Image

Reflecting on 2013

7 Jan

Gaylord Palms_Vashti Quiroz-Vega's Blog

2013 flew by! Where did it go? It’s been 10 months since I started this blog. Yesterday was ‘Epiphany’ Day and I was thinking about the stories and articles I’ve written, as well as the awesome guests I’ve featured and decided to do a re-cap of my most popular 2013 posts. Take a look and enjoy!

 

 

My most popular articles:

This is my most popular post to date. It is a chapter from my novel ‘The Basement’. If you have not read it and you’d like to, click on the illustration below.

It’s Only Water? Tell That To A Drowning Boy.

The Basement by Vashti Quiroz-Vega

Illustration for The Basement by Denise Spencer

 

 

In this next piece, I wrote about an experience I had while at the Supermarket. Many people seemed to relate to my experience and it became one of my most popular posts. (Click on picture if you’d like to read it)

Am I A Sucker?

Sad-man-via-Shutterstock

 

 

 

This is an article I wrote after contemplating all the weird weather phenomena happening around the world.

How Will The World End?

How will the world end?

 

 

 

I wrote this next article after looking around on Tumblr and noticing the underlying sadness in many of the teens’ comments.

Why So Sad?

depressed teenagers

 

 

 

I wrote this piece after a very stressful and frustrating experience packing up my house and moving. It turned out to be funny.

Hello Stress!

Moving

 

 

I posted the following article in November and it turned out to be the most popular of my recipe posts.

One Of My Favorite Words: Scrumptious.

Table settings

 

 

 

 

 

My Short Stories:

This short story is one of my most popular and it was my first attempt at writing a Romance.

It Happened In An Elevator

It Happened In An Elevator

This next Romance short story followed.

When A Stranger Leaves An Imprint

Taylor Kitsch

 

 

 

For the month of October I promised some creepy stories (my specialty-Horror) and the next two short stories were born.

TERROR

Resin_Enchanted_Doll_by_Marina_B

Raven’s Masterpiece

Raven's Masterpiece

 

 

 

Of course I had to write at least one Christmas story for the month of December. Let’s just say it is a different kind of Christmas story.

A Christmas That Almost Wasn’t

Muscle Santa Claus

 

 

 

I’ve been blessed to have had many talented and interesting guest bloggers and spotlights on my blog. I will list the most popular, but please take a look around and enjoy all the writers, poets, bloggers and artists I’ve featured and interviewed because they are all truly awesome.

 

 

Reading Glendon’s story made me cry like a baby (again). I couldn’t help thinking of my father who’s not feeling great these days. It’s a lovely short story.

Disconnected by Glendon Perkins

feel_pain_2_______by_mehmeturgut

Photograph by Mehmeturgut

Check out Glendon Perkins’ Blog here.

 

 

Jackson Baer talks about an issue close to my heart–bullying.

Bullies – Broken People by Jackson Baer

Bullies

Check out Jackson Baer’s Blog here.

 

 

Alana exposes the truth about female friendships in her book ‘Women Behaving Badly’.

Women Behaving Badly by Alana Munro

Women Behaving Badly

Check out Alana Munro’s Blog here.

 

 

This touching poem will cause an earthquake in your heart.

Man Without A Name by Kay Leez

Man Without A Name

Connect with Kay Leez’ here.

 

 

Read about the fascinating (and opinionated) Miss Jazz

Q & A With Non-Fiction Writer Jasveena Prabhagaran

Jasveena Prabhagaran

Visit Jasveena’s Blog here.

 

 

I challenged Dyane Forde to write a Christmas story using certain prompts. Well, she blew me away with her short story! Check it out! Not your ordinary Christmas story.

Dyane Forde’s Christmas Challenge

The Purple Morrow

Visit Dyane Forde’s Blog here.

 

 

One of my ‘New Year’ resolutions is to focus more on my writing. I would like to write more short stories for this blog and finish my works in progress ‘Lilith’ and ‘Dracul’ (tentative titles). I hope to continue receiving in 2014 all the love, support and encouragement I’ve received in 2013. I truly appreciate you all and I promise to give you my best efforts and hope that’s enough to keep you entertained. Love you all!

What are some of your New Year resolutions?

New Year resolutions for 2014

41 Responses to “Reflecting on 2013”

  1. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin January 7, 2014 at 5:46 pm #

    All great posts Vashti, it was good to revisit. May 2014 be just as intersting and varied xx

    Like

  2. Teagan Kearney January 7, 2014 at 6:11 pm #

    A lively year – reflected in your lovely posts. I look forward to more of your posts – and recipes – this coming year!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 7, 2014 at 7:44 pm #

      Hi Teagan! That’s great to hear (read)! Thank you very much. I look forward to your awesome comments. 😉

      Like

  3. Zee January 7, 2014 at 7:31 pm #

    I remember that “Why So Sad?” really spoke to me. You’ve done so well for just 10 months!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 7, 2014 at 7:42 pm #

      Hi Zee! Thank you very much! I’m going to continue to work hard to create good content for this blog and I love doing it. Happy New Year!

      Like

      • Zee January 7, 2014 at 7:44 pm #

        And a happy new year to you, too!

        Like

  4. Doreen Sargente January 7, 2014 at 8:12 pm #

    I ALWAYS enjoy visiting your blog and getting caught up in your interesting stories. You are truly talented and it’s been such an honor to share the blogosphere with you.

    I read most of the above posts, but it looks like I’ve missed one or two so will check them out right now.

