Image

15 Questions for Katie Cross

6 Sep

15 Questions for Katie Cross

It is my pleasure to present to you today the dulcet, funny, and talented writer Katie Cross. This pretty young woman is witty and charming and well worth your attention because she’s headed for big things with her writing.

In her words…

In a perfect world, my husband and I would live in a cabin in the mountains, my dogs would never have to be on a leash, and I could go trail running every morning. I’m obsessed with eating peanut butter on a spoon. I’m ridiculously attracted to my husband, and I’m madly in love with my vizslas. I weight lift because it makes me more of a girl and wear yoga pants almost everyday because they are comfortable.

My current work in progress is a YA fantasy book named Miss Mabel’s School for Girls. It will be my first book (squee!). I’m on the 8,000th round of edits and hoping to self-publish by the end of the year. Hope springs eternal, right?

I’ve written a lot of synopsis’s for it, but this is my favorite so far: mostly because it’s really short!

Fifteen-year-old Bianca starts school as a first-year student at Miss Mabel’s School for Girls, entering into a Competition to be the personal assistant to the powerful witch Miss Mabel. Years before, Miss Mabel set a curse on her family that Bianca is determined to break.

From the inside.

      Fascinating story Katie!

Katie Cross - Author Interview - Vashti Quiroz-Vega's Blog

Q & A with Katie Cross

1- What makes you laugh?

My puppy when he runs face-first into a wall, and Chuck Wendig. His blog kills me. I think I almost fractured a rib laughing at it the other day.

 

 

            Wow! I’ll have to look him up.

 

2- What makes you cry?

Oh, I am the main reason I cry. I’m my own worst enemy, and I’m in my own head far too much.

3- What is the loveliest thing you have ever seen? (Something that touched you). 

One night when my husband and I were laying in bed he thanked me for being his best friend in an offhand way, right before he fell asleep. I’ve never been the same, and I haven’t seen traditional love stories the same ever since.

Katie and hubby 

         Awww. That’s so moving.

 

4- Have you ever found true love?

Heck yes. And it’s riddled with sarcasm, dirty dishes, and slaps on the butt.

 

 

         Ha, ha! I love that Katie!

 

5- How do you feel about being interviewed?

I like it better than the paparazzi that surround my house everyday. Just kidding. I always feel bad for the poor saps who read my interviews.

 

 

         What? Why? I’m sure everyone’s enjoying your wittiness right about now.

 

6- What do you do for a living? What’s your day job?

I’m a nurse and writer, but I refer to myself more as fixer-of-the-always-broken-ice-maker and best-damn-cookie-eater-in-the-world. I’d also really loved to get paid to work out, because then I think I’d do it more consistently.

 

         Ha, ha! See what I mean? Funny girl! I’ve noticed there are a lot of writers in the medical field. Hmmm.

 

7- Do you laugh at your own jokes?

Seriously, I’m funny. I crack myself up. 

 

8- What was the greatest thing you learned in school?

Never allow your sixth grade teacher to call you ‘fro girl.’ It sets a bad tone for your relationship with your hair over the rest of your life.

           Bad Teacher!

            

9- How much impact does your childhood have on your writing?

Can that be measured? It’s like asking if the first twelve years of life had any bearing on the next twelve. It all starts there, right?

 

            You’re right.

 

10- Have you ever read or seen yourself as a character in a book or a movie?

Yes, and that character scared the crap out of me.

 

            Wait a minute. You’re going to leave us hanging? Alright, lets move on.

 

11- Do you ever blog/write naked?

No, but great idea! I sit on a wooden chair. That doesn’t sound all that comfortable. 

 

            No. I’ll send you a chair cushion for Christmas. ;D

 

12- Do you consider yourself an author? Why/Why not?

Yes, but only because I force myself to acknowledge a reality that I don’t always appreciate. (Read: yes, but I’m totally in denial about it)

13- Tell us about your work in progress.

It’s a YA fantasy novel called Miss Mabel’s School for Girls. The book is about a fifteen-year-old girl named Bianca who enters a competition to win the chance to become the personal pupil to the powerful Head Witch Miss Mabel. Years earlier, Miss Mabel set a curse on Bianca’s family that has deadly consequences. Bianca hopes to win the Competition and bargain with Miss Mabel for the chance to take away the curse.

 

But nothing is ever what it seems.

