Image

Halloween Horror Nights

24 Oct

Halloween Horror Nights

Hi everyone! Welcome. I’m nearing the end of my Spooky Nights In October series. So, I mentioned in one of my previous posts that I had plans to go to Halloween Horror Nights. Well, I did go and I want to tell you all about it.

First, I stayed at the Loews Royal Pacific Resort at Universal Orlando. I experienced the allure of the South Seas in this beautiful hotel and it’s at walking distance from the park.

My room

My room

My two doggies, Rascal and Cocoa came along and they were ecstatic that they had their own bed.

Cocoa (left) and Rascal (right)

Cocoa (left) and Rascal (right)

Cocoa & Rascal made themselves comfy for sleepy time.

Cocoa & Rascal made themselves comfy for sleepy time.

The hotel’s concierge sent over a goody bag for… you guessed it, Rascal and Cocoa! I received diddly-squat!

Doggie Goody Bag

Doggie Goody Bag

My room had a great view.

Room with a view

I could really get used to it. :/

I could really get used to it. :/

Okay, enough about the awesome hotel and room. Now, one of the genres I write is Horror. I love it. So you all can see how Halloween Horror Nights could be an inspirational place for me. If you enjoy reading Horror please take some time to read my posts Terror and Hell’s Half Acre and don’t miss my Spooky Nights In October grand finale short story Raven’s Halloween Masterpiece inspired by my visit to Halloween Horror Nights.

One of the things I love to do when I go to Halloween Horror Nights is people watch. I enjoy watching the actors roam around the park dressed in some scary garb and I take pleasure in seeing the reaction of their victims. I mentioned in one of my earlier posts that there is artistry and beauty everywhere and that it comes in many forms. I definitely saw beauty at Halloween Horror Nights, although not in the traditional sense of the word. Does this make me weird? Probably. Ha,ha! Oh well, see for yourself.

The Walking Dead

The Walking Dead

The Cabin In The Woods

The Cabin In The Woods

Misty Pumpkin Patch

Zombies are the big theme this year. There were actors all over the park trying to scare the bejeezus out of you.

Halloween Horror Nights

Zombie-mania

Creepy Zombie

Zombie-Walking-Dead-Halloween-Horror-Nights-2013

walker

I had a lot of fun watching the screamers and the runners.

walking-dead-halloween-horror-nights

The-Walking-Dead-Halloween-Horror-Nights-2013

HHN-23-Now-Open-1024x688

Walking_Dead_Halloween_Horror_Nights_banner_4_9_21_13

Halloween Horror Nights

The Houses were great this year. There are 8 houses, but if you’d like to see them all you really need to purchase an express pass. If you cannot afford an express pass (they are pricey) be sure not to miss these houses: The Cabin in the Woods, The Walking Dead and Evil Dead House. These were my favorites. I wasn’t too impressed with the Resident Evil House, which was disappointing since it’s one of my favorite film series.

universal-resident-evil-maze-hhn23-092013

HHN

Halloween Horror Nights was like a great Halloween Block Party, only I got to enter houses that thrilled and entertained me. There’s music, food and plenty to provide amusement and enjoyment. I hope I’ve given you a good overview of what it was like to visit Halloween Horror Nights at Universal Florida. Don’t miss my next post where I will be featuring my final Horror story for the Spooky Nights In October series. Have a great day!

26 Responses to “Halloween Horror Nights”

  1. Rebecca Lacy October 24, 2013 at 8:29 pm #

    So fun! Love the pix. Lowes knows that if fur babies are happy the two-legged guests are going to be happy. I enjoy your posts so much. I hope you will stop by the Fiction Writers’ Guild on LinkedIn and join our monthly challenge. I would be great to have you join our ranks. Also, do you know K.N. Lee? She wrote Chronicles of Koa: Netherworld. If not, I need to introduce the two of you. All the best!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 24, 2013 at 8:58 pm #

      Hi Rebecca! Thank you for stopping by! I’m so happy you enjoy my posts. You’re so right, if the furry ones are happy their people are too. 😉 I will try to stop by the Fiction Writer’s Guild on LinkedIn. I’d really love to participate in the monthly challenge. Right now I’m editing my second novel “Lilith” and in the middle of writing my third novel “Dracul” so time is really scarce. I will definitely make a great effort. I don’t think I know K.N. Lee. You should introduce us. I’d be happy to meet her. Have a wonderful evening! 😀

      Like

  2. Katie Cross October 25, 2013 at 1:53 am #

    That looks like it was a blast! I love people watching too. I think it’s a writer thing. I saw a youtube clip where Ellen sends her executive producer and her writer to this place, I think. If not, it was a lot like it. WIth all those awesome pictures you have, and the video I saw, it looks super freaky! Enough to say that I’d never make it through without a heart attack!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 25, 2013 at 2:12 am #

      It was a blast Katie! Ha,ha! I’m sure you’d make it. Thank you for checking it out. xx

      Like

  3. banistersmind October 25, 2013 at 6:20 am #

    What is it with you guys and your WAY COOL events like this?!? This looks like a totally awesome experience and your photos are a great memento.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 25, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

      Hi Dean! It is definitely an unforgettable event. I don’t go every year (too expensive), but this year I had to go. There were zombies, come one! I couldn’t miss that. Ha,ha! There’s nothing like this in Australia? I thought you guys were celebrating Halloween now.

