish you all the best, Tona! 😀 xx

        Like

  10. Angela @ Setting My Intention September 4, 2015 at 9:04 pm #

    This is a great idea to share inspiring quotes. Thanks for sharing at the Let’s Get Real Link Up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 8, 2015 at 4:25 pm #

      Hi Angela! It is a cool idea. It was my pleasure sharing my post with you guys! 🙂

      Like

  11. Lynz Real Cooking September 8, 2015 at 11:50 am #

    This is a wonderful idea! nice!

    Like

  12. francisguenette September 9, 2015 at 8:48 pm #

    Oh, Vashti, this quote brings back to mind all those tried and true maxims – be careful what you wish for. The Gods take their revenge by giving us what we wish for. No wonder these sentiments caught on – so often, we have no idea the implications of our hearts’ desires. We only reach the summit of one mountain to discover all the other mountains that march ahead of us. Life – right?

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 9, 2015 at 10:06 pm #

      That’s why we should make the journey worth it. We should have fun instead of taking everything so seriously. 😉

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Writer’s Quote Wednesday Weekly Wrap-Up from 9/3/15 | Silver Threading - September 8, 2015

    […] The Writer Next Door […]

    Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

