Poetry Friday ~ Photo Prompt

20 Mar

Welcome, everyone! I’m thrilled to have you visit. It’s the 3rd week of the month, and that means we have a photo prompt. Colleen’s 2020 Poetry Prompt Challenge.

Padre, from Padre’s Ramblings, provided the photo for this month’s challenge.

Here’s my contribution for this week, a Butterfly Cinquain:

I Prefer a Book

tempted

by the Autumn

that labored to make it

thoughts of the soil and its duty

and the

full bellies of

grapes who hang on to vines

that twirl and reach to the heavens

s o r r y.

“Reading—the best state yet to keep absolute loneliness at bay.”

—William Styron

Photo by Tim Rebkavets @timreb9

“Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere.” —Mary Schmich

I know there are many people who are self-quarantined or in mandatory isolation due to the coronavirus. Don’t despair. Grab a book, and meet some fascinating characters, walk in their shoes and take an extraordinary journey. I wish everyone a calm, safe and happy Friday and weekend.

31 Responses to “Poetry Friday ~ Photo Prompt”

  1. John W. Howell March 20, 2020 at 2:27 pm #

    Super post, Vashti. Have a great weekend and stay well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lisakunk March 20, 2020 at 2:40 pm #

    Ever lonely with a book. Yep.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q March 20, 2020 at 3:17 pm #

      That’s right! Thanks for stopping by, Lisa. 😀

      Like

  3. Annette Rochelle Aben March 20, 2020 at 3:21 pm #

    Carry on, reading and writing! Cheers!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. coldhandboyack March 20, 2020 at 3:42 pm #

    All the best to you in these troubling times.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. yvettemcalleiro March 20, 2020 at 6:08 pm #

    I, too, prefer a book, but I won’t complain if I have a book in one hand and a glass of wine in the other. 😉

    Like

    • Vashti Q March 20, 2020 at 7:50 pm #

      🤣There are times that I feel the same. Cheers!🍷📚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Vashti Q March 22, 2020 at 6:05 pm #

        Awww❣️Thank you so much for the kind words, Gwen. I appreciate you. I will definitely continue writing. You take good care of yourself, and have a safe and fabulous new week.💛❤️💛

        Liked by 1 person

  6. judeitakali March 21, 2020 at 2:21 am #

    A thrilling adventure and spicy crisps for me. I really enjoyed your posts Vee

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q March 22, 2020 at 6:09 pm #

      I could go for some spicy crisps right now.😍 Thank you, my friend! I enjoy your visits.

      Like

  7. Gwen M. Plano March 21, 2020 at 10:41 am #

    You are a beautiful writer, Vashti. Stay healthy and write! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q March 22, 2020 at 6:06 pm #

      Awww❣️Thank you so much for the kind words, Gwen. I appreciate you. I will definitely continue writing. You take good care of yourself, and have a safe and fabulous new week.💛❤️💛

      Like

  8. D. Wallace Peach March 21, 2020 at 12:33 pm #

    Lovely poem, Vashti. And your advice to grab a book is perfect. Take care. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q March 22, 2020 at 6:01 pm #

      I’m thrilled that you enjoyed the poem, Diana. Thank you! You take good care of yourself, too. 🌸💗🌸

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Jan Sikes March 21, 2020 at 12:41 pm #

    What a beautiful poem! And yes! Reading books should be at the top of everyone’s list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q March 22, 2020 at 6:00 pm #

      Thank you, Jan❣️I’m happy you liked the poem. We’ve had some beautiful days here in south Florida so we’ve been taking advantage of the weather and doing our reading and working outside. Have a wonderful new week.

      Like

  10. dgkaye March 21, 2020 at 10:23 pm #

    Loved this, and great advice! Stay safe my friend.! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Colleen M. Chesebro March 22, 2020 at 2:49 pm #

    Great advice, Sis. We’ve been painting the inside of the house! I’m off for a few days… worn out. LOL! Happy weekend. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q March 22, 2020 at 5:55 pm #

      Happy Sunday, Sis! We’ve been doing some home projects, as well. Don’t wear yourself out. Get some me time. The weather here has been gorgeous. We’ve been reading, writing and working outside in our screened back porch. It’s been serene and wonderful. Thank you, and have a fabulous new week!🥰

      Liked by 1 person

      • Colleen M. Chesebro March 22, 2020 at 8:52 pm #

        So glad to hear that you are well. 😍 Hug that sweet Scribbles for me. ❤️❤️❤️

        Liked by 1 person

  12. memadtwo March 23, 2020 at 9:59 pm #

    Reading is a perfect escape. and we all need one these days. (K)

    Liked by 1 person

  13. markbierman March 27, 2020 at 7:35 am #

    Lovely cinquain, Vashti. Reading is always a good escape, especially when you’ve got nowhere else to go. Stay safe and healthy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vashti Q March 27, 2020 at 10:32 am #

      I’m happy you enjoyed the poem, Mark. Thank you. You’re absolutely right. You do the same, my friend! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.