Q & A Tag – The Writer Next Door

16 May

Hello everyone! Today I’d like to thank Marjorie Mallon from KYROSMAGICA for nominating me to take part in The Writer Q & A Tag. Marje is a writer, book reviewer, and all around great person. She has a fun and colorful blog that is all about the magic of writing, her love for books, crystals, laughter and much more, so be sure to check it out.

kyrosmagica-The Writer Next Door-Marjorie Mallon-Vashti Q

What’s this tag about? Its a fun tag celebrating writers, bloggers, books, and writing. It is also a great way to discover or know more about our online friends in the writing and blogging communities.

Following are the questions that Marje Mellon prepared for me and my answers.

  1. If you met a sexy vampire what would you do? Hook up, get the garlic and crosses out or run a mile?

 

Hmm. I would interview him.

 

  1. What’s your favorite genre of book and why?

 

I love to read the same genres I write which are fantasy, horror and suspense/thriller. However, I do occasionally read romantic comedies, crime thrillers, and historical fantasies. If someone recommends a book in another genre I may read the first few chapters to see if I like it. I do like to give every book a fighting chance.

halloween-horror-clown-Vashti Q-The Writer Next Door

  1. Who is/are your favorite author (s), poet (s)? What is it about them that inspired you?

 

Stephen King, C.S. Lewis, J. R. R. Tolkien, Dan Brown, Anne Rice, Tom Clancy. I admire these authors’ imagination and ability to tell a good story in a way that I can play it out in my mind in living color.

 

Poets: Emily Dickinson, Maya Angelou, Edgar Allan Poe, and Anne Sexton

 

 

  1. If you had to control a classroom of year 6 kids would you bale, or enjoy the challenge? Would you be (a.) Too undisciplined to do so, you’d just join in the general mayhem, (b.) Enjoy bossy them around, or (c.) Pray in a corner for the bell to sound. Guess which one would be my reply, winners will be mentioned on my blog!

 

I would tell them a story. That has always worked for me with smaller cousins growing up and with my nieces, nephews and their friends when they were younger. I might join in a little bit of mayhem too––as I suspect you would, Marje. 😉

 

  1. What made you become a writer/blogger? Do your family support you or do they think you’re crazy, bored, attention seeking, or all of these? Tell us a bit about your current WIP and/or books…

 

Nothing made me become a writer. I was born and that’s what I am. My family is very supportive.

 

I’m working on a fantasy series about angels. The first book in the series is called The Fall of Lilith. I’m currently working on some structural issues. I’m also writing the second book in the series, Dracúl.

 

  1. What is the most awful job and/or experience you’ve ever done/had?

 

When my husband and I sold our previous home (it sold much faster than we had anticipated) we had to temporarily stay at someone else’s house until our new home was ready. I did not want to stay in this person’s house but my husband had good reasons to stay there, so we did. This was one of the worst experiences of my life. I felt like I’d experience hell. The aura in that house was so dark and negative. One of the people living in the house did everything humanly possible to make our stay as horrible as could be. I never felt so uncomfortable and sad in my life. Leaving there was like escaping from hades. However, this experience has made me appreciate my home and my family so much more, and for that I’m thankful. (I know how dramatic this reads)

 

  1. Are you a plotter or a pantser? Does this spill out onto other parts of your life? Are you generally organised/disorganised? Can you guess what I am?

 

I always start the process as a plotter. Somewhere along the line the pantser takes over. I use an outline, sketches, character diamonds . . . I like to begin the novel in an organized way. As I write things begin to change and I allow the story to unfold in a more organic way. I’m generally an organized person but I do have my messy moments. I would guess you’re a plotter, Marje.

 spiral-festisite-Vashti Q-The Writer Next Door-graphic-art

  1. Do you believe in Ghosts? Fate? Love at First Sight? Fairies? Psychic happenings? Numerology, Mermaids, The Loch Ness Monster, Demons . . . etc. . . . Make your own observations . . . and let me know.

 

Vashti Q-fun-writer-blog-book-author-facebook

I believe in God and if there’s a God there are good and bad forces. I believe in Karma, mind-over-matter, visualization, meditation, perseverance, positive thinking . . . For the rest––if I could see it, hear it, and feel it, then it’s real.

scary-halloween-Vashti Q-The Writer Next Door

 

  1. What is the worst haircut/clothes/hats you’ve ever had/worn? Photos please, or describe in vivid detail…

 

When I was a blonde I had my hair color done and it looked good at the beauty salon but when I got home I noticed there were a few areas where the toner didn’t take. Had it happen in areas that were not noticeable I would have left it alone but the brassy areas where very noticeable so I called the hairstylist and she told me to come back in. Instead of adding toner to the areas that needed it she put bleach over my entire head, including areas that were already bleached! I didn’t think that was right but I figured she knew what she was doing as the professional cosmetologist. Well, all my hair broke off leaving me with about an inch of hair all over my head and maybe an inch and half or two inches in the front. I was at the shampoo bowl when she said, ‘Oh no!’ I looked up at her and she showed me a handful of my hair.

