I Love Animals!

13 Sep
Whale by Brian Skerry (Photograph)

Whale by Brian Skerry (Photograph)

 

I just got a puppy, and I’d like to introduce you to the new addition to my family. His name is ‘Scribbles’ and he’s a Pomeranian with a rare wolf sable color. I had forgotten how active puppies can be. He has me running in circles, but boy, do I love this little guy––already!

scribbles_puppy_pomeranian
Scribbles

So in honor of Scribbles, I decided to write a post about animals. I love people, I really do, but sometimes I wonder if I don’t love animals more. Everyone who knows me well knows that I have great affection and respect for animals. I even incorporate them into my stories.

 

 

I found this online, and I thought it would be invaluable information for any dog owner.

 

Interview With A Dog

the silence is broken

 

We asked a dog to pull aside the shroud of secrecy and be interviewed. He asked that his name not be used, but for the good of all dogs he agreed to share these ten insights with humans.

 

1) My life is likely to last 10-15 years. Any separation from you will be painful to me. Remember that before you buy me.

 

2) Give me some time to understand what you want from me.

 

3) Place your trust in me. It’s crucial to my well-being.

 

4) Don’t be angry with me for long, and don’t isolate me as punishment. You have your work, your entertainment and your friends. I only have you.

 

5) Talk to me sometimes. Even if I don’t understand your words––I understand your voice.

 

6) Be aware that however you treat me, I will not be able to forget it.

 

7) Remember before you hit me that I have powerful teeth, but I choose not to use them.

 

8) Before you scold me for being uncooperative, obstinate or lazy, ask yourself if something might be wrong with me. Perhaps I’m not getting the right food, or I’ve been out in the sun too long, or my heart is getting older and weaker.

 

9) Take care of me when I get old. You’ll be old one day.

 

10) Go with me on difficult journeys. Never say: “I can’t watch, it’s too painful.” Everything is easier when you are with me.

 

               And through it all:

                 Remember that I love you. 

 

Here are some more reasons I love animals so much:

In a world lacking empathy and compassion animals put us humans to shame. 

True compassion: Elephants are among the most emotional creatures in the world. They have been known to rescue other animals.

True compassion: Elephants are among the most emotional creatures in the world. They have been known to rescue other animals.

Watch this video 

 

 

Animals are so loving and affectionate.   They each have their own personality and they know how to express themselves.

Sweet Capybaras

Sweet Capybaras

 

 

 

Donkeys

Donkeys

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Someone was very missed.

Someone was missed a whole lot!

Gorilla admiring the beauty of a butterfly.

Gorilla admiring the beauty of a butterfly.

 

 

 

 

leopard

Peek-A-Boo

kitty cat enjoying the sun's rays

Kitty enjoying the sun’s rays.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Blue Orchid Mantis (Hymenopus coronatus) Strike a pose! Ha,ha!

Blue Orchid Mantis (Hymenopus coronatus) Strike a pose! Ha,ha!

 

 

 

 

 

Smooches

Kisses for baby.

 

 

 

 

 

 

lion and dog

Bffs

Someone has to do it . . .

Someone has to do it . . .

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Animals enjoy nature more than we do.

thirsty little humming bird

Nothing like cooling off after a long flight.

 

 

 

 

Weeee!

Weeee!

 

 

 

 

 

When was the last time you enjoyed a sunset?

When was the last time you enjoyed a sunset

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enjoying the flowers

Enjoying the flowers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Look at me mommy!

Look what I can do mommy!

 

 

 

 

Ahhh! Fresh powder!

Arctic Fox – Ahhh! Fresh powder! That’s snow for all you non-skiers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Animals are funny and entertaining.

chomp

Never give up! We could learn a lesson from this little turtle.

no drinking and flying

Hey! No drinking and flying!

smooch-baby-giraffe

Moooom! Not in front of the humans!

panda bear playing in the snow snooping around sloth

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

anteater

Anteater (Vermilingua) – They say red wine is good for the heart.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I'll be here all night, folks!

I’ll be here all night, folks!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The animal kingdom is amazing! Check out these unique creatures.

