Writer’s Quote Wednesday – Writing Without Rules

25 Nov

RonovanWrites-Silver Threading-The Writer Next Door

Welcome to my blog. Colleen Chesebro is a writer, poet, and book reviewer. She hosts an inspiring event every Wednesday on her blog, Silver Threading, called Writer’s Quote Wednesday. Anyone can participate by choosing a quote by a favorite writer and posting it on your blog. Check out her weekly wrap-up every Tuesday and be inspired by all the quotes.

Ronovan, from Ronovan Writes and Colleen have joined forces! He has been linking his #BeWoW blog share (Be Wonderful on Wednesday) now to include: Be Writing on Wednesday. If you would like to combine both posts feel free to do so and link them to Colleen’s post. She will make sure and add you to the quote wrap-up she does each Tuesday. Please make sure and check out Ron’s blog for more writing inspiration and motivation!

quotes-Writer's Quote Wednesday

 Writing style like any other type of style helps writers express who they are. A style reveals both the writer’s personality and voice. That being said, I must admit that I am a bit of a literary rebel. I’ve read many books about the rules of writing, grammar, and punctuation but when I sit down to write, all the rules go out the window. I love learning new things and I’m constantly trying to improve my writing. You can say I’m an avid reader and professional student. I do respect most of the laws of writing but I write as the words flow out of my mind and worry about editing later after my thoughts are expressed. I’m not going to worry about some over-the-top grammarians and I’m going to go ahead and split that infinitive, end a few sentences with propositions (It’s not even clear how never-end-a-sentence-with-a-preposition got to be a rule), I will use sentence fragments (sparingly), and if I’m inspired to write a one sentence paragraph––I shall have no fear. I have lost count of how many amazing books I’ve read, written by writers well known for being great, that break these rules (and more). In all cases, editing comes after my first draft is written. I believe this guarantees my writing is authentic and influenced only by my muse.

 

Happy Thanksgiving Day!

21 Responses to “Writer’s Quote Wednesday – Writing Without Rules”

  1. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin November 25, 2015 at 1:41 pm #

    You go girl!!! That is the way one should write … With freedom of expression and courage. That is why I like to write poetry, it is not as structured X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. olganm November 25, 2015 at 3:13 pm #

    It’s all very well for freedom of speech, but Vashti wants freedom of Writing too. And all of us with her! Have a great Thanksgiving.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 27, 2015 at 12:29 pm #

      Yay! I’m glad you’re with me, Olga! 😉 I had a great Thanksgiving Day and one of the things I’m grateful for is you. 🙂 xx

      Like

  3. Silver Threading November 25, 2015 at 5:44 pm #

    Vashti, I love your quotes about writing style. I am the kind of gal who has no style at all! LOL! Much like you, I try to write what flows out of me when I am being creative, Happy Thanksgiving my friend. Enjoy! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 27, 2015 at 12:31 pm #

      Hi Colleen! You do have a style. It’s just so natural to you that you may not notice it. I had a wonderful Thanksgiving. I hope you did too. 😀 xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Silver Threading November 27, 2015 at 1:28 pm #

        Thank you, Vashti. I did too. Back on Weight Watchers tomorrow, LOL! 😀

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 27, 2015 at 2:41 pm #

        Ha, ha! Yes, we all need to get back on our diets. 😀 xx

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Sunni Morris November 26, 2015 at 7:59 pm #

    Great philosophy for writing. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 27, 2015 at 12:32 pm #

      Thank you Sunni! I’m glad you agree. Did you have a fantastic Thanksgiving? I had a lot of fun with family. 🙂 xx

      Like

      • Sunni Morris November 27, 2015 at 11:52 pm #

        We spent Thanksgiving with some Aussie friends. I don’t have any family in the state where I live, but I did talk to them by phone. It was nice and a beautiful day.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega November 28, 2015 at 9:53 am #

        I’m so glad you had a great Thanksgiving. It’s wonderful when the weather cooperates too. It had been raining all last weekend and beginning of this week and I was stressed because we planned to eat outdoors. But it cleared up on Wednesday and Thanksgiving Day was bright and sunny with a mild cool breeze––wonderful. Thank God!

        Like

  5. Janice December 2, 2015 at 11:50 am #

    I like your approach. It is an irony that once you know the rules it’s good to toss them out the window.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Elusive Trope December 2, 2015 at 4:41 pm #

    Authenticity is all that really matters. Without it, all one has is a product of craft. With it, no amount of rules or rule-breaking will interfere with the piece resonating with the reader(s).

    As I was reading your comments, I initially read “I’m constantly trying to improve my writing.” as “I’m constantly trying to improv my writing.”, which in some way it seems you are trying to do, and which maybe all writers should try to do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega December 4, 2015 at 1:23 am #

      I couldn’t agree more. Rules are important but when your head is reeling with too many rules it can interfere with the message you’re trying to convey. Improvisation is definitely important in the creative process. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. JESS44903 December 4, 2015 at 5:59 pm #

    Love your quotes you share each and every week!

    Thanks for joining Cooking and Crafting with J & J!

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #Writer’s Quote Wednesday & #BeWoW – The Weekly Wrap-Up from 11/25/15 | Silver Threading - December 1, 2015

    […] The Writer Next Door […]

    Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