Vashti Q-The Writer Next Door-writer-blogger

  1. Please finish this sentence with more than three extra words: Life is one foot in and one foot out, you . . .

 

. . . never know when your time will come, so live life to the fullest and appreciate what you have and the good people in your life.

I nominate any writer, poet or blogger who’d like to participate in this tag. You can answer Marje’s questions or make up your own. Let me know when you publish your post. Have a great day everyone!

25 Responses to “Q & A Tag – The Writer Next Door”

  1. Ritu May 16, 2016 at 2:11 pm #

    Great answers! !!!

    Like

  2. olganm May 16, 2016 at 2:23 pm #

    I agree! Great answers. I have quite a few posts already programmed. Perhaps I’ll come back to it soon…

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 16, 2016 at 2:25 pm #

      Thank you! It would be very interesting to read your answers to some of these questions, Olga. 😉

      Like

  3. Annette Rochelle Aben May 16, 2016 at 3:41 pm #

    Oh my gosh, ‘house-guest hell’ and ‘hairdo hell’ all in the same lifetime… you have now burnt off a boat load of previous life karma I would say! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. C.S. Wilde May 16, 2016 at 4:28 pm #

    Awesome stuff!

    Like

  5. Marje @ Kyrosmagica May 16, 2016 at 4:42 pm #

    Great answers Vashti, thanks for joining in the tag. Oh, we also stayed in a friend’s house years ago when our house was being built. It was quite an eye opener – we didn’t have any kids at the time – and they had two young ‘uns and it nearly put me off having any!!! So I can totally understand where you’re coming from! It was very stressful, and we had to wait a looonggg time for our house to be ready. So I probably wouldn’t recommend it to others….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 16, 2016 at 6:00 pm #

      It was my pleasure, Marje. Thanks for the nomination. As bad as some kids can be, and I know one that makes Damien Thorn (The Omen) seem angelic, I don’t think a child could compare to this person. The woman I’m talking about could spin her head 360˚ and hurl pea soup. 😮
      All jokes aside, I would never do it again. I wouldn’t recommend it either.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. JESS44903 May 17, 2016 at 1:30 pm #

    Such a neat series!

    Thanks for joining Cooking and Crafting with J & J!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Denis1950 May 18, 2016 at 1:44 am #

    Some brave sharing there Vashti. I hope your karma has got through its speed humps.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Mrs. AOK May 20, 2016 at 12:49 am #

    I enjoyed learning a little more about you. I totally believe in karma, I’m hoping I’ll get some good karma coming my way…. 🙂
    I love Edgar Allan Poe and I sleep with Stephen King’s On Writing next to me on my nightstand. It’s funny that I can no longer handle horror movies or books…
    I like the blonde… HOTTIE! I’ve been blind, but not super blonde.
    XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 20, 2016 at 2:02 pm #

      It’s so cool that we have so much in common! Aww. You’re too sweet. I had never had my hair that short or that blonde before that day. When I saw myself I almost had a heart-attack. It didn’t help when my mother-in-law saw me and told me that I looked like I was on drugs. I felt so bad and so ugly. I finally got used to it after a couple of months when it had grown out some. Thank God my hair grows fast. I was paranoid to color it for a while afraid it would all fall out again. My hair is very strong and healthy now since I deep condition it once a week, every week and I’ve been letting it grow out with my natural color. Giving it a rest. You have a great day and weekend! 🙂 ❤

      Like

  9. dgkaye May 23, 2016 at 4:48 pm #

    Fantastic reading more about you Vashti. I can identify with your story of living in ‘Hades’. When my ‘radar’ lets me know something is off, it’s never wrong. Great post as always. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 25, 2016 at 10:44 am #

      Hello Debby! I’m glad you can relate, although I’m sorry you had to go through a similar experience. Some people don’t understand because you really have to go through the same situation in order to identify with it. I have a good radar also the problem is that I don’t follow my instincts sometimes when I should. Thank you very much! ❤ xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • dgkaye May 25, 2016 at 1:09 pm #

        Well I hope you start paying attention to your instincts; they hardly fail us. I know there’s nothing worse than being somewhere your heart doesn’t feel right in. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      • Gaye @CalmHealthySexy May 26, 2016 at 12:39 pm #

        Hi Vashti – I hope that all is well with you. Thanks for linking up with the Let’s Get Real party.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 30, 2016 at 7:26 pm #

        Hi Gaye! All is well. Thank you. I hope you’re having a great long weekend. 🙂

        Like

      • Gaye @CalmHealthySexy May 26, 2016 at 12:40 pm #

        We should trust our instincts. They rarely let us down. I don’t always follow this advice, but I try!

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega May 30, 2016 at 7:21 pm #

        I agree, Gaye and I’m doing much better with that now. 🙂 Thank you!

        Like

  10. jaye22 June 5, 2016 at 2:50 pm #

    Hi Vashti
    Such a fun & interesting post, love your answers, thank you for sharing X X X

    Liked by 1 person

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