      Like

      • banistersmind October 25, 2013 at 10:29 pm #

        We kinda do but not in a big way. The kids are getting into it moreso than before.

        Like

      • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 26, 2013 at 12:07 am #

        I guess it will just take a little more time. It really is a lot of fun! 😀

        Like

  4. Yolanda Isabel Regueira Marin October 25, 2013 at 7:02 am #

    Looks like you had a scaringly good time lol … love the ghoulish pics.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 25, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

      Hi Yolanda! I did have a fantastic time and as you can see my furry babies did too. 😉

      Like

  5. Teagan Kearney October 25, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    Looks like you had a lot of fun, Vashti – your two dogs look great – and I so admire your bravery. I’m a total chicken when it comes to horror, zombies and ghosts, though I do love a good looking vampire!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 25, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

      Ha,ha! You’re too much Teagan. Thank you. I had a great time although there were no good looking anything this year. The theme was Zombies and ghoulish monsters. Maybe next year they’ll have Anne Rice-type vampires walking around. He,he. 😉

      Like

  6. Ben Roach October 26, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

    Vashti, that looked freaking amazing! I am so jealous! Sounds like you had a blast 😀

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 26, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

      Ha,ha! Ben, you definitely have to visit one year. It really is cool! I wish you could have been there. We would have had a blast! 😀

      Like

  7. GiGi Eats Celebrities October 26, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    OMG!!! That’s the creepiest Halloween amusement park I have ever seen! Doesn’t hold a candle to disneyland (where I was a few weeks ago), lol!!

    And you have THE CUTEST little puppies EVER! 🙂

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 26, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

      Ha,ha,ha! Hi Gigi! Halloween Horror Nights is the creepiest I think. I’ll be at Disneyworld for New Year’s day. They have the best fireworks and decorations. Thank you very much. Rascal and Cocoa are my furry babies. 😉

      Like

  8. Kriss MacDonald October 28, 2013 at 3:18 am #

    Gosh I’ve never heard of Horror Nights! I’m afraid I’d be way too scared too.

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 28, 2013 at 4:12 pm #

      Hi Kriss! Halloween Horror Nights is an annual event that occurs at Universal Studios Florida. The Universal Studios theme park and rides remains operational during the day and transitions to Halloween Horror Nights at night. The event features haunted houses (8 this year), “scare zones” and live entertainments. It’s a lot of fun! People from all over the world attend the event every year. This year the main theme was zombies. So there were areas (scare zones) where zombies abound and would chase you. 😀

      Like

  9. Lauren October 28, 2013 at 5:39 am #

    Oh my gosh that looks so fun! I wish I lived in Florida so I could go to that! I also have to say YOUR DOGS ARE SO CUTE!!! Your pom reminds me of the one I used to have. They are the sweetest!

    – Lauren @ anothermomanotherblog.com

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 28, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

      Hi Lauren! Awww. People from all over the world visit Halloween Horror Nights. On that night I met a couple from Sidney, Australia and a group of people from South Africa. It was pretty cool. Thank you so much! I’ll let Cocoa and Rascal know that. Ha,ha! Glad you stopped by. 😀

      Like

  10. Vanessa Morgan October 28, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

    What a fun post. Exactly what we need to get into the mood for Halloween. I know what you mean about finding beauty in horror. I’m a horror author too, by the way 😉

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 28, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

      Hi Vanessa! Yay! Finally someone understands me! It’s so nice to meet you. I’m always thrilled when I meet another Horror author. I’ll have to check out your work. 😉

      Like

  11. JESS44903 October 28, 2013 at 6:19 pm #

    Oh my gosh, how neat! 🙂 I’m totally jealous! 🙂

    Thanks again for joining the Link Up this week!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 28, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

      Hi Plucky! Ha,ha! It was my pleasure linking up to Plucky’s Second Thought. See you next week!

      Like

  12. Rosey October 29, 2013 at 5:17 pm #

    How fun that the dogs got a treat (sorry you didn’t, but it is kind of cool 😉 ). I love the view from your window too! I’m glad you had a good time.

    I’m a little slow making the rounds this week, but thank you for linking to Super Sunday Sync!

    Like

    • Vashti Quiroz-Vega October 29, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

      Hi Rosey! That’s okay, I’m fine with it. 😉 Ha,ha! That view was dreamy and a surprise because I didn’t pay for a room with a view (so I guess I did get something after all). No problem my friend. 😀

      Like

If you comment you'll put a big smile on my face.