 

For the record, I really hate writing summaries about my book.

 

         That must be a writer thing.

 

14- How do you see your future as a writer?

Hopefully it looks a lot like it does now: me typing away on my computer with a lot of random ideas in my head.

15- Tell us one of your guilty pleasures.

Oh man, can I narrow that down? I’m going to go with almond flour chocolate chip cookies. I can eat that stuff until it comes out my ears. Or ice. I love to chew ice. 

 

            Hmmm. I’ll have to try almond flour chocolate chip cookies.

Almond flour cookies! Yum! Chomp,chomp!

Sorry Katie, I couldn’t help myself. :/

Thanks again for this chance, Vashti!

It was my pleasure Katie! xx

Katie and Beau

If you’d like to connect with Katie Cross follow the links below. Visit her blog, and be entertained with her interesting posts.

Katie’s Blog:  KCross Writing

Google+

Twitter

24 Responses to “15 Questions for Katie Cross”

  1. Glen September 6, 2013 at 12:51 am #

    Hahaha, what great and fun interview ladies. Careful of wood slivers from that chair.

    Like

  2. Dyane September 6, 2013 at 1:22 am #

    Ah, Katie! You are so witty! It’s great to meet you like this. 🙂

    Like

  3. Kim Hodges September 6, 2013 at 3:11 am #

    This is one of the funniest interviews i have read. It makes me want to check out Katie’s blog immediately. Thanks Vashti…

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 6, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

      Hi Kim! Thank you! I’m so happy you enjoyed it. Katie made the process a lot of fun. You should check out her blog. 🙂 xx

      Like

    • Katie Cross September 6, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

      Kim, this is one of the best responses I’ve ever had to an interview 😉 Come on by anytime!

      Like

  4. saracsnider September 6, 2013 at 5:30 am #

    What a great interview. Katie always makes me laugh and it was nice getting to know a little more about her. It’s great hearing a bit about her book, too. I’ve wondered what it’s about and it sounds really interesting.

    I can totally relate to hating writing book summaries. I’m getting to the point where I need to start writing one of my own and I’m DREADING it. :/

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 6, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

      Hi Sara! Thank you for stopping by. I’m glad you enjoyed the interview. Katie made it fun for sure. Lots of writers hate writing book summaries, synopsis, and blurbs. I hear it all the time (me included). For my first book I had my editor write a synopsis, but I hated it, and ended up writing it myself anyway. It’s a necessary evil I guess. No one knows our story and characters as well as we do especially early on. Good luck and happy writing. 😉

      Like

    • Katie Cross September 6, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

      Oh Sara, Sara. I love you here and there 😉

      Let’s throw a pity party. I have to write the blurb for the back of my book tonight. Sigh.

      Like

      • saracsnider September 7, 2013 at 9:53 am #

        I’ll bring the chips and dip. 😉

        Like

  5. Katie Cross September 6, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

    Vashti, it looks great! Thanks again. You know I love haunting your blog, so it’s great (maybe a bit weird) to come see my own face on it! Ha ha!

    You rock, my friend!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 6, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

      The interview would not have been anywhere near as fun without your sparkling, tongue-in-cheek answers, which I enjoyed immensely. You made it entertaining my friend. Jollification! 😉

      Like

  6. Jasveena September 6, 2013 at 3:42 pm #

    I must say I love this interview so much because I love the two ladies, the interviewer and the interviewee veryyyy much!!! Great interview and it is good to know about you lovely Katie!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 6, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

      Awww! Love you too Jassie. I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

      Like

    • Katie Cross September 6, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

      Aw, my world favorite Jasveena! It’s moments like this that I feel like we’re so connected, even though I’m not in Malaysia with you and wish I was!

      Like

  7. Murees Dupé September 7, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

    Katie is just the best and she is super funny.

    Like

  8. Rosey September 8, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

    What a great interview personality! This was fun. Thank you for linking it to Super Sunday Sync!

    Like

  9. Diane (@MamalDiane) September 9, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

    Great interview! Thanks for joining us this week at the Let’s Get Social Sunday party! Have a wonderful week.

    Like

  10. Manhattan Image and Style November 13, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

    Great interview! I enjoyed reading it!! 🙂

    Diana
    http://www.ManhattanImageandStyle.com
    New Blog Post: Cheer Up Your Mood With Your Clothes

    Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.