    Continued success in 2014 Vashti!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 8, 2014 at 5:32 pm #

      Hello Doreen, you have no idea how happy your words just made me. Thank you so much! All the best for you and your loved ones in 2014 and all the years to come. 😀 xx

      Like

  5. Katie Cross January 8, 2014 at 10:02 am #

    A review of your posts is a great idea! What is that picture at the beginning? It reminded me of that big hotel in Nashville, and I can’t even remember what it’s called 🙂

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 8, 2014 at 5:38 pm #

      Hi Katie! Thank you! It’s the Gaylord Palms in Orlando, Florida. I took that picture in the Key West section of the hotel. I love the reflection of the ship on the water at night with all the lights. 🙂

      Like

  6. Jessica January 9, 2014 at 4:30 am #

    A very cool summary of your year. I look forward to reading more!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 9, 2014 at 1:30 pm #

      Hello Jessica! Thank you very much. I will work hard not to disappoint. 😀

      Like

  7. Shawna January 9, 2014 at 10:05 am #

    Some great stories and photos! I was wondering the same thing about your photo, great pic of the hotel and reflection of the ship, it made me really study it to figure it out. Thank you for sharing it on our Four Seasons Blog Hop. Pinning now.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 9, 2014 at 12:58 pm #

      Hi Shawna! I’m so glad you enjoyed the post. It was my pleasure to share it with you guys. Thank you very much! 😀

      Like

  8. Sandra January 10, 2014 at 12:24 am #

    Thanks for posting on the Four Seasons Blog Hop! Sandra from Scruptilicious 4 You!

    Like

  9. Alana Munro - The Author Who Supports January 10, 2014 at 12:58 am #

    What a great way to showcase your year! Good stuff! And thanks so much for mentioning me. YAY! One of my highlights was connecting with you and the other awesome peeps we know online. 🙂

    Like

  10. Tish Farrell January 14, 2014 at 3:54 am #

    What a great round-up of your creative year, Vashti. Happy 2014!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 14, 2014 at 10:19 am #

      Thank you very much Tish! I’m glad you enjoyed it. Happy New Year! 😀

      Like

  11. times day January 15, 2014 at 12:27 pm #

    My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web page
    and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see
    so now i am following you. Look forward to going over your web page for a second time.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 15, 2014 at 9:11 pm #

      That’s great! Thank you. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit. I will work hard not to disappoint. 😉

      Like

  12. Summers Acres January 15, 2014 at 9:31 pm #

    Thanks for sharing with us at The HomeAcre Hop!

    Please join us again Thursday at:
    http://summersacres.blogspot.com/

    ~Ann

    Like

  13. Ashwin January 18, 2014 at 8:51 am #

    Interesting posts, Vashti. I could now easily navigate to the unread posts. I’m waiting to read more of your short stories in the near future.
    Keep writing!
    Cheers!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 19, 2014 at 1:08 pm #

      Hi Ashwin! That’s awesome, thank you, I’ll look forward to your feedback. 🙂

      Like

  14. April Grant January 19, 2014 at 9:55 pm #

    I remember most of these, but I will definitely have to go back and catch up on the ones that I didn’t already read! Thanks for sharing and linking up with Countdown in Style! Don’t forget to come back on Friday to see if you were featured!

    ~~April~~
    100lbCountdown.com

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 20, 2014 at 1:06 pm #

      Hi April! Thank you so much for reading. It’s my pleasure linking up with Countdown in Style. See you on Friday! 😀

      Like

  15. Jill F. January 21, 2014 at 10:58 am #

    Such a variety! Thanks for joining the Thumping Thursday bloghop.

    Like

  16. Brittnei Washington January 21, 2014 at 5:52 pm #

    I really enjoyed the Am I A Sucker? post. It looks like you had a wonderful year. Thanks for sharing the recap with us at Countdown in Style! xo

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 21, 2014 at 10:14 pm #

      It was my pleasure Brittnei. Thank you for stopping by. I don’t mind if you make it a habit. Ha.ha! 😉

      Like

  17. Terri Henkels January 22, 2014 at 9:55 am #

    I had to stop by and check out your reflection on 2013. There are some of your posts I missed along the way that really peaked my interest so I will be visiting some of last year’s posts. I was especially intrigued by the Why So Sad and Hello Stress.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 22, 2014 at 11:54 am #

      Hi Terri! Thank you for checking it out and for sharing the post on Google+. I appreciate your support. I hope you enjoy those posts and come back for more. 😉

      Like

  18. beingawordsmith January 28, 2014 at 2:29 pm #

    Pinning this so I can go back and check out all of your short stories and writings of the others. Thank you for sharing this on Traffic Jam Weekend, Vashti!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega January 28, 2014 at 10:14 pm #

      Thank you Kimberly! That’s very cool. I hope you enjoyed the stories and articles. It was my pleasure linking up on the Traffic Jam Weekend! 😀

      Like

  19. Gaye @CalmHealthySexy March 24, 2014 at 12:15 pm #

    Hi Vashti – Thanks for sharing with the Let’s Get Real party. I look forward to checking out more of your writing.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega March 24, 2014 at 12:34 pm #

      Hello Gaye! It was fun joining the Lets Get Real Party. Thank you for having me and for the visit. I look forward to your feedback. 😀

      Like

  20. Denyse @ Glitter, Glue & Paint March 30, 2014 at 7:27 pm #

    Hi Vashti! It’s amazing how fast 2013 went and now we are heading into April 2014 already. Blogging time does fly. Thanks for sharing at Throwback Thursday.

    xoxo
    Denyse

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega March 30, 2014 at 9:32 pm #

      Hello Denyse! You’re so right! It was my pleasure sharing my post on ‘Throwback Thursday’! Have a great week! 😀

      Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.