Writers Quote Wednesday – REBIRTH

15 Jun

It’s the middle of the week and that means it’s time for Writers Quote Wednesday. Today’s prompt word/theme was chosen by Colleen Chesebro of Silver Threading. The word is Rebirth. When I first read the prompt I thought, ‘What the heck am I going to do with this word?’ Then I thought of vampires. After all, they do die and are reborn into their new nightly form, but I had already used vampire for Haiku Friday

I think we have all heard stories of people who were pronounced dead for a few minutes and then were brought back. I’m intrigued by these stories of people who died and claim to have had a glimpse of the afterlife, so I’ve decided to share some of the more bizarre tales of people coming back from the dead.

Kevin Santos, Brazilian Boy Pronounced Dead, Briefly Resurrected To Ask For Water . . . 

Little Kelvin Santos, 2, died a couple of weeks ago — or so his parents were told — while being treated for pneumonia. The child’s devastated family held a wake through the night. Then, an hour before the funeral was to begin, Kelvin sat up in his open coffin, and said, “Daddy, can I have some water?”

 

Dead Man Wakes Up In His Grave in Yemen

A 65-year-old heart attack victim in Yemen had been washed and wrapped in special cloth, according to Muslim tradition. Mourners had placed him in his grave, and were preparing to cover him with dirt, when the man suddenly came to. He was not amused.

 

Chinese Woman, 95, Comes Back to Life . . . 

Two weeks after falling and suffering a head injury, Li Xiufeng, 95, was found lying motionless in her home by a neighbor. The friend couldn’t wake her up. She was placed in a coffin and, according to local custom, was supposed to rest there for several days before the funeral. A day before the burial, her neighbor went to check on the coffin, and Li was gone.

 

Dead Man Wakes Up During His Own Autopsy

A Venezuelan man, Carlos Camejo, was declared dead after a highway accident in 2007. Before his wife could arrive to identify the body, medical examiners began an autopsy. Camejo who had been declared dead woke up in the morgue in excruciating pain after medical examiners began an autopsy.

 

When I Died and Came Back, I Left Something on the Other Side

Guido is my 75-year-old family friend. He’s been a lot of things in his life—a vigilante, a medicine man, a world-renowned visual artist. He would come over to my parents’ house when I was a kid with a loaded pistol in the waistband of his shorts. He used to live in Guatemala but recently moved off his land to chill out in Arizona. I went to visit him, and he told me about the time he died.

 

To Heaven and Back

While in the coma, Julie had been given a glimpse of heaven.

My journey begins

I sail black waves through soft mists

Paid the ferry man

His bony arms row the boat

To my final resting place

“You know Americans are obsessed with life and death and rebirth, that’s the American Cycle. You know, awakening, tragic, horrible death and then Phoenix rising from the ashes. That’s the American story, again and again.”

~Billy Corgan

Writers Quote Wednesday Writing Challenge is sponsored by Colleen Chesebro of Silver Threading and Ronovan Hester of Ronovan Writes. Anyone can participate by choosing a quote by a favorite writer then, write a short piece of flash fiction or poetry to share with us all. You can include photos, photo quotes, or anything else that helps to highlight your quote. Have fun with it! This week’s theme chosen by Ronovan is REBIRTH.

26 Responses to “Writers Quote Wednesday – REBIRTH”

  1. coldhandboyack June 15, 2016 at 12:47 pm #

    Looks like you did quite a bit with the word rebirth.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Silver Threading June 15, 2016 at 1:36 pm #

    Vashti! How delightfully scary! I love your creativity and take on the word, rebirth. This is just fabulous! I love all the stories about this stuff actually happens to people. WOW! Of course, there are medical conditions that warrant some of their behavior. I even read that some people who are (really) dead in the morgue even have involuntary muscle contractions! Spooky! ❤

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega June 15, 2016 at 2:12 pm #

      Yes! There are some really spooky things that happen in real life and some just can’t be explained. I’m glad you liked my take on rebirth. I was worried that you might think it was too morbid, but that’s where my mind went, so I went with it. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. stacilys June 15, 2016 at 1:57 pm #

    Oh wow. Those are some wild stories. Especially the guy in the morgue. That’s gotta be freaky.
    Hope you are well Vashti.
    🙂

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega June 15, 2016 at 2:09 pm #

      Hi Staci! All is well over here. I hope you’re doing good too. Yes, those are some freaky stories. The one that affected me the most was the one about the little boy. That was really bizarre. 😮

      Liked by 1 person

      • stacilys June 16, 2016 at 10:43 am #

        Yea, tell me about it.
        Have a great Thursday Vashti.
        🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  4. 1stpeaksteve June 15, 2016 at 2:01 pm #

    That was a quite a read!

    I was for a short time in a coma and when I woke up I was kind of shocked to find myself in the CDC room. I have tried to conjure up some kind of profound images from the experience but sadly only remember losing my marbles in the emergency room and later waking up. Maybe a real sign that it was not yet my time to check out.

    I can live with that!

    Like

  5. olganm June 15, 2016 at 2:45 pm #

    Very poetic. I love the stories. Thanks, Vashti

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega June 15, 2016 at 2:50 pm #

      Hi Olga! I hope all is going well with you. Thank you! I’m happy you enjoyed the post. 😀 xx

      Like

  6. Annette Rochelle Aben June 15, 2016 at 7:41 pm #

    Awesome! I appreciate your post, for it has actually given me a grand idea. 🙂

    Like

  7. dgkaye June 20, 2016 at 7:22 pm #

    That was an eye opening post on rebirth Vashti. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. jacquelineobyikocha June 21, 2016 at 1:07 pm #

    Woo! This is so delightfully spooky.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega June 21, 2016 at 3:33 pm #

      Isn’t it? I’m fascinated by these stories. Ha, ha! I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

      Like

  9. Marje @ Kyrosmagica June 22, 2016 at 3:26 am #

    OMG! That autopsy one was horrifying!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. JESS44903 June 22, 2016 at 2:44 pm #

    So great! 🙂

    Thanks for joining Cooking and Crafting with J & J!

    Liked by 1 person

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.