The Blue Footed Boobie

The Blue Footed Boobie

Ghost Bat

Ghost Bat

Pangolin

Pangolin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tardigrade a.k.a. Water Bear

Tardigrade a.k.a. Water Bear                    

34 Responses to “I Love Animals!”

  1. davidprosser September 14, 2014 at 4:09 am #

    Fantastic pictures and captions Vashti.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 14, 2014 at 2:14 pm #

      Hi David! Thank you very much! You have a fabulous day and I’ll be reading about it soon. 😉 *Hugs & Kisses*

      Like

  2. olganm September 14, 2014 at 4:34 am #

    Fabulous! Put a smile on my face! And love Scribbles!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 14, 2014 at 2:13 pm #

      Hi Olga! I’m so happy to hear that. Thank you! It’s an awesome feeling whenever I can put a smile on someone’s face. 😀 xx

      Like

  3. Teagan Kearney September 14, 2014 at 5:43 am #

    Aww!! Your puppy is so cute, Vashti! Great advice from your interviewee – points to definitely be remembered when thinking about buying a dog; and I loved the photos you found. Great post as always, Vashti, and enjoy your time with Scribbles!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 14, 2014 at 2:12 pm #

      Hi Teagan! Scribbles thanks you for the compliment. I thank you too for always being so sweet. 🙂 Most of the pictures are from my ‘Amazing Animals‘ board on Pinterest. I’m so glad you enjoyed the post. I really enjoyed your story ‘Metamorphosis’. You know you left me wanting more. 😀

      Like

      • Teagan Kearney September 15, 2014 at 5:44 am #

        Thanks for dropping by and reading the story, Vashti.
        By the way, I’m in awe of how you manage your writing, work, marketing and social networking, not forgetting life – as I can barely manage Twitter these days! :))

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 15, 2014 at 11:35 am #

        You’re welcome. It was my pleasure. I look forward to reading more of your stories and I will eventually get to your book. I promise. 🙂 Thank you. It isn’t easy, I’ll tell you that. I guess it’s a matter of prioritizing what’s more important at the moment. 😉

        Like

  4. Hugh's Views and News September 14, 2014 at 6:28 am #

    Hi Vashti, Scribbles is so cute! Thank you for sharing your photos with us. I’ve had a dog, Toby, for almost 3 years now and could not imagine life without him. In fact he has written a few guest posts on my blog – how he did that, I’ve no idea but he gets lots of comments.
    Enjoy the wonderful time with Scribbles and keep us updated on his progress on here.
    Much love, Hugh & Toby xx

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 14, 2014 at 2:06 pm #

      Hi Hugh! Thank you very much! Oh I’m going to have to visit your blog and check out Toby’s posts. Ha,ha! That’s such a cute idea! Scribbles may be stealing it at some point. 😉 I plan on enjoying every minute I can with scribbles. He’s sleeping by my feet right now as I write this. I will definitely post occasional updates on Scribbles’ little adventures. It’s so nice to meet you Hugh. I’m glad you stopped by. 😀

      Like

  5. Brittnei Washington September 14, 2014 at 7:39 pm #

    This was such a sweet post. The list you gave for what to expect in taking care of an animal was extremely informative. It is very much like taking care of a baby. I shared it for you. Thank you for sharing it with us at the Creative Style Linkup!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 14, 2014 at 9:35 pm #

      Aw. I’m happy you enjoyed the post. Yes, owning a pet it is a big responsibility. Some people don’t get that, but there’s a lot involved. Like you said it’s very much like taking care of a kid. Thank you for sharing. It’s always fun linking up with you guys. 😀

      Like

  6. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin September 15, 2014 at 5:57 am #

    Love this post it put a huge smile on my face … Thanks Vashti xx

    Like

  7. teagan geneviene September 15, 2014 at 11:14 am #

    What a wonderful post, Vashti! No animal lover could resist. Hugs! 😀

    Like

  8. JESS44903 September 15, 2014 at 11:46 am #

    Aww. This is such a great post! 🙂

    Thanks for joining the Link Up this week!

    Like

  9. Zee September 15, 2014 at 4:51 pm #

    We got our family dog when she was just over 6 months – she’s 7 years now! Anyway, when she finished puppy school, we were given a photo of her printed above the rules of owning a dog – which are the ‘Interview with a Dog’ rules that you’ve posted!

    It really struck a chord with me when I got it, and I do think that pets have a way of ‘softening’ us, probably because of their innocence and dependence on us.

    Enjoy your time with Scribbles, pets are such a special part of our families.

    Zee xx

    Like

  10. raphaela99 September 15, 2014 at 7:19 pm #

    This filled me with joy! Thankyou for such a beautiful post. From one animal lover to another.

    Like

  11. Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 15, 2014 at 8:48 pm #

    Hi Zee! Yes when I read ‘Interview with a Dog’ online it really struck a chord with me too. I had another pomeranian named Rascal he died a couple of months ago. He was 8 weeks old when we got him and he would have been 17 years old in November. I miss him so much. He was definitely part of the family. Scribbles is adorable and I have a lot of fun with him, but of course he can’t replace Rascal. I will love Scribbles very much, give him the best life possible, and enjoy my time with him though. ❤ xx

    Like

  12. Doreen Sargente September 15, 2014 at 11:25 pm #

    Congratulations on your new puppy! Dogs are such a gift! He’s adorable :).

    Your pictures and captions are fabulous Vashti. I can’t believe that last one! Very interesting to say the least.

    I love animals, and it make no apologies for saying I love them more than people. They’re so loyal, loving and inherently kind, and never, ever hurt you (unless you deserve it). This was a fabulous post that put a huge smile on my face. That video was adorable, but kinda sad too. Poor fish :(.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 16, 2014 at 12:58 pm #

      Thank you Doreen! Oh yes the tardigrade or water bear. When I first saw it I didn’t think it was real, but it sure is. It can survive in extreme temperatures like boiling water near volcanoes. I find animals and nature fascinating. I’m happy you enjoyed the post. I know, I too felt sorry for the fish. When I saw this video on Facebook I was so touched by the immense compassion this dog showed for another living being. I wish all humans had that kind of empathy and compassion for one another and for other species as well. 🙂

      Like

  13. Joy @ Yesterfood September 16, 2014 at 7:36 am #

    Congratulations on the addition of adorable Scribbles to your home! ♥ I loved the post and the pictures- thank you for sharing it with us at Treasure Box Tuesday- pinned and shared on G+!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 16, 2014 at 12:35 pm #

      Hi Joy! Thank you very much for pinning and sharing! I’m so happy you enjoyed the post. I’m very excited to have Scribbles in my life and I’m going to make sure he has a good life with me. Thanks again, Joy! ❤ xx

      Like

  14. J.S. Rogers September 17, 2014 at 9:58 am #

    Great post as usual Vashti! Once many years ago, I was at sea on watch. A full moon lit a glass still Pacific, and a large group of spinner dolphins (had to have been at least a hundred) danced for a couple of hours. It was an amazing site that I was blessed to see. Keep writing, you are an amazing young lady.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 17, 2014 at 10:43 am #

      Hi James! I’m so happy to hear from you! Thank you for the kind words. That experience you had was amazing! Good for you, couldn’t have happened to a nicer guy. I live in south florida and I’ve only seen them once in their habitat, and it was from a distance. A friend of mine went on a boat ride recently and she filmed them playing around right next to the boat. I love dolphins! Don’t they know that? Ha,ha! I’m happy you came by. 😀

      Like

  15. memoriesbythemile September 25, 2014 at 3:01 am #

    OMG! I LOVED every picture. Great post, animals are so precious!
    Hugs,
    Wanda Ann @ Memories by the Mile

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 25, 2014 at 8:39 pm #

      Hi Wanda Ann! Thank you! I’m so happy you enjoyed the post. Yes, animals are precious. *Hugs & Kisses* 😀

      Like

  16. Vashti Quiroz-Vega September 27, 2014 at 6:04 pm #

    Thank you for the reblog! 😀

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Creative Style Link Up {#16} • New Mama Diaries - September 27, 2014

    […] I Love Animals by Vashti Vega at Vashti Quiroz-Vega’s Blog […]

    Like

  2. Creative Style {16} Wants Your Posts! | 100lb Countdown - September 27, 2014

    […] I Love Animals by Vashti Vega at Vashti Quiroz-Vega’s Blog […]

    Like

  3. Creative Style {16} Wants Your Posts! - April Noelle - August 6, 2018

    […] I Love Animals by Vashti Vega at Vashti Quiroz-Vega’s Blog […]

    Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.